Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

How to launch Snipping Tool in Vista using AutoHotKey?

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic
Anusha
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Last active: Aug 21 2007 06:53 AM
I'm new to AutoHotKey. At the moment, I'm using it to launch apps using shortcut keys.

I included

^!s::run "c:\windows\system32\SnippingTool.exe"

in my script. Compiled fine. But when I press the shortcut keys, I get this error:
Posted Image

What can I do to get it to work?
Anusha

BoBo¨
  • Guests
  • Last active:
I'd guess that Vista won't allow to execute that exe from within that OS system folder for security reasons. Have a try with RunAs or to run that exe from within another destination.

Anusha
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Last active: Aug 21 2007 06:53 AM
Weird thing is that Snipping Tool doesn't seem to work when it is not in the System32 folder. I'm running as a limited user. But even when I try to run it as Admin from another location, it still doesn't work.

Probably I'm out of luck. I don't want to run it with elevated privileges because it will take longer than running it from the startment (i.e. have to enter password etc.)
Anusha

BoBo¨
  • Guests
  • Last active:

i.e. have to enter password etc.

using AHK's RunAs you shouldn't have to do it manualy, right?

Lexikos
  • Administrators
  • 9844 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active:
Wow, didn't know about that tool!

I tried the following script:
Run, "C:\Windows\System32\SnippingTool.exe"
It worked fine, and did not need administrative priveleges.

I see "Program Files (x86)" in your screenshot - are you on 64-bit Vista? I think any attempts by 32-bit apps to access "windows\system32" are redirected to "windows\SysWOW64". If this is where your script is going wrong, I suggest you read: Selectively suppress Wow64 filesystem redirection on Vista x64 with ‘Sysnative’