Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

RADIAL MENU scripts - migrated to new forum


  • Please log in to reply
1310 replies to this topic
doyle
  • Members
  • 335 posts
  • Last active: Mar 02 2012 04:47 PM
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Looking very good indeed.

Moebius
  • Members
  • 39 posts
  • Last active: May 11 2015 08:46 PM
  • Joined: 08 Mar 2009
looks very promising - i hope that its also fast and easy to setup :D

Learning one
  • Members
  • 1483 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2016 02:30 PM
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Thanks. :)

I forgot to upload my favorite skin...
Here it is; Radial menu v3 preview2

That's how it looks. I just captured my screen. No additional photo editing.

horntail
  • Members
  • 69 posts
  • Last active: Jul 19 2010 06:20 PM
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2009
the button shadows are a nice touch

netfun81
  • Members
  • 58 posts
  • Last active: Feb 21 2010 09:32 AM
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2006
Here is an older radial menu script.. Look isn't great but configuration was good... might be some ideas come from it.

<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke.../topic7242.html<!-- m -->

Learning one
  • Members
  • 1483 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2016 02:30 PM
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2009

i hope that its also fast and easy to setup

It's rocket fast, (maybe even slightly faster than RM v2!)
It's very easy to setup if you use some predefined style settings and just change Item name and Item action.
If you want to completely change style than it is more complicated...
(Items are always auto positioned)

In fact, in more than 90% cases, you only have to change Item name and Item action...
Here is .ini file that RM v3 currently uses:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ITEMS
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[Item1]
Name= 		
Action= 		C:\WINDOWS\explorer.exe
YPosition= 	22
Icon=		Windows explorer.png
IconShrink = 	20

[Item2]
Name= 		Notepad
Action= 		C:\WINDOWS\notepad.exe
YPosition= 	28
Icon=		Notepad.png
IconShrink = 	20

[Item3]
Name= 		
Action= 		C:\WINDOWS\system32\calc.exe
YPosition= 	28
Icon=		Calculator.png
IconShrink = 	20

[Item4]
Name= 		
Action= 		C:\WINDOWS\system32\mspaint.exe
YPosition= 	28
Icon=		Paint.png
IconShrink = 	20

[Item5]
Name= 		Avidemux
Action= 		http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/
YPosition= 	28
Icon= 		Avidemux.png
IconShrink = 	16

[Item6]
Name= 		
Action= 		C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe
YPosition= 	16
Icon=		Windows Media Player.png
IconShrink = 	20

[Item7]
Name= 		
Action= 		C:\Program Files\Movie Maker\moviemk.exe
YPosition= 	16
Icon=		Windows Movie Maker.png
IconShrink = 	20

[Item8]
Name= 		
Action= 		
YPosition= 	28
Icon=		
IconShrink = 	20

[Item9]
Name= 		
Action= 		
YPosition= 	28
Icon=		
IconShrink = 	20

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
GENERAL
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[General]

RMShowHotkey =		RButton
ShowDelay = 		220

MenuBackground = 	RMbackground.png
ButtonBackground = 	BlankBall3.png

SoundOnSelect =		1
SelectEffect = 		shake
DestroyEffect = 		0

Font = 			Arial
TextSize = 		12
TextColor = 		FFFFFF
TextAntialias = 		1
TextTrans =	 	DE

Shadow = 		1
ShadowColor = 		111119

ButtonSize =		75
WheelRadiusFactor =	11
MinWheelRadius = 	59

And one more screenshot
Radial menu v3 preview3

HotKeyIt
  • Moderators
  • 7439 posts
  • Last active: Jun 22 2016 09:14 PM
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Looks very nice indeed, I hope the amount of Items can be changed as well [1-99]? :)

EDIT:
There are also some functions (like the ones in ToolTip() ) that can find associated icon automatically, would be great as well :)

TomXIII
  • Members
  • 182 posts
  • Last active: Feb 28 2011 11:42 PM
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2009
Whooooaaaahhhh!!!!!
The first time I read this post I was really impressed, but the graphics quality stopped me! I really want to know how you use GDI+
Please give us v3 before this night!!!

