Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Game: ManyTetris - Customizable Pocket Tetris


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic
Icarus
  • Members
  • 851 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2012 11:17 AM
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2005
ManyTetris 0.17

This is the result of complete boredom... :)
I once had a handheld tetris game, which had many variants of tetris inside, with many different pieces.
It was monochrome.

So, I have created this little script.
It is completely non graphic (i.e. there are no bitmaps) - all is done by color GUI elements.

The nice thing about it (to me anyways) is that you can quite easily create additional games, by creating a new game template file.

In this template, you can define some variables of the game + define the piece shapes.

I have added some minimal sounds for completeness.
Also, some options (colors etc) are configurable in the INI.

Download this ZIP archive for source + readme + sounds + some game variations.
Sector-Seven - Freeware tools built with AutoHotkey

HotKeyIt
  • Moderators
  • 7439 posts
  • Last active: Jun 22 2016 09:14 PM
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Very nice. :D

Hezzu_guest
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
I still have that tetris

It's was so cash because it showed to the world that some things could be changed

And I could say you are brought that thought back to life

Icarus
  • Members
  • 851 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2012 11:17 AM
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Heh :)
I am not sure it is the same one, back then there were many tetris games - it was popular.

Mine looked something like this, in black.
Posted Image
The writings are familiar, so I may had the exact model.

If you still have it - maybe you can tell me if I missed any piece shape (or added one that did not exist).
Check the Deluxe Tetris template - this was supposed to be a replica of that game, as I remember it.
Sector-Seven - Freeware tools built with AutoHotkey

Z_Gecko
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Very nice,
Thanks.

Here ist the first "mod":
; ChaoTris.txt - ManyTetris.ahk Game-File
; ; is a comment
; # is a directive (middle spaces allowed, trailing spaces not allowed)
; Empty line is ignored
; All the rest, piece definition where
; = is a piece state separator (when rotated)
; * is a beginning of a new piece

#Rows 21
#Cols 7
#BoxSize 28
#DropSpeed         200
#DropSpeedIncrease 10
#MaxDropSpeed      900

+
*

+-
-+
=
-+
+-
*

+-
-+
=
+-
+-
=
-+
+-
=
++
--
=
+-
-+
=
-+
-+
=
-+
+-
=
--
++
*

++
*

-++-
=
++++
*

-
-
-
+
=
-
-
+
+
=
-
+
+
+
=
+
+
+
+
*

-+-
++-
-+-
=
-+-
-+-
-+-
=
-+-
-++
-+-
=
-+-
-+-
-+-
*

++
++
=
+-
+-
*

+-+
+-+
+-+
=
+++
---
+++
*

+--
-+-
--+
=
-+-
-+-
-+-
=
--+
-+-
+--
=
---
+++
---
*

---
-+-
---
=
+++
+-+
+++
*

+++
+-+
+-+
=
+++
--+
+++
=
+-+
+-+
+++
=
+++
+--
+++
*

-+-
+-+
---
=
-+-
--+
-+-
=
---
+-+
-+-
=
-+-
+--
-+-
*

+-
--
=
++
--
=
++
-+
=
++
++
=
+-
++
=
+-
+-
*

---+---
--++---
=
+++++++
-------
*

-+-
+-+
-+-
=
+-+
-+-
+-+
*

-----
+++++
-----
=
++---
-+++-
---++
=
--+--
-+++-
--+--
=
---++
-+++-
++---
*
+---
++--
=
+---
+++-
=
+---
++++
*

---+
--++
=
---+
-+++
=
---+
++++
*

---+
++++
---+
=
--+-
++++
--+-
=
-+--
++++
-+--
=
+---
++++
+---
*
--+++--
-++-++-
++---++
=
-------
-+++++-
+++-+++
=
-------
-------
+++++++
*

-+
+-
-+
=
+-
-+
+-
*

---
---
--+
=
---
-++
--+
=
---
++-
+--
=
-+-
-+-
-+-
=
---
-++
-++
=
+--
-++
--+
=
+-+
-+-
-+-
*

----
-+-+
=
--+-
-+-+
=
+++-
-+-+
=
+-+-
-+--
*

---
+++
=
+-+
+++
=
+++
+++
=
+++
+-+
=
+++
---
*

+
*

-
+
-
=
+
-
+
*

+-+
+++
+-+
=
+++
-+-
+++
*

---
---
+--
=
---
-+-
+--
=
--+
-+-
+--
*

---
+++
---
=
+--
-+-
--+
=
-+-
-+-
-+-
=
--+
-+-
+--
*

+++
---
-+-
=
+--
---
-+-
=
--+
---
-+-
*

+
*

+
*

+


Icarus
  • Members
  • 851 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2012 11:17 AM
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2005

Very nice,
Thanks.

