Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Edit field 4-digit number by adding leading zeros

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic
cogitamentum
  • New members
  • 2 posts
  • Last active: Oct 17 2015 09:17 AM

Hello,

First of all I'd like to say sorry if this topic was already discussed but I couldn't find a proper solution of it.

Therefore I decided to describe problem on my own.

So, I need to create an edit field in which you write a number. I would like to add leading zeros to a number such that it always becomes a 4-digit number.

Exempli gratia: While you start giving the number, for example 1 - in edit field it should display as 0001 and when you continue giving number like 11, it should display as 0011.

Please have in mind I'm just a beginner and I'd like to keep the script as simple as possible.

I attached a part of the code.

Most important, thank you in advance for any help and time spent on answering this post.

Thank you.

Gui, Show, h100 w140, 
Gui, Font, s14, 
Gui, Add, Edit, Center Number x40 y35 h30 w60 Limit4 vXXXX

Return
GuiClose: 
ExitApp

joedf
  • Administrators
  • 986 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active: Nov 02 2019 08:38 PM
Pre-answered on stackoverflow here:
"Add leading zero to make a 4-digit number in Autohotkey"
http://stackoverflow...24100686/883015
Why ahkscript.org? - autohotkey.com is outdated

Exaskryz
  • Members
  • 3249 posts
  • Last active: Nov 20 2015 05:30 AM
✓  Best Answer

joedf's answer is half of it.

You'll also want to use a gLabel to make the Edit box update as the user interacts with it. You can use the GuiControl command to update a control automatically.

Edit: Actually, there's a bit more. I'm troubleshooting how you can work around this. Here's my example code:

^8::
Gui, Show, h100 w140,
Gui, Font, s14,
Gui, Add, Edit, Center Number x40 y35 h30 w60 vXXXX gquery

Return
GuiClose:
ExitApp

query:
Gui, Submit, NoHide