Looks very nice indeed, I hope the amount of Items can be changed as well [1-99]?

@HotkeyIt: Look at my version. I coded the solution. The main problem is that is more difficult to remember items position when you change this number.
(sorry for my poor english!)

Edit (22/11/09 21h15 GMT): Finally, after this afternoon I succeed! Here is my screenshot
Posted ImagePosted Image
Thanks for the GDI+ advice and also for gdip.ahk!!!

Tips: If you want to have the icon of a website (favicon, to the left of the url!), type the root url of the website and add "favicon.ico" and then save the icon.
Ex: for google: <!-- m -->http://www.google.com/favicon.ico<!-- m -->


Learning one
  • Members
  • 1483 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2016 02:30 PM
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Hello, all

I see that people like my Radial menu scripts, especially v3 previews.

Radial menu v3:
- looks great
- has good concept
- is fast
- is useful/functional piece of code
- has great potential to become even better
- has potential to be released as donationware or even as commercial software one day

I have one big problem; I have a plenty of ideas and enthusiasm,
but I don't have enough time to fully develop Radial menu v3. I haven't done nothing new
for days, I simply don't have time...

So I decided to give you Radial menu v3 code (not totally finished) and all other stuff under one condition;
No matter how much Radial menu v3 and all further versions based on it evolve, my share in
authorship will always be minimum 51%. I think this is the minimum I deserve.
Download Radial menu v3 package here.

That's it. I'll be back in the project as soon as I can.
Continue development, respect my authorship, and good luck!

Learning one

TomXIII
  • Members
  • 182 posts
  • Last active: Feb 28 2011 11:42 PM
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2009
@Learning one:

Thanks: Tic, TomXIII, Lexikos, and others

Thank you too!

; Auto WheelRadius in development! @TomXIII: I'm sure that you can improve this.

Yes I can! I'll work on it next week-end!

Sorry but I have a problem with this version. If I edit the 9th item, it doesn't appear! I keep testing it!

As you give us the code, I can now give you mine! (not clean but quite good!)
http://www.autohotke...RM Launcher.ahk
http://www.autohotke...niFunctions.ahk
http://www.autohotke...omXIII/Gdip.ahk Thank you Tic!
http://www.autohotke.../background.png
http://www.autohotke.../foreground.png
http://www.autohotke...XIII/cancel.png

Be careful, I used a different folder tree!
%A_ScriptDir%\AppData\ for Settings.ini
%A_ScriptDir%\AppData\icons\ for icons

@All:I post my code to give you some of mine solutions. That is the version I use but keep using the Learning one version!!! He is the original creator!!!

back @Learning one: Now you have 90%! Lol


Edit (23/11/09 22h16 GMT):

@Learning one: I have the formula for auto WheelRadius!
wheelRadius := ButtonSize/(2*Sin(pi/TotalButtons))
Put the formula before xOffset and yOffset
Like this:
;===Create buttons===
Loop, %TotalButtons%
{   
   ;===Calculate positions===
   deg := deg ? deg+(360/TotalButtons): (360/TotalButtons)+90
   rad := deg*(pi/180)

   [color=red]wheelRadius := ButtonSize/(2*Sin(pi/TotalButtons))
[/color]
   xOffset := WheelRadius*(-1*Cos(rad))-picRadius
   yOffset := WheelRadius*(-1*Sin(rad))-picRadius
   itemX := mx1 + xOffset 
   itemY := my1 + yOffset
It works very fine with my version!
WheelRadius custom setting is no more useful now, so I have to re-arrange the code.

