Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Your PC specification?


  • Please log in to reply
99 replies to this topic
tomoe_uehara
  • Members
  • 2166 posts
  • Last active: Jun 11 2015 05:33 PM
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2009
Would you like to write down about your PC specification here?
You could write anything, as long as related to your PC.


Well, my PC is really outdated Posted Image
Here are the specification:

CPU
Processor = Pentium Cyrix II 333MHz
VGA = SiS Onboard shared memory
RAM = 64 MB SD-RAM, I use 4 MB for the VGA
Soundcard = C-Media Onboard
Harddisk = Seagate 20 GB
Optical drive = DVD Combo Lite-On 16x
OS = Windows ME ver 4.90
Web browser = IE 5.5

Input
Mouse = Just the generic one
Keyboard = Nothing to be proud of

Output
Monitor = Generic 14" tube monitor
Printer = Canon IP1700

Network
Modem = Huawei SmartAX MT882a
Connection Speed = ADSL 384 kbps

Other
None


That's it. Now it's your turn... Posted Image


Carcophan
  • Members
  • 1578 posts
  • Last active: Nov 27 2013 06:46 PM
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2008

outdated

:shock:

I think most modern cell phones have more CPU/Ram than you. Jokes asisde, we got a laptop as a joint x-mas gift together this year becuase my old PC died.



Copy/Paste from order reciept:
HP Pavilion dv6t Entertainment Quad Edit
• Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
• Intel® Core™ i7-720QM Processor (1.6GHz, 6MB L2 Cache, 1333MHz FSB)
• 4GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 320GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
• 1GB Nvidia GeForce GT 230M
• 15.6" diagonal High Definition LED HP Brightview Widescreen Display (1366x768)
• Lightscribe Blu-Ray ROM with SuperMulti DVD+/-R/RW Double Layer
• Webcam + Fingerprint Reader
• Intel Wireless-N Mini-card with Bluetooth
• No TV Tuner w/remote control
• HP Color Matching Keyboard
• 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
• No Modem
• System Recovery DVD with Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
• Microsoft® Works 9.0
• HP Home & Home Office Store in-box envelope

Not bragging, but just happy that I finally:
A.) Have a PC again and not a Mac any more
B.) Happy that I can keep shooting people in the face on Team Fortress 2 again
C.) Can work on AHK at home instead on -ONLY- at work on breaks.

tomoe_uehara
  • Members
  • 2166 posts
  • Last active: Jun 11 2015 05:33 PM
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2009
Now THAT'S what I call a PC!

By the way, what is the different between a PC and Mac?


Carcophan
  • Members
  • 1578 posts
  • Last active: Nov 27 2013 06:46 PM
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2008



By the way, what is the different between a PC and Mac?


Apples and Oranges honestly.


MAC = Apple = 'Does its own thing' (not getting into a PC vs Mac thing)

PC = Windows/Linux/Other = 95% of the rest of the world uses PC


Internally, they are not all 'that different', some macs and pcs even use the same CPU.


The software and support and interface and 'usability' are what differ so greatly.

fincs
  • Moderators
  • 1662 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 05 May 2007
My system (which is a 1yo laptop):[*:3cwj0rbq]Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.26 GHz, 2.27 GHz (double core)
[*:3cwj0rbq]4 GB RAM (but only 2.87 GB usable)
[*:3cwj0rbq]500 GB hard drive
[*:3cwj0rbq]Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit (it came with Vista and the 32-bit thing is funny because the Intel Processor ID utility lists my CPU as 64-bit and I had no choice but to upgrade to 32-bit :evil:)
[*:3cwj0rbq]AutoHotkey v1.0.48.05
[*:3cwj0rbq]Microsoft Visual C++/C# 2008 Express w/ Windows 7 SDK
[*:3cwj0rbq]Google Chrome 3.0.195.38

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

Well, my PC is really outdated
...
OS = Windows ME ver 4.90
Web browser = IE 5.5

...outdated is an understatement...is that your main PC? A PC you use AutoHotkey on? A PC you regularly browse websites on? I don't know if any version of Firefox will run on WinME, but other than getting a new computer, I highly recommend using Firefox instead of IE for a browser...try Firefox 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.5, 1.0...until one of them installs on WinME...

• No TV Tuner w/remote control

...wow they were so mean to mention you don't get a TV tuner on the receipt?

Carcophan
  • Members
  • 1578 posts
  • Last active: Nov 27 2013 06:46 PM
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2008

• No TV Tuner w/remote control
...wow they were so mean to mention you don't get a TV tuner on the receipt?


Yea, I forgot to take that out too. They had a few different "you didnt get this or thats" comments on the receipt.

