Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Firefox 4 opinions??


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic
TLM
  • Administrators
  • 3864 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2006
Using it right now on my new laptop..

Seems ok, pretty fast to load but reminds me of Chrome in certain aspects..
Haven't been using very long so no bugs so far..

Not sure if I'm going install it on my other ( main ) laptop..

Let me know what you think of it please..

Thanks

Posted Image

don't duplicate, iterate!


tomoe_uehara
  • Members
  • 2166 posts
  • Last active: Jun 11 2015 05:33 PM
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2009
I've never use Firefox before, but I'll try it out tonight..
Uhmm where I can download it?


TLM
  • Administrators
  • 3864 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2006
Try here tomoe: <!-- m -->http://www.mozilla.c...n-US/firefox/fx<!-- m -->

Posted Image

don't duplicate, iterate!


MacroMan!
  • Members
  • 604 posts
  • Last active: Mar 20 2012 11:40 AM
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2009
I've been using FF4 since it was first released in Beta few weeks back.
It certainly is faster, even on my old win XP laptop. On win 7, it's really good. The only thing I found is that it's taking a while for add-ons to catch up, so some of them still don't work.

Overall I'm pleased with it.

Pro:
Faster, Sleeker, less mem usage

Con:
I don't like the tabs at the top instead of below the address bar.
What ever happened, happened.

SoLong&Thx4AllTheFish
  • Members
  • 4999 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 27 May 2007

Con:
I don't like the tabs at the top instead of below the address bar.

Easy to solve, see the View, Toolbars menu and uncheck Tabs on Top or something (doing it from memory).
My con: no statusbar (you can get it back with an add-on)

SoggyDog
  • Members
  • 803 posts
  • Last active: Mar 04 2013 06:27 AM
  • Joined: 02 May 2006

Con:
I don't like the tabs at the top instead of below the address bar.

Easy to solve, see the View, Toolbars menu and uncheck Tabs on Top or something (doing it from memory).
My con: no statusbar (you can get it back with an add-on)

That is accurate... Was just about to offer the same solution.

polyethene
  • Members
  • 5519 posts
  • Last active: May 17 2015 06:39 AM
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2012
Chrome lets you open incognito window at the same time as regular browsing mode, Firefox doesn't. I use both Firefox and Chrome for this reason.

autohotkey.com/net Site Manager

 

Contact me by email (polyethene at autohotkey.net) or message tidbit


tomoe_uehara
  • Members
  • 2166 posts
  • Last active: Jun 11 2015 05:33 PM
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2009

Chrome lets you open incognito window at the same time as regular browsing mode, Firefox doesn't. I use both Firefox and Chrome for this reason.

Why should I need to open incognito window?

BTW, it's flash based game is faster than Opera for sure


  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
after closing ff, u cant immediately open ff back (which chrome can) it will display an error msg

Frankie
  • Members
  • 2930 posts
  • Last active: Feb 05 2015 02:49 PM
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2008
The only time I used firefox was when I first started using linux (like the first week) and couldn't figure out how to install chrome :? It's not my favorite, but it's still a good browser for basic usage.
aboutscriptappsscripts
Request Video Tutorials Here or View Current Tutorials on YouTube
Any code ⇈ above ⇈ requires AutoHotkey_L to run

Chicken Pie 4 Tea
  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Last active: Dec 12 2014 06:46 PM
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2009
I quite like the new version, I think they copied Chrome in style. However I find that Firefox and the latest Chrome are both memory hogs. I am now trying out K-meleon which is based on the same engine as Firefox but uses much less memory.
"Choose your parents wisely"

SoLong&Thx4AllTheFish
  • Members
  • 4999 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 27 May 2007

I am now trying out K-meleon

Good choice with older PCs I find. Vote++ ;-)

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
only downloaded it last night but finding it quicker for me on my slow laptop - than either firefox or Chrome. A noticible difference. I was surprised and only downloaded it for memory/resource usage reasons.

TLM
  • Administrators
  • 3864 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2006
I use Firebug to assist in webpage dev.l and I've noticed it and a few other extensions make ff4 unresponsive so be careful ( had to cold boot )!!
BTW I was disappointing that Moz did not add an inspector, theres an element/DOM inspector built into chrome :roll:..

Keep asking myself ,"where the hell did the menu go? oh yea.." so still not 100% use to the single button yet ;)..

couldn't figure out how to install chrome :?

Even on windows Chrome uses an archaic silent installer ( the main exe ). I was able to extract it using SandBoxie.. Serious pita and borderline suspicious imo.

I find that Firefox and the latest Chrome are both memory hogs.

ff4 :shock:?? Looking into this now..



edit: Chrome's inspector does not include DOM.

Posted Image

don't duplicate, iterate!


SoggyDog
  • Members
  • 803 posts
  • Last active: Mar 04 2013 06:27 AM
  • Joined: 02 May 2006
On the context menu, "Open Link in New Window" and "Open Link in New Tab" are reversed from previous versions.
I've been clicking the wrong one for days and can't get used to it.
Here's how I fixed it:

* Add the following to UserChrome.css (or create UserChrome.css if it doesn't exist) -- See Mozilla website if you need help with this

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul"); /* only needed once */
#contentAreaContextMenu > * { -moz-box-ordinal-group: 2; }
#context-openlink { -moz-box-ordinal-group: 1 !important; }