TomXIII
  • Members
  • 182 posts
  • Last active: Feb 28 2011 11:42 PM
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2009
Hi AHKers!
I included Auto WheelRadius option and tried to clean up the code.
Please take a moment to verify the traduction, I'm French and my English isn't good enough!
As my version is quite different from Radial Menu v3, I decided to rename my version to RM Launcher.

RM_Launcher v0.1.zip

Maxmax14
  • Members
  • 23 posts
  • Last active: May 08 2011 02:52 PM
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2008
@Learning one:

Hello,

I just have a look to Radial menu v3 : Very nice !

One suggestion : You should add a "transform,Deref,..." when you read .inifile Key "Action"
Action= %A_Windir%\explorer.exe should be recognize
(for me %A_Windir% is E:\windows no C:\windows)

MaxMax14

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
i've tried the 0.1 version and it is tooooo slow.
Even with build delay 0 it takes ages until its up.
There should be an option to show it instantly.

Nobody looks at the items, if it is used daily - just a small gesture and thats it...the graphics are only for first time users...

TomXIII
  • Members
  • 182 posts
  • Last active: Feb 28 2011 11:42 PM
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2009
@Guest: Thank you for your comment!
In the last version I added a "sleep, 1" before each items display to have a special effect but you're right: The most important is quick launch and minimal gesture! How about the code, explicit or not explicit enough?

RM_Launcher v0.1:
At the end of RButton's hotkey part, comment/remove the "sleep,1" line
itemNumber := itemsNbr<10 ? "0" . A_Index : A_Index
		Gui, %itemNumber%: Show, x%itemX% y%itemY% h%picSize% w%picSize%, Item%A_Index%
		[color=red]Sleep, 1 <== Comment/remove this line for a quick display![/color]
	}
	SetTimer, GetSelectedItem, 15
}
Return


Learning one
  • Members
  • 1483 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2016 02:30 PM
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2009
@TomXIII

@Learning one: I have the formula for auto WheelRadius!

:D Wow! Well done! THANK YOU! :D

Sorry but I have a problem with this version. If I edit the 9th item, it doesn't appear! I keep testing it!

When script finds just one Item without name or icon, it concludes that user doesn't want any more items, and ignores all others.
For example; if items 1,2,3 have names, item 4 doesn't, and items 5,6,7,8,9 again have names, script concludes that user wanted just 1,2,3 items to be shown in menu.
;===Count items===
Loop, 10                 ; (Loop, 99 in RM v3.1)
{
   if I%A_Index%Name =      ;  Blank name
   {
      if I%A_Index%Icon =   ;  Blank Icon
      {
         TotalButtons := A_Index - 1        ; Auto set TotalButtons
         Break
      }
   }
}

I tried your RM_Launcher v0.1.
Good job! I like it! :D

@Maxmax14

I just have a look to Radial menu v3 : Very nice !
You should add a "transform,Deref,..." when you read .inifile Key "Action"

Thanks for compliments and suggestion.



@ALL
I managed to catch come free time again...
I coded Radial menu v3.1

Radial menu v3.1 improvements
- supports up to 98 items
- supports multiple item rings (auto ring positioning, of course)
- uses AutoWheelRadius developed by TomXIII (Thank you! :D )
- auto Tooltips
- custom Tooltips
- enable/disable MouseAcceleration when menu is shown
- enable/disable better and more sounds (short .wav files)(SoundOnShow SoundOnHover SoundOnSelect SoundOnHide)


I have submenus concept in my head. I still don't need them so that improvement has low priority...
I also have Radial menu creator concept in my head. I still don't need it so that improvement has low priority too, but it's "a must have" if
I will release Radial menu as commercial software one day.
To do: find associated icon automatically - suggestion by HotKeyIt (Quote: "There are also some functions (like the ones in ToolTip() ) that can find associated icon automatically, would be great as well")


I also coded RMmg.
It is Radial menu v3 co-product. Totally different concept. It uses mouse gestures to identify selected item. ("mg" means mouse gestures).
I'll tell you more about it when I will have more time...

Some test results...
Posted Image