Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

WinActivate on a specific IE browser tab


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic
vbmark
  • Members
  • 57 posts
  • Last active: Dec 10 2018 06:35 PM
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Hello,

WinActivate works great to bring the browser to the front if the title I am looking for is the current tab the user is on.

However, if the user has multiple tabs open and the one I am looking for is not the current tab, the the browser is never brought forward.

Is there a way to activate the specific tab of the browser if that tab is not the one the user is currently on?

Thanks!
Mark
Best freeware:
http://www.vbmark.com

jethrow
  • Moderators
  • 2854 posts
  • Last active: May 17 2017 01:57 AM
  • Joined: 24 May 2009

These examples were written for IE8.

 

This function will find the HWND of an IE window with a given tab name:

TabWinID(tabName) {
   WinGet, winList, List, ahk_class IEFrame
   While, winList%A_Index% {
      n:=A_Index, ErrorLevel:=0
      While, !ErrorLevel {
         ControlGetText, tabText, TabWindowClass%A_Index%, % "ahk_id" winList%n%
         if InStr(tabText, tabName)
            return, winList%n%
      }
   }
}

Then, activating that tab will require using COM. Here is an example function using AHKL & the Acc Library:

TabActivate(hwnd, tabName) { ;// http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/topic37651.html&p=231093#231093
   ControlGet, hTabUI , hWnd,, DirectUIHWND1, ahk_id %hwnd%
   Acc := Acc_ObjectFromWindow(hTabUI) ;// access "Tabs" control
   If (Acc.accChildCount > 1) ;// more than 1 tab
      tabs := Acc.accChild(3) ;// access just "IE document tabs"
   While (tabs.accChildCount >= A_Index) {
      tab := tabs.accChild(A_Index)
      If (tab.accName(0) = tabName)  ;// test vs. "tabName"
         return tab.accDoDefaultAction(0) ;// invoke tab
   }
}


vbmark
  • Members
  • 57 posts
  • Last active: Dec 10 2018 06:35 PM
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Wow, that's intense. Thanks jethrow!
Best freeware:
http://www.vbmark.com

Kusanagi2k5
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Last active: Oct 27 2011 11:28 PM
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2011
I know this is bumping a VERY old post, but it is the only one I can find bracing the topic of WinActivate to bring up an inactive tab in IE. I'm hoping this code works for IE9, but I don't exactly understand the code up above.

Any explanation on how to winactivate to a certain tab I have open would be appriciated GREATLY.

jethrow
  • Moderators
  • 2854 posts
  • Last active: May 17 2017 01:57 AM
  • Joined: 24 May 2009
Here's an updated version for IE9. This requires AutoHotkey_L and ComUtils:
TabActivate(TabName, WinTitle="") {

	ControlGet, hTabUI , hWnd,, DirectUIHWND2, % WinTitle=""? "ahk_class IEFrame":WinTitle

	Tabs := Acc_ObjectFromWindow(hTabUI).accChild(1) ; access "Tabs" control

	Loop, % Tabs.accChildCount

		if (Tabs.accChild(A_Index).accName(0) = TabName)

			return, Tabs.accChild(A_Index).accDoDefaultAction(0)

}


Thermopyle
  • Members
  • 135 posts
  • Last active: Apr 04 2012 04:04 PM
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2011
This is a bit old again, but it's related to the post, so it seems like a good place to ask. :)

What's the best way to convert these functions to grab the currently active tab, then activate it later on? Say a user triggers a script from a particular tab (not a specific one, unlike the previous example, but any tab they run it from), goes to a different tab and window...is there a way to activate what was active when the script was triggered? The browser this is being done in is IE6 or IE7, depends on the user.

Thanks for any assistance. :)

jethrow
  • Moderators
  • 2854 posts
  • Last active: May 17 2017 01:57 AM
  • Joined: 24 May 2009
To the best of my knowledge, the only way to distinguish between tabs is by name or positional order. Since both of these can change, I'd say the answer to your question is No - though why would you want to?

Thermopyle
  • Members
  • 135 posts
  • Last active: Apr 04 2012 04:04 PM
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2011
Jethrow: The script I'm using (you're familiar with it and have helped on it before) uses COM to grab some of the DOM elements off the page the user is on. The problem I'm having is that sometimes that particular page generates a pop-up message with an OK button. The script is able to click on links and go to different pages even with that OK button being up, but the OK button stays where it is in the forefront. If the user doesn't manually click the OK button before running the script, and instead click OK after the page change, it crashes IE completely.

So, what I'm trying to do is figure out a way to hit the OK button. Currently I have it using "send {enter}", but if the user doesn't have the correct IE window activated it just sends the enter key at the active window instead.

