Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Your Website's Profile Photo Feature is Broken


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic
isylvia
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Last active: Apr 19 2015 11:11 PM
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2015

Hi, as someone who runs websites I would want to know if something was not working according to plan. Since this a "Community" type of website I presume profile photos are of importance to AutoHotKey.com. Currently, there is not way to upload and place a custom profile image. I've tried uploading a jpg, png, tiff, and gif (all above 200px in width) versions of my profile pics and your forum system fails at processing them as it should. 

 

It looks to me that perhaps it is a configuration issue not difficult to solve. Did you guys, your hosting company, or who ever runs your AutoHotKey.com moved some of the internal component's folders around?

 

In any case, when getting new people to enthusiastically join your community, it is not a good sign for them to experience AutoHotKey.com as working mediocrely because they might start to think AutoHotKey is the same way. 

 

Cheers! :)



egocarib
  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Last active: Aug 12 2017 10:04 PM
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2015

I have not been able to change my photo either, even after trying several formats with a very small size file.



SnowFlake_FlowSnake
  • Members
  • 845 posts
  • Last active: Jan 24 2016 05:24 PM
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2012

i have tried png,bmp,jpg and also smaller size,bigger and reduced the size

 

Same here:
 
screenshot_174.png
 
picture i tried:

duff2.png

name:duff2 Jpg/png format 200 x 200px  size:70.1KB


  • Download link of my scripts on Autohotkey.com 2/10/2015 [DOWNLAND]
  • Contact Info:  https://github.com/floowsnaake //  FloowSnaake(A)gmail.com
  • IF you need Help send me a PM,Email or Post on Github

  • Quote by tank  Posted 29 September 2015 - 06:14 PM

  • "Eventually i will find a way to convert the DB back to PHPBB3. but i dont have the bandwidth right now. No one that has tried has had success. It is the Only way i can keep this open is if i could successfully convert it."

Mulsiphix
  • Members
  • 47 posts
  • Last active: Aug 31 2015 02:02 AM
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2012

I have just spent an hour in Photoshop trying every possible permutation of image settings and make up. Nothing is getting through. I was able to get a huge wallpaper to upload without returning an error, but I was unable to move beyond that as it wanted me to crop it. But no image was displayed for cropping (same broken file image) and clicking OK under the cropping area did nothing. When I clicked on Done it told me to finish cropping the image first.



joedf
  • Administrators
  • 986 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active: Jul 18 2017 06:01 PM
  • Joined: 20 May 2012
There is a weird upload error... I dont know why... :/ I'll try to fix this tonight...
Why ahkscript.org? - autohotkey.com is outdated

SnowFlake_FlowSnake
  • Members
  • 845 posts
  • Last active: Jan 24 2016 05:24 PM
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2012

Have you found a fix for this joedf?


  • Download link of my scripts on Autohotkey.com 2/10/2015 [DOWNLAND]
  • Contact Info:  https://github.com/floowsnaake //  FloowSnaake(A)gmail.com
  • IF you need Help send me a PM,Email or Post on Github

  • Quote by tank  Posted 29 September 2015 - 06:14 PM

  • "Eventually i will find a way to convert the DB back to PHPBB3. but i dont have the bandwidth right now. No one that has tried has had success. It is the Only way i can keep this open is if i could successfully convert it."

sucrilhus
  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Last active: Jul 06 2015 08:28 PM
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2015

I still can't edit my profile picture. 

 

But I've just saw a post from a new user (joined today) that has profile picture. 

 

Hopefully that is a sign that we'll soon be able to edit our profiles as well.  



SnowFlake_FlowSnake
  • Members
  • 845 posts
  • Last active: Jan 24 2016 05:24 PM
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2012

sucrilhus thank you for telling me that :)


  • Download link of my scripts on Autohotkey.com 2/10/2015 [DOWNLAND]
  • Contact Info:  https://github.com/floowsnaake //  FloowSnaake(A)gmail.com
  • IF you need Help send me a PM,Email or Post on Github

  • Quote by tank  Posted 29 September 2015 - 06:14 PM

  • "Eventually i will find a way to convert the DB back to PHPBB3. but i dont have the bandwidth right now. No one that has tried has had success. It is the Only way i can keep this open is if i could successfully convert it."

