Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

WYSIWYG BBCode Editor


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you use it? (27 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you use it?

  1. I use this software. (12 votes [37.50%])

    Percentage of vote: 37.50%

  2. I plan to use this sometime. (15 votes [46.88%])

    Percentage of vote: 46.88%

  3. I do not use this nor plan to use it. (5 votes [15.62%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.62%

Vote Guests cannot vote
shajul
  • Members
  • 571 posts
  • Last active: Aug 01 2015 03:45 PM
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2006
Update!
Version 0.9.4.0 (2011-04-09) :
- Check for updates and auto-updater added.
- Some bug-fixes
Posted Image
If i've seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants

my site | ~shajul | WYSIWYG BBCode Editor

shajul
  • Members
  • 571 posts
  • Last active: Aug 01 2015 03:45 PM
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2006

Version 0.9.5.1 (2011-04-15) :
- Major re-write of the parser
- Quote now accepts formated text copied from browser.
- Better parsing of styles
- Nested quotes are partially supported
- Some bug-fixes


This is a big update. Those who have not updated since version 0.9.4 should definitely update if you want to use this in a meaningful way!! The parser now handles styles better. The source is much more commented now.
If i've seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants

my site | ~shajul | WYSIWYG BBCode Editor

Learning one
  • Members
  • 1483 posts
  • Last active: Jan 02 2016 02:30 PM
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2009
hi shajul, great job!

I have one wish :);
When pasting text from another application to your editor, in more than 90% cases I want that pasted text matches destination formating. Currently, it keeps the source formating, and that's something I don't like. MS Word has a nice feature that lets user to specify default paste to:
[*:1hcvx3x9]keep source formatting[*:1hcvx3x9]match destination formating[*:1hcvx3x9]keep text onlyIt would be great if you could implement something like that...

sumon
  • Moderators
  • 1317 posts
  • Last active: Dec 05 2016 10:14 PM
  • Joined: 18 May 2010
Wow, this is quite awesome! With auto-updater and everything. To me, the reliable "Post" for Chrome made the difference. Now I just need to hotkey WYSIWYG BBCode editor and get into the habit of using it every time I write something long. So handy.

shajul
  • Members
  • 571 posts
  • Last active: Aug 01 2015 03:45 PM
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2006

I have one wish Posted Image

That should be fairly simple to implement. I'll do that in the next update.

Wow, this is quite awesome!

Glad you like it.
If i've seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants

my site | ~shajul | WYSIWYG BBCode Editor

codybear
  • Members
  • 600 posts
  • Last active: Feb 09 2015 12:41 PM
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2009
I love this app and will be recommending it to everyone I know that uses forums alot. I have one non-important thing and a semi-important request.
Non-important: basically making it so we can maximize the application. I'm not sure how hard that would be to implement with what you have done yet (may even play with the source when I have free time, which is pretty much never lol).
The semi-important thing is the ability to add custom codes. I know you have the standard codes already, but some forums I visit (vbulletin @MobileUnderground.info for example) has an indent option, and an mybb forum I visit has tons of special/custom codes for different options and I would looooove to be able to add custom codes that would only show/be available for the different types (ie vbulletin, mybb, phpbb, etc).

With those two features, I'm positive this software has TONS of potential and will be linking to your webpage in alot of my forum signatures. Thanks for this again!
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert by any means; I just try to help out where I can.

shajul
  • Members
  • 571 posts
  • Last active: Aug 01 2015 03:45 PM
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2006

Non-important

I am planning on using Attach by majkinetor, but "learning" how to use it has kept me off till now.

The semi-important thing

Have you upgraded to version 0.9.6.0? (released yesterday :) ) It already features the many new tags

Version 0.9.6.0 (2011-04-20) :
- Option to change forum style with many built-in forum styles
- Added [font], ,[sub],[sup],[s] tags

Eventually I plan to add full support for vBulletin, as I also frequent a vBulletin board.

Indent, Align are next on my list. What other "custom" tags are you interested in?
If i've seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants

my site | ~shajul | WYSIWYG BBCode Editor

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Hi,

first of all: this tool is really great ...