CodeKiller
  • Members
  • 2067 posts
  • Last active: Feb 26 2016 09:30 AM
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2008

Jethrow: The script I'm using (you're familiar with it and have helped on it before) uses COM to grab some of the DOM elements off the page the user is on. The problem I'm having is that sometimes that particular page generates a pop-up message with an OK button. The script is able to click on links and go to different pages even with that OK button being up, but the OK button stays where it is in the forefront. If the user doesn't manually click the OK button before running the script, and instead click OK after the page change, it crashes IE completely.

So, what I'm trying to do is figure out a way to hit the OK button. Currently I have it using "send {enter}", but if the user doesn't have the correct IE window activated it just sends the enter key at the active window instead.


If it's a popup it's at the foreground so if you send return it will send it to the foreground (activated) window.
I made my personnal popup blocker (work with anyversion of IE since it use the title of the window).

Example :
SetTimmer AutoClose, 100

AutoClose:
WinGetActiveTitle PopUpTitle
If InStr(PopUpList, PopUpTitle)
    Send ^w ; Close the current tab
Return

Work even with Opera Browser.

tank
  • Administrators
  • 4345 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active: Feb 04 2019 09:54 PM
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2007
DllCall("ole32\CoInitialize", "Uint", 0)

EVENT_SYSTEM_SOUND = 0x1	
EVENT_SYSTEM_ALERT = 0x2
EVENT_SYSTEM_FOREGROUND = 0x3
EVENT_SYSTEM_MENUSTART = 0x4
EVENT_SYSTEM_MENUEND = 0x5
EVENT_SYSTEM_MENUPOPUPSTART = 0x6
EVENT_SYSTEM_MENUPOPUPEND = 0x7
EVENT_SYSTEM_CAPTURESTART = 0x8
EVENT_SYSTEM_CAPTUREEND = 0x9
EVENT_SYSTEM_MOVESIZESTART = 0xa
EVENT_SYSTEM_MOVESIZEEND = 0xb
EVENT_SYSTEM_CONTEXTHELPSTART = 0xc
EVENT_SYSTEM_CONTEXTHELPEND = 0xd
EVENT_SYSTEM_DRAGDROPSTART = 0xe
EVENT_SYSTEM_DRAGDROPEND = 0xf
EVENT_SYSTEM_DIALOGSTART = 0x10
EVENT_SYSTEM_DIALOGEND = 0x11
EVENT_SYSTEM_SCROLLINGSTART = 0x12
EVENT_SYSTEM_SCROLLINGEND = 0x13
EVENT_SYSTEM_SWITCHSTART = 0x14
EVENT_SYSTEM_SWITCHEND = 0x15
EVENT_SYSTEM_MINIMIZESTART = 0x16
EVENT_SYSTEM_MINIMIZEEND = 0x17
	
	
DllCall("SetWinEventHook" ;;http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd373640(v=vs.85).aspx
		, Uint, EVENT_SYSTEM_FOREGROUND   ;;lParam starting event range
		, Uint, EVENT_SYSTEM_FOREGROUND  ;;lParam ending event range
		, Uint, 1*0
		, Uint, RegisterCallback( "KillAlert", "F" ) ;;http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd373885
		, Uint, 1*0
		, Uint, 1*0
		, Uint, 1*0)
		
KillAlert(hWinEventHook, Event, hWnd)
	{
	WinClose, ahk_id %hWnd%
	}
Listener and killer for ahk basic can easily be converted for ahk_l
For more info see this
Never lose.
WIN or LEARN.

fate711
  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Last active: May 07 2013 07:11 PM
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013

Jethrow,

I'm having issue trying to add your TabActivate code into my example.

The example assumes you have multiple tab windows open and you don't have the google tab currently open.

I need it to activate the IE window and open it to the tab name.

Currently the code will interact with the page but it won't bring it to the front for the user to see.

 

Here's what I got so far:

Search1 = Hello
Hotkey, F9, start
return

start:
if Pwb := IEGet("Google")
TabActivate("Google")
IELoad(Pwb) 
Pwb.Document.All.q.Value := Search1

return

IEGet(Name="") 
{

   IfEqual, Name,, WinGetTitle, Name, ahk_class IEFrame
      Name := ( Name="New Tab - Windows Internet Explorer" ) ? "about:Tabs" 
      : RegExReplace( Name, " - (Windows|Microsoft) Internet Explorer.*" )
   For Pwb in ComObjCreate( "Shell.Application" ).Windows
      If ( Pwb.LocationName = Name ) && InStr( Pwb.FullName, "iexplore.exe" )
         Return Pwb
}

TabActivate(TabName, WinTitle="") {
	ControlGet, hTabUI , hWnd,, DirectUIHWND2, % WinTitle=""? "ahk_class IEFrame":WinTitle
	Tabs := Acc_ObjectFromWindow(hTabUI).accChild(1) ; access "Tabs" control
	Loop, % Tabs.accChildCount
		if (Tabs.accChild(A_Index).accName(0) = TabName)
			return, Tabs.accChild(A_Index).accDoDefaultAction(0)
}