SnowFlake_FlowSnake
  • Members
  • 845 posts
  • Last active: Jan 24 2016 05:24 PM
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2012
So first i cleaned all my web browsers with CCL and Slim cleaner then made a new Email and then i made a new account and hen i tried to get a new profile picture but it doesn't work o.0
 
i have tried the following web browsers:
Mozilla Firefox,Google Chrome,Internet Explorer,Opera,Yandex,Maxthon Cloud Browser
 
and i also tried a proxy

picture i used: LINK mirror: LINK
 
Raw link: http://s11.postimg.o...ludqr/duff2.png
Raw mirror: http://www.mediafire...n01i/duff2.pngĀ 
 
Name: duff2
Format: Jpg and png
format 200 x 200px
File size:70.1KB

Error pictures
Spoiler

  • Download link of my scripts on Autohotkey.com 2/10/2015 [DOWNLAND]
  • Contact Info:  https://github.com/floowsnaake //  FloowSnaake(A)gmail.com
  • IF you need Help send me a PM,Email or Post on Github

  • Quote by tank  Posted 29 September 2015 - 06:14 PM

  • "Eventually i will find a way to convert the DB back to PHPBB3. but i dont have the bandwidth right now. No one that has tried has had success. It is the Only way i can keep this open is if i could successfully convert it."

sucrilhus
  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Last active: Jul 06 2015 08:28 PM
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2015

Is there any way the developers of the page would prefer the upload to be made?

 

I mean, could you guys inform us a way to upload that would increase the odds of things working out?

 

I see a few new people with avatars and several others without, so I think there must be a way to upload the images that I haven't thought about yet.



SnowFlake_FlowSnake
  • Members
  • 845 posts
  • Last active: Jan 24 2016 05:24 PM
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2012

Any fix for his yet?


  • Download link of my scripts on Autohotkey.com 2/10/2015 [DOWNLAND]
  • Contact Info:  https://github.com/floowsnaake //  FloowSnaake(A)gmail.com
  • IF you need Help send me a PM,Email or Post on Github

  • Quote by tank  Posted 29 September 2015 - 06:14 PM

  • "Eventually i will find a way to convert the DB back to PHPBB3. but i dont have the bandwidth right now. No one that has tried has had success. It is the Only way i can keep this open is if i could successfully convert it."

tidbit
  • Administrators
  • 2709 posts
  • Hates playing Janitor
  • Last active: Jan 15 2016 11:37 PM
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2008

most likely not. Most of the time/effort goes onto the ahkscript website, not here :/

I also cannot do anything as I don't have access (I think) to the needed stuff, or the knowledge of how anything forum-related works, internally.


rawr. be very afraid
*poke*
. Populate the AutoHotkey city. Pointless but somewhat fun. .


Peter_S
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Last active: Jul 03 2015 07:49 AM
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2015

Hello,

 

New to AHK and the forums. I made an attempt to upload a small avatar 200x200 px in png, bmp, gif, jpg, with no success. The avatars seem to be stored in png format. Maybe it's just as simple as you have to have "x" posts to upload an avatar? Or perhaps something more problematic like a "chmod" needed to be executed.

 

Anyways, stuck with Mr Generic Silhouette Head for now.  :)

 

Peter



joedf
  • Administrators
  • 986 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active: Jul 18 2017 06:01 PM
  • Joined: 20 May 2012
I think I figured it out.... not sure..
What is seems to be.. The uploads folder needs to be 777, but is currently 775.
I tried changing it, but apparently i don't have permission... :( ?
Testing the avatar change form caused me to lose my avatar too...

So i looked for an alternative, i've enabled Gravatar.
Why ahkscript.org? - autohotkey.com is outdated

Peter_S
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Last active: Jul 03 2015 07:49 AM
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2015

I think I figured it out.... not sure..
What is seems to be.. The uploads folder needs to be 777, but is currently 775.
I tried changing it, but apparently i don't have permission... :( ?
Testing the avatar change form caused me to lose my avatar too...

So i looked for an alternative, i've enabled Gravatar.

 

Great solution with Gravatar! At least we can have avatars! Thanks!