Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Suggestions on documentation improvements


  • Please log in to reply
244 replies to this topic
fincs
  • Moderators
  • 1662 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 05 May 2007
The documentation typo:

<snip>
WinActive(WinTitle [, WinText, ExcludeTitle, ExcludeText])
<snip>
WinExist(WinTitle [, WinText, ExcludeTitle, ExcludeText])
<snip>


should be

<snip>
WinActive([WinTitle , WinText, ExcludeTitle, ExcludeText])
<snip>
WinExist([WinTitle , WinText, ExcludeTitle, ExcludeText])
<snip>

it's not fixed in the CHM file. I'm using AHK v1.0.47.01.

engunneer
  • Moderators
  • 9162 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2014 10:36 PM
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005
that is because he released the CHM on 08 Jul 07, and the change was made on 10 Jul 07. All documentation changes propagate from the web to the CHM next time it is released.

Fuco
  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • Last active: Oct 24 2008 06:21 PM
  • Joined: 21 Mar 2006
minor typo

<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...ds/LoopFile.htm<!-- m -->
(also in autohotkey.chm file )

To retrieve files' relative paths instead of absolute paths during a recursive search.....

should be file's
RegExReplace("C:\Program Files\AutoHotkey", "(^C)(?=\W).{4}((?i)[GOD])\w{1,4}\s(\D)(?:\w+)*\\(?3)(u|o).*?(k).*" , "$3$4$l1$5$2")

corrupt
  • Members
  • 2558 posts
  • Last active: Nov 01 2014 03:23 PM
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2004

minor typo

<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...ds/LoopFile.htm<!-- m -->
(also in autohotkey.chm file )

To retrieve files' relative paths instead of absolute paths during a recursive search.....

should be file's

I'm pretty sure the sentence is correct since in this case the word file is plural :) . The sentence could instead read something like: To retrieve relative paths for files instead of absolute paths during a recursive search...

Lexikos
  • Administrators
  • 9844 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2006
[quote name="documentation]To use a picture as a background behind a ListView, create the picture control after the ListView and include 0x4000000 (which is WS_CLIPSIBLINGS) in the picture's Options.[/quote]I think this is misleading - it implies the background can be (seen) behind the ListView, when it can only be (seen) around the ListView.

Chris
  • Administrators
  • 10727 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Thanks; I've clarifed it to be: "A picture may be used as a background around a ListView (that is, to frame the ListView). To do this, create the picture control after the ListView and include 0x4000000 (which is WS_CLIPSIBLINGS) in the picture's Options."

engunneer
  • Moderators
  • 9162 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2014 10:36 PM
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005
@Chris:
JDN points out a few mor typos here: <!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...pic.php?t=26605<!-- m -->

Superfraggle
  • Members
  • 1019 posts
  • Last active: Sep 25 2011 01:06 AM
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2004
The code example on pixelgetcolor is missing a semicolon.

^!z::  Control+Alt+Z hotkey.
MouseGetPos, MouseX, MouseY
PixelGetColor, color, %MouseX%, %MouseY%
MsgBox The color at the current cursor position is %color%.
return
I believe this was intended to be

^!z:: ;  Control+Alt+Z hotkey.
MouseGetPos, MouseX, MouseY
PixelGetColor, color, %MouseX%, %MouseY%
MsgBox The color at the current cursor position is %color%.
return

Note from Chris: Thanks; this has been fixed.
Steve F AKA Superfraggle

http://r.yuwie.com/superfraggle

svi
  • Members
  • 237 posts
  • Last active: Mar 09 2015 06:34 PM
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
"parameters passed into a script" (Index tab of Help) leads to docs/Scripts.htm (top of the page).
It should lead to docs/Scripts.htm#cmd as "command line parameters" does.
Pekka Vartto

Chris
  • Administrators
  • 10727 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Thanks; that will be fixed.

svi
  • Members
  • 237 posts
  • Last active: Mar 09 2015 06:34 PM
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
(Maybe I'm splitting hairs.)
In Critical there's a link "bottom of remarks", but no header called "Remarks".
Pekka Vartto

sinkfaze
  • Moderators
  • 6367 posts
  • Last active: Nov 30 2018 08:50 PM
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2008
It's kinda splitting hairs since there's only one parameter for the command but Return and ExitApp both have clearly defined parameter and remarks sections, so I'd agree with you that it should be defined at least as well as those are.

Chris
  • Administrators
  • 10727 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2004
I omitted the standard parameter section because I wanted to de-emphasize the interval parameter as much as possible. The parameter should be used rarely and perhaps only as a last resort.

Another motivation is to keep the most important remarks near the top so that hurried readers can understand Critical without having to read the whole page. (I'd hoped Critical would be a conceptually easy command.)

JamesPark
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

NumPut(Number, VarOrAddress [, Offset = 0, Type = "UInt"])
For Type, specify UInt, Int, Int64, Short, UShort, Char, UChar, Double, or Float (though unlike DllCall, these must be enclosed in quotes when used as literal strings)

http://www.autohotke...nds/DllCall.htm

StringLeft, Int, YYYYMMDDHHMISS, 4 ; YYYY (year)
NumPut(Int, SystemTime, 0, 2)
StringMid, Int, YYYYMMDDHHMISS, 5, 2 ; MM (month of year, 1-12)
NumPut(Int, SystemTime, 2, 2)
StringMid, Int, YYYYMMDDHHMISS, 7, 2 ; DD (day of month)
NumPut(Int, SystemTime, 6, 2)
....

AHK doesn't support numeric type for Type parameter.

NumPut(Int, SystemTime, 0, "UShort")
StringMid, Int, YYYYMMDDHHMISS, 5, 2 ; MM (month of year, 1-12)
NumPut(Int, SystemTime, 2, "UShort")
StringMid, Int, YYYYMMDDHHMISS, 7, 2 ; DD (day of month)
NumPut(Int, SystemTime, 6, "UShort")
....



Chris
  • Administrators
  • 10727 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Thanks; it has been fixed.