Here ist the first "mod":


LOL!
Thats a very nice mod.
I was wondering if I would see some game templates here, but I did not expect that the first one would exploit the rotation states so nicely as you did.

Going to play the "Z_Gecko Wicked Mod" (dot txt)

:)

EDIT:
Did you intentionally make the speeds like this?
Starts with 200ms sleep, then from the second piece on, it will use 900ms constantly.
Sector-Seven - Freeware tools built with AutoHotkey

Z_Gecko
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

EDIT:
Did you intentionally make the speeds like this?
Starts with 200ms sleep, then from the second piece on, it will use 900ms constantly.

No. :shock:
I totally misunderstood the meanings of this values. And was always wondering why it produced that behaviour. Now i know. :oops:

jaco0646
  • Moderators
  • 3165 posts
  • Last active: Apr 01 2014 01:46 AM
  • Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Icarus, that is very professionally done! :!: :O I happily relinquish the title of "Best self-contained AHK game produced to date." You've earned it. I love the option to make my own pieces (and so easily too).

One suggestion (from playing a lot of Tetris over the years) - it can be handy to have the drop button (down arrow) execute a "push" when it's just tapped. Meaning it only drops the piece one row per press and doesn't drop the piece all the way to the bottom until it's been held for a second or two. This prevents an accidental down press from ruining a game, and is useful for sliding one piece under the edge of another in slower levels.

Congratulations. The script is wonderful! 8)

Icarus
  • Members
  • 851 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2012 11:17 AM
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2005

Icarus, that is very professionally done!

Hey, thanks buddy! :)
I am glad you find it amusing.
If you have created your own game, you can post it here if you want - I can put it in the ZIP package,

One suggestion (from playing a lot of Tetris over the years) - it can be handy to have the drop button (down arrow) execute a "push" when it's just tapped. Meaning it only drops the piece one row per press and doesn't drop the piece all the way to the bottom until it's been held for a second or two.


You mean you prefer a soft drop instead of the implemented hard drop. I hear you.
Done.

Will post the updated package up in the first post in a few minutes.
Sector-Seven - Freeware tools built with AutoHotkey

Icarus
  • Members
  • 851 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2012 11:17 AM
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Version 0.13 is up:[*:efvco7ho]Added : Some games (thanks Z_Gecko for ChaoTris).
[*:efvco7ho]Added : If last played game is no longer found (file deleted/renamed), we will load the first found game.
[*:efvco7ho]Changed: The start button will now have a fixed size.
[*:efvco7ho]Changed: Hard drop to soft drop (thanks jaco0646)
Sector-Seven - Freeware tools built with AutoHotkey

Obi-Wahn
  • Members
  • 77 posts
  • Last active: Oct 29 2012 05:55 PM
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Hi there!
Nice Game. I like it very. But today, while playing, there are 2 situations where I have questions:

1.) While playing, the dropdownlist changes every time the selection. It doesn't jam the game, but it's a litle bit annoying.

2.) While playing ChaoTris, from time to time error messages appear:
Posted Image

Any ideas?

BTW: After confirming the message, the "Block" doesn't fall further, but you can play, when forcing the Block to drop (holding Arrow Down)

Icarus
  • Members
  • 851 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2012 11:17 AM
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Hold on, taking a look.
Sector-Seven - Freeware tools built with AutoHotkey

Icarus
  • Members
  • 851 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2012 11:17 AM
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Found the bug caused by ChaoTris.
Fixed, will be uploaded soon.

I was unable to reproduce your drop down list issue.
You are saying it changes while you are playing?
The code seem to handle it.
What OS are you using?
Sector-Seven - Freeware tools built with AutoHotkey

Obi-Wahn
  • Members
  • 77 posts
  • Last active: Oct 29 2012 05:55 PM
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Yeah, it changes while acting with the arrow keys. For me, it looks like Focus stays on the ddl control.

Im using Windows XP Sp3.

Thanks for Bugfix.

Icarus
  • Members
  • 851 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2012 11:17 AM
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Thats weird... Since all the arrow keys are mapped to do something else, they are not supposed to effect the GUI.

I am assuming that if you change the focus (press TAB to move the focus to the Start button) this does not happen. Right?

In any case, in the new version I am moving the focus away from the DDL on startup.

Uploading in a few mins.

Thanks for reporting, and I am glad you like it :)
Sector-Seven - Freeware tools built with AutoHotkey