Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Cycling flow and opacity in Photoshop

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic
tenderchkn
  • New members
  • 2 posts
  • Last active: Sep 30 2015 06:33 AM

I want to create a script that can cycle brush opacity and flow settings in Photoshop. I know that I can easily bind a specific hotkey to a specfic opacity/flow percentage, but that requires one hotkey per setting. I want to be able to bind just two keys, such that one increases the current value and the other decreases the current value.

In order to do that, the script would need to read the current setting, and then send a variable keystroke to apply the new setting.

I'm not experienced in scripting, and would like some help to get started in the right direction. What is the best way to have AHK read and store the current setting? I am fine with it assuming a certain setting when it starts (i.e. 100% or 1%), and have it cycle up or down from there. Will it be easiest to have a loop that stores a counter value that gets +1 or -1 each time the loop executes?

tenderchkn
  • New members
  • 2 posts
  • Last active: Sep 30 2015 06:33 AM

Did some more research and this is what I came up with. It can probably be better and more optimized, so please let me know if there are any obvious things that can be improved.

Array := ["01", "02", "04", "07", "10", "15", "20", "30", "40", "50", "75", "100"]      
OpacityCount := Array.MaxIndex()
FlowCount := 1
return

F12::
FlowCount ++
Send {Shift Down}
Send,    %    Array[FlowCount]
Send {Shift Up}
if (FlowCount > Array.MaxIndex())
    FlowCount := Array.MaxIndex()
return

+F12::
OpacityCount ++
Send,    %    Array[OpacityCount]
if (OpacityCount > Array.MaxIndex())
    OpacityCount := Array.MaxIndex()
return

F11::
FlowCount --
Send {Shift Down}
Send,    %    Array[FlowCount]
Send {Shift Up}
if (FlowCount < 1)
    FlowCount := 1
return

+F11::
OpacityCount --