$900 was enough for the laptop, I can live with TV staying on the TV(Hulu.com Fancast.com, TV.com ect lol), no 56k modem, no media card reader ect. /shrug

Best part was they didn't even mail the laptop IN A BOX. I mean obviously it came in a brown FedEx box... but there was no box from the pc manufacturer, just a laptop and some cardboard padding and everything else just crammed in. Scratched case and all.



...outdated is an understatement...is that your main PC?

Be nice :p I was using a G3 Mac build in like 1990-something, and a Windows98SE PC before that.

lexios
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

(it came with Vista and the 32-bit thing is funny because the Intel Processor ID utility lists my CPU as 64-bit and I had no choice but to upgrade to 32-bit :evil:)

I had Vista 32-bit, then did a clean install of 7 64-bit. Why wasn't that a choice for you?

My system:
Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.4 GHz
4 GB RAM (4 GB usable)
2 x 500GB hard drive
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AutoHotkey v1.0.48.05.L41.5
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Express; Microsoft Visual C++/C# 2010 Express Beta 2; Windows 7 SDK
Chromifox...
2 x 22" LCD (one is 1080p, the other not...)

Hey, this being the AutoHotkey forum, don't you think peripherals are worth a mention??
Microsoft Wireless Media Desktop 1000 (keyboard)
Logitech MX1100 (mouse)
Wacom Tablet (WAC6610)

tomoe_uehara
  • Members
  • 2166 posts
  • Last active: Jun 11 2015 05:33 PM
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2009

is that your main PC? A PC you use AutoHotkey on? A PC you regularly browse websites on?

Well.. Use it everyday. Once I had a CPU with AMD XP1700 processor, but when I tried to overclock it to 2300MHz, it melts! Posted Image

Hmm.. I'll try to get a copy of firefox then. Maybe Firefox is better than IE

My system (which is a 1yo laptop)

I prefer using a PC better than a laptop, because the keyboard, pointer and display screen are integrated into a box. I can't change the keyboard myself if it's broken...

Which one do you like, Pentium or AMD?


tomoe_uehara
  • Members
  • 2166 posts
  • Last active: Jun 11 2015 05:33 PM
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2009

this being the AutoHotkey forum

I think that is not a problem, since the topic is on the "General Chat" section Posted Image

Wacom Tablet (WAC6610)

What is that?

lexios
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

I think that is not a problem, since the topic is on the "General Chat" section

Not a problem, just paying my respects. ;)

Which one do you like, Pentium or AMD?

Comparing AMD to Pentium is like comparing Apple to oranges. "Intel or AMD" maybe. Anyway, Core i7 > Core 2 > Pentium.

What is that?

One of these. I'm thinking I'll try programming it with AutoHotkey.

fincs
  • Moderators
  • 1662 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 05 May 2007

I had Vista 32-bit, then did a clean install of 7 64-bit. Why wasn't that a choice for you?

I just have too much stuff in my PC (115.5 GB of data) to take the time to backup everything. Also, I bought the upgrade version.

noise
  • Members
  • 57 posts
  • Last active: Aug 31 2018 10:16 AM
  • Joined: 14 May 2009
XPS M1530 (PRODUCT) RED CORE 2 DUO T7700 2.40GHz,800,4M
15.4" WXGA (1280x800) with Truelife Display
Fingerprint Reader Biometric for XPS
4.0GB Memory Dual Channel
250GB Serial ATA (5400RPM) Hard Drive
8xDVD+/-RW Slim Slot-Load Drive
XPS Primary 9-cell 85WHr Li-Ion Battery
256MB NVIDIA GeForce Go 8600M GT Graphics Card
Dell Travel Remote control
Intel® Next-Gen Wireless-N Mini-PCI Card, EUR
Dell TrueMobile 355 internal Bluetooth Module
I replaced the Vista Ultimate x86 with Windows 7 Pro x64

tomoe_uehara
  • Members
  • 2166 posts
  • Last active: Jun 11 2015 05:33 PM
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2009

"Intel or AMD" maybe

Yes, that's what I mean, Intel. Pentium is a brand...

I'm thinking I'll try programming it with AutoHotkey

Ow, it looks like a digital paper =)
But instead of using a mouse, it uses pen as a pointer..

Fingerprint Reader Biometric for XPS

I don't understand what is the function of a fingerprint reader on a computer. Do you use your finger as a pointer or what?

noise
  • Members
  • 57 posts
  • Last active: Aug 31 2018 10:16 AM
  • Joined: 14 May 2009
It's a security feature.

You can set Windows to login when you swipe your finger over the reader. Or set application to run, or folder to decrypt, etc.

Used it when I first got the laptop then as per usual with this type of thing, I stopped using it.