Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

1 hotkey to activate and minimize windows

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic
SplitProphet
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Last active: Nov 04 2015 02:24 PM
Hey, I'm pretty new to Autohotkey, so my scripts are by far nothing professional. But let's get to my problem: I didn't want my "Capslock" to work as a key that just lets me write everything in Caps. I'd rather want it to work like a key that if i press it, it first checks if any window is active. If so, it minimizes it/them. If there is no window active (all minimized), it maximizes all windows. If you want to, you can add something, that if it there are for example 5 windows existing (3 of them active) andit minimized these 3, then it only activates the 3 it has minimized (the other 2 stay minimized). I'm fine with just a script that works, but i'd be thankful if you could explain what you worte (if you got the time), so i can understand and learn easier :)

Exaskryz
  • Members
  • 3249 posts
  • Last active: Nov 20 2015 05:30 AM

Let's start off small by using your first idea. A simple window-minimiziation key.

CapsLock::WinMinimize, A

CapsLock is our Hotkey. WinMinimize will minimize the specified window - A is specifying the active window (WinTitle); also check this out for ahk_id in the code below.

But you also wanted to be able to maximize all windows if they were all minimized. This becomes tricky because 1) We have to detect when all windows are minimized and 2) Maximize them all. There are two interpretations to "Maximize" as well - one is Restore (WinRestore) and one is full-screen maximized (WinMaximize). I will go with WinRestore in this script.

CapsLock::
WinGetClass, var, A
If (var="WorkerW" || var="Shell_TrayWnd") ; I get WorkerW if I use the #d shortcut, but ShellTrayWnd if I use this hotkey
{
WinGet, myList, list
Loop %myList%