Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

How do I mimick EXACTLY PHYSICAL keystrokes?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic
ahkgzb
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Last active: Feb 21 2007 06:54 PM
I appologize up front if this questions sounds naive or even plain stupid. I am basically a newbie to AHK - I only started using it today with great hopes that it would automate my repetitive typing.

For simple and trivial stuff it works great!

But when I try to use some of the more sophisticated features of Windows (2000/XP) it simply decides for me how to actually interpret "the keystrokes"...

Case in question: when I try to type a special character that requires the following key sequence:

1. Press & Release Caps Lock (Caps Lock LED should now be on)
2. Press Shift - and hold it down
3. Press & release the key 4 (top keyboard row, with the $ sign on top of it).
4. Release Shift

When I do that physically, everything works fine: It should generate a special character in the language input mode I am in - not '4' or '$'.

However, when I try to mimick this in AHK - no matter what method I use (Send, SendInput, {Raw}, etc. - I keep getting either 4 or $ - instead of the desired special character.

For example, I tried the following key sequence too (with and without {Raw}:

SendInput {Shift Down}{Raw}4
SendInput {Shift Up}
To no avail.

Why can't AHK simply play back my keystrokes? That is, as if I typed them myself, pressing physically on the keys?

Or can it?

If so, how?

Thanks a Million!
Gabby

jonny
  • Members
  • 2951 posts
  • Last active: Feb 24 2008 04:22 AM
Have you tried simply putting the special character into the Send?

Also, open up the Key History of a running script and type the character to see if it has a unique key code. If so, it's being handled by the keyboard itself and not the software that AHK sends to.

ahkgzb
  • Members
  • 6 posts