A few issues with your updater :
[ul]
[li]Detection of current version does not work here. Each time I start the application in the upper left corner "version" with no version number appears. After a few moments "New version available" is shown in the upper right corner. Pressing "New Version Available" a dialogue box pops up saying "Latest Version 0.9.6.0 - Current Version : <EMPTY>" (<EMPTY> means that there is no text!) - the current version is not detected correctly.
I actually DO have installed version 0.9.6.0[/li][li]Pressing "New version available" - Cancel the dialogue box - Repressing "New version available" results in an error saying:
Error:  The same variable cannot be used for more than one control.  The current thread will exit.

Specifically: vChangelog

	Line#
--->	350: Gui,8:Add,Edit,x6 y52 w460 h284 ReadOnly vChangelog
[/li]
[/ul]

On more thing: the current message is written with your Application. After copying and inserting the BBCode in this forum it seems not to be valid BBCode: see the [ul] and [li] tags which are not correct.
(My message has the following structure:
ul
li - /li
li - code - /code - /li
/ul
)

Thanks for your great piece of software

hoppfrosch
  • Members
  • 399 posts
  • Last active: Feb 26 2016 05:31 AM
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Sorry - I was the author of last mail (bugreport), but didn't notice that I'm not logged in ...

shajul
  • Members
  • 571 posts
  • Last active: Aug 01 2015 03:45 PM
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2006
@guest: Sorry for the incovenience and thanks for reporting these bugs.
I have fixed these issues. I will release this in a couple of days
Btw, could you please fill me with these details:
Operating System: 
Compiled/Source :

Edit: Updated with the bug-fixes. Please re-download.
If i've seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants

my site | ~shajul | WYSIWYG BBCode Editor

hoppfrosch
  • Members
  • 399 posts
  • Last active: Feb 26 2016 05:31 AM
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Hi Shajul,

WHOOHOOO - you're very fast with your fixes.

I wrote as guest - I did as you asked and installed the newest version.

At least the problem with not-recognizing the installed version is fixed (0.9.6.1 is shown now ...). The "repeated "New Version available"-click" Error cannot be reproduced yet, since there is no new version available at the moment - and therefore "New version available" does not appear yet :wink: ...

Testing the formatting:
[ul]
[li]bla[/li][li]Bla:
Blablabla
[/li]
[/ul]
Blabla

----
EDIT:
.... does not seem to work?
Isn't it possible to have code tags nested in lists with the current forum software?

Thanks for your fast fix!

----
2nd Edit:
Forgot following:

Operating System: Win7 Ultimate
Running WYSIWYG BBCode Editor.exe
Usually using latest AHK(_L) X64 (Currently 1.097.02) when running scripts

majkinetor
  • Moderators
  • 4512 posts
  • Last active: May 20 2019 07:41 AM
  • Joined: 24 May 2006
Amazing. The best BBCode editor I have seen.

Is there any particular reason for fixed GUI ?

BTW, options GUI looks bad on 125% Font size. You shouldn't use absolute widths when programming GUIs.

Other then that, some of the toolbar images look bad, and some show half of the 2 different images.

Quote dialog has DELETE button non working. Also, Tab can't be used to to switch to field for user name. Perhaps you can do this better. For instance, you could have a hotkey that will let you select text from any source and use a hotkey to initiate quote dialog with selected text, leaving cursor in "user name" field by default. Option to restore last username would be nice to have, since you frequently quote the same person.

Another good option would be ESC for main window, and automatic save of last input and restore on next run.

Custom hotkeys would also nice to have, but I would consider that low priority.