IELoad(Pwb)   
{
Loop
	Sleep, 50
Until	(pwb.readyState=4 && pwb.document.readyState="complete" && !pwb.busy)
}


Jackie Sztuk _Blackholyman
  • Spam Officer
  • 3757 posts
  • Last active: Apr 03 2016 08:47 PM
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2012

try with DirectUIHWND1

 

ControlGet, hTabUI , hWnd,, DirectUIHWND1, % WinTitle=""? "ahk_class IEFrame":WinTitle

 

where the one you use have a DirectUIHWND2 and thats for IE 9

 

Hope it helps


Helping%20you%20learn%20autohotkey.jpg?d

[AHK] Version. 1.1+ [CLOUD] DropBox ; Copy [WEBSITE] Blog ; About

fate711
  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Last active: May 07 2013 07:11 PM
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013

Blackholyman,

I am using IE 8 but I'm still having the same issues.  It's not bringing that tab to the users front view.



fate711
  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Last active: May 07 2013 07:11 PM
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013

I tested this on IE 10 and changed DirectUIHWND2 to DirectUIHWND3 and it activates the correct tab.

 

So going back to Jethrow's first example that works with IE8, how do you catch the return value and put it into the next function?

Below is my sorry attempt that doesn't work.   I'm forced to use IE8 at work. :(

Search1 = Hello
Hotkey, F9, start
HotKey, F10, ReloadScript
return

ReloadScript:
Reload
Return

start:
if Pwb := IEGet("Google")
TabWinID("Google")
TabActivate(winList%n%, Google)
WinActivate, Google
WinRestore, Google
IELoad(Pwb) 
Pwb.Document.All.q.Value := Search1
return

IEGet(Name="") 
{

   IfEqual, Name,, WinGetTitle, Name, ahk_class IEFrame
      Name := ( Name="New Tab - Windows Internet Explorer" ) ? "about:Tabs" 
      : RegExReplace( Name, " - (Windows|Microsoft) Internet Explorer.*" )
   For Pwb in ComObjCreate( "Shell.Application" ).Windows
      If ( Pwb.LocationName = Name ) && InStr( Pwb.FullName, "iexplore.exe" )
         Return Pwb
}

TabWinID(tabName) {
   WinGet, winList, List, ahk_class IEFrame
   While, winList%A_Index% {
      n:=A_Index, ErrorLevel:=0
      While, !ErrorLevel {
         ControlGetText, tabText, TabWindowClass%A_Index%, % "ahk_id" winList%n%
         if InStr(tabText, tabName)
            return, winList%n%
      }
   }
}

TabActivate(hwnd, tabName) { 
   ControlGet, hTabUI , hWnd,, DirectUIHWND1, ahk_id %hwnd%
   Acc := Acc_ObjectFromWindow(hTabUI) ;// access "Tabs" control
   If (Acc.accChildCount > 1) ;// more than 1 tab
      tabs := Acc.accChild(3) ;// access just "IE document tabs"
   While (tabs.accChildCount >= A_Index) {
      tab := tabs.accChild(A_Index)
      If (tab.accName(0) = tabName)  ;// test vs. "tabName"
         return tab.accDoDefaultAction(0) ;// invoke tab
   }
}

IELoad(Pwb)   
{
Loop
	Sleep, 50
Until	(pwb.readyState=4 && pwb.document.readyState="complete" && !pwb.busy)
}


bicelis
  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Last active: Feb 07 2014 10:00 PM
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2013

Sorry to dig up such an old post, but I can't seem to get my script to activate the correct tab

 

This is what I have so far:

#Include %A_ScriptDir%\Acc.ahk

IEGet(Name="")        ;Retrieve pointer to existing IE window/tab
{
    IfEqual, Name,, WinGetTitle, Name, ahk_class IEFrame
        Name := ( Name="New Tab - Windows Internet Explorer" ) ? "about:Tabs"
        : RegExReplace( Name, " - (Windows|Microsoft) Internet Explorer" )
    For wb in ComObjCreate( "Shell.Application" ).Windows
        If ( wb.LocationName = Name ) && InStr( wb.FullName, "iexplore.exe" )
            Return wb
} ;written by Jethrow

TabActivate(TabName, WinTitle="") {
	ControlGet, hTabUI , hWnd,, DirectUIHWND3, % WinTitle=""? "ahk_class IEFrame":WinTitle
	Tabs := Acc_ObjectFromWindow(hTabUI).accChild(1) ; access "Tabs" control
	Loop, % Tabs.accChildCount
		if (Tabs.accChild(A_Index).accName(0) = TabName)
			return, Tabs.accChild(A_Index).accDoDefaultAction(0)
}

^!n::
wb := IEGet("Google")
TabActivate("Google", "Google - Windows Internet Explorer")
Wait(wb)
Return

What am I doing wrong? I am using IE 9