Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Change file extension shelltoy (32 / 64-bit)


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic
T800
  • Members
  • 107 posts
  • Last active: Feb 01 2014 11:14 PM
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Here is another shelltoy I've made:

Change file extensions in just two steps:
1. select one or more files
2. enter new extension

Posted Image

Featuring:
-smart renaming (just the way you need it)
-seamless integration into windows explorer (just as a regular file rename)
-easy undo (ctrl-z)

The idea was born from the way that Vista automatically selects only first part of file.ext pair if extensions are not hidden, something that XP is missing.
Now you can hide extensions and change them in the most easy way.

Installer (32 / 64-bit) + source code:
Download at project homepage

Current version: 2.8.6.0
If anyone needs it, previous version (2.8.2.0) is here.

polyethene
  • Members
  • 5519 posts
  • Last active: May 17 2015 06:39 AM
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2012
I set explorer to show all file extensions, but this looks good.

autohotkey.com/net Site Manager

 

Contact me by email (polyethene at autohotkey.net) or message tidbit


BoffinbraiN
  • Members
  • 114 posts
  • Last active: Jun 18 2013 07:03 PM
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2009
I see you're previewing the context menu in Windows Vista or 7! Still, if yours supports multiple files, I can see that will be useful for some people! The file renaming tools thread also comes to mind.

n-l-i-d
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
I'm no programmer, but I've been looking for ages for a custom shell-dll to create a customizable context menu entry with custom sub-menus. Ideally it would be settable/controllable with AutoHotkey.

One can add a single entry without a shell-dll, but a single sub-menu would be just great.

- Option to set the icon/title of the main-menu
- Options to set the titles/icons of the sub-menus
- Limitless deep branching (sub-sub-menus)

Maybe by sending/retrieving messages to the dll with ahk? Something like: send list of selected files and the menu entry selected to AHK, send menu definitions/changes to dll.

Would something like this be doable?

8)

T800
  • Members
  • 107 posts
  • Last active: Feb 01 2014 11:14 PM
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2006
I think this is what you might be looking for, it's called "Fast Explorer Context Menu Extension DLL".
Looks like freeware, I think some programs actually use it, I vaguely remember that's how I stumbled upon it.
See homepage:
<!-- m -->http://thesoftpro.tr...m/downloads/fe/<!-- m -->
or here (more screenshots)
<!-- m -->http://www.softpedia... ... -DLL.shtml<!-- m -->

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

...Vista automatically selects only first part of file.ext...something that XP is missing.

My...
Rename-Manager.ahk...gives XP this functionality...

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

...Vista automatically selects only first part of file.ext...something that XP is missing.

My...
Rename-Manager.ahk...gives XP this functionality...

Thank you very much, but is there a way to make a script which will do this:

F2 (1x) = select file name
F2 (2x) = select extension
F2 (3x) = select both, file name and extension?

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

...is there a way to make a script which will do this...

...I've thought about adding F4 to select all...but I could make an option for what repeated F2 will do...you don't like the "Cycle highlight thru filename levels" behavior?

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

...is there a way to make a script which will do this...

...I've thought about adding F4 to select all...but I could make an option for what repeated F2 will do...you don't like the "Cycle highlight thru filename levels" behavior?

Sorry I didn't get it. Your script is doing this on my XP:
F2 (1x) = selects file name
F2 (2x) = selects both, file name and extension

And I thought about this:
F2 (1x) = select file name
F2 (2x) = select extension
F2 (3x) = select both, file name and extension

Anyway my wish is fulfilled with powerpro script which does exactly that so thank you for replying.

DIY
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

is there a way to make a script which will do this:

F2 (1x) = select file name
F2 (2x) = select extension
F2 (3x) = select both, file name and extension?

Yes, I should think so. :wink:

This script might be extended to provide the functionality you described.

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

is there a way to make a script which will do this:

F2 (1x) = select file name
F2 (2x) = select extension
F2 (3x) = select both, file name and extension?

Yes, I should think so. :wink:

This script might be extended to provide the functionality you described.

Mentioned script is interesting because it excludes folders, but it doesn't do the "three-way toggle" (only "one-way toggle").
Rename-Manager.ahk does it "two-way toggle" but includes folders, so ...

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

Anyway my wish is fulfilled with powerpro script...

...powerpro script?...I could never hope to edit my script that fast (you posted & already found an alternate script!), but even if you've found something else, I do plan on adding what you mention to my script...

This script...

...I didn't test it but Smurth's script is extremely basic, mine has all the code it has to handle many cases...& mine is extendable too...which I will do soon...

Rename-Manager.ahk does it "two-way toggle"...

...no, it "cycles thru filename levels"...plz create files with the following names & test Rename-Manager.ahk on them...
[*:ajw6du35]Test-File.txt
[*:ajw6du35]Test-File.png.txt
[*:ajw6du35]Test-File.ext.png.txt...press F2 4-5 times, then do F3...some files have multiple extensions, so it "cycles thru filename levels"...& even tho I plan on adding the F2 behavior you want, you do know that pressing F2, then F3 will always select the extension right?...is F2, F3 that much different than F2, F2?...but remember to check back in a few days for a new Rename-Manager.ahk...

...but includes folders...

...is including folders a bad thing? Folders can have extensions (even tho it does nothing for them)...but it couldn't be hard for me to add a Setting for it...

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
You are right, it really cycles throw filename levels and I didn't know about F3 (I've should read the script first before compiling). Sorry, my bad. I'm gonna check the new version. Thank you!

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
New version...
Rename-Manager.ahk

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

New version...
Rename-Manager.ahk

It works, thanks again. If you ever implement an option to exclude folders please mention that here.