Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Work Break Timer, Task/Idea Logger, ScreenCapture - v. 3.00


  • Please log in to reply
158 replies to this topic
TotalBalance
  • Members
  • 211 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2015 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2007
FYI, 2.0 Beta available.
* Colorized Work/Break Pop-Up Text and matched to icon status meter.
* Added sound notification option.
* Fixed minor GUI bugs.
* Note: Changed log file name from lifelog.txt to tasklog.txt.
Lars

Starbuck
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Please forgive my complete ignorance here... I came here from the ToDoList forum and I know absolutely nothing about AHK. (So for starters you have a good ploy to indoctrinate unsuspecting noobs like me :roll: )

Before I download, install, try to run, etc, I'm really not understanding what the offering is. What do I need to know or install before trying this? I have TDL, not AHK. Ummm, does AHK press keys in other applications that make your script work to do things that we want? Well, what does it do?

Can you give us a little more insight into how this works, the flow? We have a task, we work on it, we take a break, repeat as necessary?

TIA

TotalBalance
  • Members
  • 211 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2015 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Not a problem, glad your visiting. 1st, I'll defer to others, far more knowledgeable than me, to extol the virtues, uses & benefits of AHK :wink:

As for the script features, I'll assume you've read the 1st thread of this post and understand it's a stand-alone app. As an avid user of TDL, I selfishly included a few lines of code to provide a hook to compliment TDL with the functionality it provides as a stand-alone.

To use in conjunction with TDL here's a quick process flow of what happens, related to TDL:

1) When the WB-Timer is started, the program's timer begins it's work/break/repeat cycle ( i.e. default is 48min/work - 12min/break - repeat 3 times). To actually send a task with Title, tags and/or description to TDL, you need to select "New Task" from the tray icon or use the hotkey(s) you've setup in the Preference GUI.
2) Once a New Task is created and sent:
a) it creates a timestamped entry in the TaskLog.txt file
B) then creates a new task in TDL with the info provided (to which TDL file is configured in Preferences).
b1) starts TDL's timer.
3) When a new task is created, it repeats above but stops previous TDL task timer and starts TDL timer for new task.

As for the other features provided and how they compliment TDL, I'd suggest reading the WBReadme.txt file and/or taking it for a test spin. Then, let me know what other questions you've got.

P.S. In the zipped file, I've also included a self contained EXE file so you don't need AHK installed on your system to run the app. Just place the exe in a folder of your choosing and you're ready to go.
P.S.S. The app. doesn't make any changes to TDL (other than adding new tasks). If you just want to test it out, I'd suggest you create a new "Test.tdl" file, point to it in the preference GUI and take it for a spin.
Lars

bradtwurst
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Here's a change that I made to the beta 2 version.

It allows the work break timers to start automatically when the program starts.

It also has an addition to the settings screen to turn on/off of the auto start option

here's the additions to the ahk script
==================
...
IniRead, Sound, %AppName%.ini, Sound, Sound
IniRead, AutoStart, %AppName%.ini, AutoStart, AutoStart
IniRead, IrfanView, %AppName%.ini, Helper Apps Settings, IrfanView
...
Else
WorkTime := 48, BreakTime := 12, RepeatTimes := 3, ScreenCapTime := 20, ScreenCap := "0", ScreenSelect := 1, Sound := 1, AutoStart := 0, IrfanView := "0", ToDoList := "0", ChosenHotkey := "^!L"
;the above line replaces the current default settings line
Gui, 1: Add, GroupBox, x10 y10 w330 h140, Timer Settings
...
Gui, 1: Add, Text, x+0 yp+0 w110 r1 -Multi -Wrap, Active Window
Gui, 1: Add, CheckBox, x168 yp+0 r1 -Multi -Wrap vAutoStart Checked%AutoStart%
Gui, 1: Add, Text, xp+30 yp+0 w110 r1 -Multi -Wrap, AutoStart Enabled?
Gui, 1: Add, Text, x20 y+10 w110 r1 -Multi -Wrap, Save to:
...
OnMessage(0x203, "WM_LBUTTONDOWN")
If AutoStart
{
MsgBox, Auto starting...
GoSub, TrayStart
}
Return
...
IniWrite, %Sound%, %AppName%.ini, Sound, Sound
IniWrite, %AutoStart%, %AppName%.ini, AutoStart, AutoStart
IniWrite, %IrfanView%, %AppName%.ini, Helper Apps Settings, IrfanView
...
================

Hopefully, the snippets above made sense.

James

TotalBalance
  • Members
  • 211 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2015 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2007
bradtwurst, thanks for sharing your enhancement. It was actually on my todo and now it's done :wink:
I'll incorporate it into the next version release. The only mod. I'll make is to comment out the msgbox so the timer starts immediately.
Lars

SoLong&Thx4AllTheFish
  • Members
  • 4999 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 27 May 2007
Hi TotalBalance,

nice script, thanks for posting it. I have a bug report + fix (I think):

When I delete the hotkey for New task is tries to assign an empty
value to the Hotkey command, that doesn't work of course:

---------------------------
WB_Timer.ahk
---------------------------
Error: "" is not a valid key name.  The current thread will exit.

	Line#
	220: IniWrite,%TDLTaskFile%,%AppName%.ini,Helper Apps Settings,TDLTaskFile
	221: IniWrite,%ChosenHotkey%,%AppName%.ini,Helper Apps Settings,ChosenHotkey
--->	222: Hotkey,%ChosenHotkey%,TrayNewTask

By adding this line in both the iniread (line 75) and iniwrite (line 222)

If (ChosenHotkey <> "")

above the hotkey command, it will only assign the hotkey if a hotkey is actually entered.

TotalBalance
  • Members
  • 211 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2015 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Thx. HugoV.
I really appreciate both the catch and more important the time you took to provide the fix :D

I'm not sure either if your solution is the best way to fix the bug, but it works!

I'll include the changes in the next release.
Lars

TotalBalance
  • Members
  • 211 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2015 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2007
WB-Timer 2.5 Alpha is now available.
It has not been thoroughly tested so let me know if you find any bugs. As always, feedback is always appreciated.

Fixes/Updates in WB-Timer 2.5 Alpha
User requested modifications:
* Screen captures are now saved in dated folder
* For IrfanView slideshow, user now has ability to select which dated folder to perform slideshow
* Re-odered New Task GUI - Task Title is now the 1st in tab order and Timestamp is last
* Added AutoStart option in Preferences GUI - Thanks bradtwurst
* ToDoList: If "Exit" is selected on "Session Over" pop-up, timer is stopped for New Task created in Helper Apps - ToDoList file. Note: if the New Task created is not highlights (active), on Exit, timer will start on highlighted task. Make sure, before you Exit, task is highlighted in ToDoList. If not, you'll need to manually update.

Bug Fixes:

* Error msg when there's no Hotkey in Preferences GUI for New Task - Thanks HugoV
Lars

hoppfrosch
  • Members
  • 399 posts
  • Last active: Feb 26 2016 05:31 AM
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Is there a way to continue work on existing task?

What I think about is: When selecting "New task" in WB-Timer, there should be a possibilty to insert a task reference into field "Task". Doing this the corresponding - already existing - task should continue time measurement in TDL ...

Or is there an other way to continue work on already existing tasks using WB-Timer?

Will test the new 2.5alpha version now ...

SoLong&Thx4AllTheFish
  • Members
  • 4999 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 27 May 2007
Suggested cosmetic change: the New Task GUI might popup
off center or partially off screen, if you replace this line

Gui, 99: Show, x344 y247 h218 w596, New Task
with:
GuiWidth=596 
GuiHeight=218
X := (A_ScreenWidth / 2) - (GuiWidth / 2)
Y := (A_ScreenHeight / 2) - (GuiHeight / 2)
Gui, 99: Show, x%X% y%Y% h%GuiHeight% w%GuiWidth%, New Task
it will always pop up in the center of the first monitor.

Also, perhaps adding & to the Cancel label in the New Task GUI
will allow you to close the window by pressing Alt-C just like
in the Settings GUI

Note: there is already another method in the script which centers
a GUI, but that uses DLLCall and I haven't got a clue how that
works, otherwise you might be able to reuse some of that code
for consistency.

TotalBalance
  • Members
  • 211 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2015 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Thanks HugoV, I'll make the changes.

there is already another method in the script which centers
a GUI, but that uses DLLCall and I haven't got a clue how that
works

You and me both! Tic, an awesome AHK programmer, help tremendously get the initial release out the door. The downside is I too am challenged to figure out how he did most it :oops:
Lars

TotalBalance
  • Members
  • 211 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2015 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2007
An updated version of WB-Timer 2.5 Alpha is available. Rather than rename the zip same name with HugoV's suggestions added.
* New Task GUI centered regardless of screen size
* Hot keys added for New Task GUI Task Log and Cancel
Lars

TotalBalance
  • Members
  • 211 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2015 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2007
WB-Timer 2.6 Alpha is available.
Fix for TDL users:
Fixed bug in New Task entry and TDL timer when exiting WB-Timer.
* New task will be assigned to designated TDL file, regardless of whether TDL is open or not and TDL file is active or not.
* TDL timer will stop when exiting WB-Timer session, regardless if active or not.
Lars

TotalBalance
  • Members
  • 211 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2015 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2007
WB-Timer 2.75 Alpha Released.

Lot's of changes/fixes. Read 1st post or WBReadme_Alpha.txt for details.
Lars

s_abrar
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
I think what's needed is a way to launch WB_Timer.exe from TDL where repeated tasks are predefined and can be passed into WB_Timer.exe as parameter?. In that case the estimate time will besome the time of the "Work" session.

Let me know what you think.

FYI
Also when I loaded the latest vesion, I kept getting error for line 81 which I fixed by adding "Other Features" section to the ini file and adding ChosenTDLHotkey variable to "Helper Apps Settings" section.