Cheers.
Posted Image

shajul
  • Members
  • 571 posts
  • Last active: Aug 01 2015 03:45 PM
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2006
@hoppfrosch
Please try installing fresh after uninstall first. The list feature is now working fine at my end.
And here's my Options.ini file. Please check if it matches yours
[Options]
Forum=PHPBB2
Fonts=Arial|Arial Black|Arial Narrow|Book Antiqua|Century Gothic|Comic Sans MS|Courier New|Franklin Gothic Medium|Garamond|Georgia|Impact|Lucida Console|Lucida Sans Unicode|Microsoft Sans Serif|Palatino Linotype|Tahoma|Times New Roman|Trebuchet MS|Verdana

; See Forum.xls for adding new forum
; List
;   1 - [list][ol][li] [/li][/ol][/list] OR [list][ul][li] item [/li][/ul][/list] 
;   0 - [list=1][*]item[/list]           OR [list][*]item[/list]
; Size
;   0 - in sizes (1-7)
;   1 - in pixels
; Font-Align-Youtube-Video-Strike-Table-HR-Sub
;   0 - Not supported
;   1 - Supported
[Forum]
Forums        = PHPBB2|vBulletin|Proboards|MyBB|YaBB|Phorum|IPBoard|XMB|Forumotion|MiniBB|FluxBB
; Add forum name above and features below
DefaultKeys   = List|Size|Font|Align|Youtube|Video|Strike|Table|HR|Sub 
DefaultValues =  0  | 1  | 1  | 1   | 0     | 0   | 1    | 1   | 1| 1  
PHPBB2        =  0  | 1  | 0  | 0   | 0     | 0   | 0    | 0   | 0| 0  
vBulletin     =  0  | 0  | 1  | 1   | 1     | 1   | 0    | 0   | 0| 0  
Proboards     =  0  | 0  | 1  | 1   | 0     | 0   | 1    | 1   | 1| 1  
MyBB          =  0  | 1  | 1  | 0   | 0     | 1   | 1    | 0   | 0| 0  
YaBB          =  0  | 1  | 1  | 1   | 0     | 0   | 1    | 1   | 1| 1  
Phorum        =  0  | x  | 0  | 0   | 0     | 0   | 1    | 0   | 1| 1  
IPBoard       =  0  | 0  | 1  | 1   | 1     | 1   | 1    | 1   | 0| 1  
XMB           =  0  | 0  | 1  | 0   | 0     | 0   | 1    | 0   | 0| 0  
Forumotion    =  0  | 1  | 1  | 1   | 1     | 0   | 1    | 1   | 1| 0  
MiniBB        =  0  | 1  | 0  | 0   | 0     | 0   | 0    | 0   | 0| 0  
FluxBB        =  0  | 1  | 0  | 0   | 0     | 0   | 0    | 0   | 0| 0
Also, the Update link click problem is not coming back again ;)

Is there any particular reason for fixed GUI ?

That is because i have been lazy to study the Attach library ;). I will surely take some time and learn how to set it up.

BTW, options GUI looks bad on 125% Font size. You shouldn't use absolute widths when programming GUIs.

Other then that, some of the toolbar images look bad, and some show half of the 2 different images.

I am not sure I understand what you mean. You'll have to hold my hand on this. Could you provide a screenshot or something?

The rest of the suggestions, i'll implement during the next updates. Thanks for all the feedback.
If i've seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants

my site | ~shajul | WYSIWYG BBCode Editor

majkinetor
  • Moderators
  • 4512 posts
  • Last active: May 20 2019 07:41 AM
  • Joined: 24 May 2006
In Windows 7 go to

Control Panel\Appearance and Personalization\Display

"Make it easier to read whats on your screen".

Choose 125% or anything different then 100%.

Then see the Options dialog.

BTW, Attach is used the same as Anchor with trivial differences.
Posted Image

hoppfrosch
  • Members
  • 399 posts
  • Last active: Feb 26 2016 05:31 AM
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Testing the fix for lists:

----

Bla-pre
[*:gni7dhg8]bla 1
testcode
[*:gni7dhg8]bla2
testcode2
Bla-Post

----

Seems to work ...

After reinstalling, my ini-File has as Value Options-Forum=Proboards. I changed it accordingly to your ini-File to PHPBB2 and everything was OK!

Thanks for your fast fixes!

I agree with majkinetor: support for resizing would be awesome