Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate

FileRead Word .docx. COM_L line 40 error.

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic
AHKL noob
  • Guests
  • Last active:
I am new to the AHK_L world and have run into my first real issue.

I am looking to copy the formatting, font and text content of a MS Word document into a variable and paste it in to an Outlook email. MS to MS.

The FileRead code allows me to read from the docx file, but the contents get bejuggered. Script works perfectly fine with a .txt file, and this makes sense to me because of the encoding and formatting and such.

I got COM_L today, to go with my shiny AHK_L. After reading over a dozen search results, I am still unable to find a solution to have COM copy the text/format from Word into a variable.

I keep getting a 'line 40' error, with both Ansi and Unicode COML files. Something about ppv or pvv. (Have to check, file is at work). There are several good examples online that I've found, but COM keeps giving me the line 40 error when #Included COM_L in my little script.

I've read a few posts that hint that 'com' is not needed when using ahk_L because it is built in somehow, but when I run the COM commands I've found, without the COM include, I get the unknown command error.

Thoughts :?:

jethrow
  • Moderators
  • 2854 posts
  • Last active: May 17 2017 01:57 AM
MsgBox, % ComObjGet("[color=red]<full workbook path>[/color]").Range.Text

CodeKiller
  • Members
  • 2067 posts
  • Last active: Feb 26 2016 09:30 AM
True : COM is no longer needed with AHK_L, it alreadyu includes Com support, however the syntaxe is no more the same (but close enough).

AHKL noob
  • Guests
  • Last active:
Thank you both. Will give this a shot when I get in. :)

AHKL noob
  • Guests
  • Last active:

MsgBox, % ComObjGet("[color=red]<full workbook path>[/color]").Range.Text

So now I keep getting: