Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate

Compiled AutoHotkey scripts detected as virus by AVG


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
28 replies to this topic
Lexikos
  • Administrators
  • 9844 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2006
MsgBox
I just tried compiling this with a v1.0.47.04 AutoHotkeySC.bin.

Error: Unable to create the compiled archive.

I had to use 7-zip to extract the bin file from the installer, since I didn't have the old zip version.

Scripts compiled with v1.0.45.04 are not detected as viruses, at least for me. I guess only v1.0.47.04 matched the virus signature. Perhaps someone wrote a virus with this version of AutoHotkey and it was reported to AVG.

I'm curious about why "Autoit" is in the name, given that I used the same version of Ahk2Exe and different versions of AutoHotkeySC.bin...

I've sent a sample (MsgBox.exe) to AVG.


Edit: btw, the description for Ask for Help is

Ask questions and (hopefully) get answers.

NOT

Ask for help with scripting

That aside, anti-virus false positives prevent users from running the scripts. It is a problem that needs a solution, and it relates directly to AutoHotkey. I strongly suggest that this thread belongs in Ask for Help.

[Mod edit: yes I think so too; I guess another moderator thought there was a conflict of interests earlier on in this discussion]

Lexikos
  • Administrators
  • 9844 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2006

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your email.

We have analyzed the file you have sent to us and it is false
detection. This issue will be fixed in next update as soon as
possible.

Please accept our apologize for any inconvenience this may cause to
you.

If there are any other suspicious files, please feel free to contact
us again.

Thank you for your cooperation.



ManaUser
  • Members
  • 1121 posts
  • Last active: Dec 07 2016 04:24 PM
  • Joined: 24 May 2007
Ah, good that this is (hopefully) taken care of.

POINTS
  • Members
  • 290 posts
  • Last active: Oct 13 2010 02:12 AM
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2006
For anyone having this problem again, I was able to use my compiled code when I rolled back to 1.0.47.3. (I don't have 1.0.47.4 but that might work too.)
My AutoHotkey Program for Warcraft III:
Warkeys
http://warkeys.sourceforge.net/

Remap your hotkeys
Healthbars always on
Remap inventory

BikerDude
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Just did a scan with http://virusscan.jotti.org/ and got 2 hits

Scan taken on 24 Feb 2008 14:21:50 (GMT)
A-Squared
Found nothing
AntiVir
Found nothing
ArcaVir
Found nothing
Avast
Found nothing
AVG Antivirus
Found nothing
BitDefender
Found nothing
ClamAV
Found nothing
CPsecure
Found Troj.Spy.W32.Agent.bdw
Dr.Web
Found nothing
F-Prot Antivirus
Found nothing
F-Secure Anti-Virus
Found nothing
Fortinet
Found nothing
Ikarus
Found nothing
Kaspersky Anti-Virus
Found nothing
NOD32
Found nothing
Norman Virus Control
Found nothing
Panda Antivirus
Found nothing
Rising Antivirus
Found nothing
Sophos Antivirus
Found nothing
VirusBuster
Found nothing
VBA32
Found Trojan-Spy.Win32.Agent.bbg

So there still some out that causing this issue

Guest.2
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Still got Hits with

eSafe 7.0.15.0 2008.03.06 suspicious Trojan/Worm
Ikarus T3.1.1.20 2008.03.07 Trojan-Spy.Win32.Agent.bbg
Panda 9.0.0.4 2008.03.06 Suspicious file

CPsecure Troj.Spy.W32.Agent.bdw (this one from jotti)

weird:
NOD32v2 2928 2008.03.06 archive damaged

using 1.0.47.05


Now I'm using 1.0.46.17 again, no false positives so far. I habe no choice than to avoid those alerts.

Oberon
  • Members
  • 442 posts
  • Last active: Jul 03 2008 11:34 PM
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2008
The best course of action is to use and distribute text scripts instead of compiled ones. AutoHotkey.exe is the only required dependency.

CuriousUser
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
So they updated AVG and now it detects the Worm\Autoit.ABB in warkeys. I emailed AVG with no response yet. Any Idea as to why this is happening ? I cant set my keys currently because AVG will not let me access the file.

AnotherCuriousGuest
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Ya I'm having the same trouble as "CuriousGuest"

I just updated to the newest version of both warkeys and avg and I get Threat Detected! Warkeys.exe ... virus identified Worm / Autoit.ABB

ahklerner
  • Members
  • 1386 posts
  • Last active: Oct 08 2014 10:29 AM
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2006
I looked for the post by "CuriousGuest" and could not locate it.
Posted Image
ʞɔпɟ əɥʇ ʇɐɥʍ

AnotherCuriousGuest
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
sorry i meant "CuriousUser" ... the post directly above mine