Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Help with Wininet.dll\InternetCheckConnection

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic
meter
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Last active: Jul 25 2008 03:18 PM
I am not a Windows programmer, and I don't play one on TV. Perhaps because of this, I can't figure out why my Wininet.dll\InternetCheckConnection call isn't working.

I want to do something similar to How to find Internet Connection Status but using Wininet.dll\InternetCheckConnection to check access to a given url.

I cobbled together the the beginnings of the funciton below, but when I call it, the error code indicates that InternetCheckConnection can't be found.

ConnectedToInternetURL(checkURL=0) {
   ; right now i am unconditionally sending 0 as URL's char ptr to force NULL
   rv := DllCall("Wininet.dll\InternetCheckConnection", "Int", 0, "Int", 0, "Int", 0)
   MsgBox, (Debug)`nResult: %rv%`nErrorLevel: %ErrorLevel%
   Return %rv%
} 

I've tried calling Wininet.dll\InternetCheckConnection with various combinations of arguments, but no matter what I try, InternetCheckConnection just can't be found; however InternetGetConnectedState works just fine. I am running XP Home SP2.

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
-Meter

AhkMan
  • Guests
  • Last active:
You might want to search google groups for: InternetCheckConnection unreliable

SKAN
  • Administrators
  • 9115 posts
  • Last active:

I want to do something similar to How to find Internet Connection Status but using Wininet.dll\InternetCheckConnection to check access to a given url.

Re: TipsNTricks: How to find Internet Connection Status
I have updated and appended the post with an example for
Wininet.dll\InternetCheckConnection

Regards, :)
kWo4Lk1.png

polyethene
  • Members
  • 5519 posts
  • Last active: May 17 2015 06:39 AM
You need to use InternetCheckConnectionA (for ANSI).

meter
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Last active: Jul 25 2008 03:18 PM