Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate

AutoReplace


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic
Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005
I see similar issues in my Vista PC: in IE7 input boxes of websites seem to react too slowly, and not all typed characters get deleted by hotstrings. Sometimes the first letter of the abbreviations remains. Other applications, like MS Word, Notepad, MultiEdit still work OK.

susimenz
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Last active: Feb 04 2009 10:35 PM
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Thank you very much for that very quick reply, I very much appreciate this. UUnfortunately, this comes up in every application I have, even in Notepad, Word, Edit++ and so on.

I am really stuck with this - why did it work without any flaws for more than a year, and now things have turned down so dramatically. I wish I could find the bug, I think I have done literally every trial and error approach I could think of.

Again, thanks
Susi

Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Have you tried "SendMode Input" and "#Hotstring SI"? Maybe your defaults have changed.

susimenz
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Last active: Feb 04 2009 10:35 PM
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Yes, I had chosen that mode explicitly in the script. Also by adding the SI to the #Hostring commands, things haven't changed.

I am running out of explanations.... :cry:

It's a pity, as this was so much better than any other script I had been running all of the time. So much superior to the built-in spellchecker from MS.

Cheers
Susi

Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005
With the Task Manager you could check if there is a background task running, eating up CPU cycles. Indexing the disk, background disk defragmenting, antivirus scanning can all slow down your PC. Of course, a virus or other malware could also be active. Even the zero configuration utility (periodic search for wireless networks) makes web applications to slow down. Too little RAM (less than 1GB for XP) can also be responsible. If the disk drive developed bad sectors, Windows switches back to a slower access mode, slowing down everything (a check for errors could mark the bad sectors and prevent these problems). Even a badly fragmented disk, or the lack of free disk space slows down everything (clean up and defragment the drive)...

susimenz
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Last active: Feb 04 2009 10:35 PM
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008
I might have found the issue - I am not yet sure and don't want to claim success yet, but I am typing these sentences here without any of the first letters being shown twice. Even the word where it most often happened doesn't seem to be an issue anymore (please apologize that I am typing it here multiple times):

you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you you

:-)

It was something I never thought about, and only your suggestion to look at the process explorer triggered an idea of mine to look at my processor via a software called CPUID as well. And then it came to me: when we purchased the computer about a year ago, my bf did slightly overclock it by 3-5%. That never was any problem anywhere, but maybe the computer is aging and thus doesn't like that too much anymore.

Consequently, we put all overclocking down to the normal speed of CPU/Bus etc, and ..... Tadaaaaa.... No more problems!!!!

THANK YOU VERY MUCH INDEED! I hope that this was really the driver, but it looks very promising so far.

Cheers & Kisses
Susi

ahknice
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Hello guys. I downloaded auto correct ahk from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia: ... r_machines. I saw it was mentioned but not sure if it was considered.

Well the reason for my post is because I found Lazlos script integrated in this script. I found from Lazlo that for this to work

[quote]
The first 3 lines belong to the auto-execute section of the script (top), the Hoty subroutine has to be in the end.
[/quote]

http://www.autohotke...pic9689-15.html
keys = abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
Loop Parse, keys
    HotKey ~+%A_LoopField%, Hoty
Hoty:
    CapCount := SubStr(A_PriorHotKey,2,1)="+" && A_TimeSincePriorHotkey<999 ? CapCount+1 : 1
    if CapCount = 2
        SendInput % "{BS}" . SubStr(A_ThisHotKey,3,1)
    else if CapCount = 3
        SendInput % "{Left}{BS}+" . SubStr(A_PriorHotKey,3,1) . "{Right}"
Return
[/quote]

Montu
  • Members
  • 142 posts
  • Last active: Jan 01 2010 03:10 AM
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2009
I tried this with Word2007 but it didnot create any spell.ahk file on my desktop

please help :(

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Hi,
Is there a standard process other than the forum to submit modification requests to the autocorrect script?

e.g. I noticed what I think is a bug in that when I want to type "developers", the autocorrect script will mistakenly fix it to be "developrs". I can make the change locally to the :*:develope::develop section, but that doesn't help others.

TIA,
Dan

--Stash--
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Last active: Apr 28 2010 06:38 PM
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2010

Hi,
Is there a standard process other than the forum to submit modification requests to the autocorrect script?

e.g. I noticed what I think is a bug in that when I want to type "developers", the autocorrect script will mistakenly fix it to be "developrs". I can make the change locally to the :*:develope::develop section, but that doesn't help others.

TIA,
Dan


This is a good catch - what's the fix?

Obviously I can comment out that line, but then you would lose the rest of the functionality, which I'd rather not.

Thinking about it, wouldn't this script make more sense to put on either a wiki or something like GitHub? Any objections if I did this?

Chicken Pie 4 Tea
  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Last active: Dec 12 2014 06:46 PM
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Is this script only supposed to work with word?
I am trying it by typing into notepad2 and nothing happens - I mean I can type lots of spolling mistooks and they are not corrected.
do you need to activate it first with a hotkey? as i cant find one in the script for that.

poirmw
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Autocorrect does not correct all errors. It corrects standard typos such as "amd" when you mean "and," or "teh" when you mean "the," as well as a host of other typos. Have a look at the script and you will see how the script functions and how the corrections are made. If you want it to correct "mistooks" you will have to tell it what you want in its place, and once you tell it, it will always make the correction when it is loaded, and when you spell "mistooks."

If you are looking for a script that corrects errors, then maybe you want to look at "TinySpell." "TypingAid" or "Let Me Type" may also be of use, but they are not designed to correct misspellings _per se_. They are designed to speed up typing by suggesting the possibly intended word.

-----
Is this script only supposed to work with word? I am trying it by typing into notepad2 and nothing happens - I mean I can type lots of spolling mistooks and they are not corrected. do you need to activate it first with a hotkey? as i cant find one in the script for that.[/quote]

Chicken Pie 4 Tea
  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Last active: Dec 12 2014 06:46 PM
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2009
I see, teh was corrected but not amd
but i see what you mean - thanks for reply

poirmw
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
"amd" was not replaced by "and" because your script was not modified to take account of "amd." Modify the script accordingly and you will see that "amd" will become "and" as you continue to type.

Dewi Morgan
  • Members
  • 191 posts
  • Last active: Jun 07 2015 04:02 AM
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2005
Replying to an aaaancient question, I know, but...

As a further improvement, would it be possible to add the following without causing ambiguity/overlap with any legitimate English words?:

:?:blity::bility
:?:blities::blities


I cannot find any words ending in these terms.

Was there any reason to omit the following?:

[...]
::january::January
::february::February
::march::March
::april::April
; ::may::May  ; Disabled because it matches the common word "may".
::june::June
::july::July
::august::August
::september::September
::october::October
::novemeber::November
::december::December
I temporarily put them back in, but we can discuss pro's and con's.


I felt it May be a problem for those who March to the beat of more August drums.

Once three of the months were removed for conflicts with lowercase words, keeping the other nine seemed silly.

Mostly, though, I found the correction more annoying than useful. Most other things I can have happen in any window, and don't care if they affect filenames, programming code, etc, because they are almost always useful. These, I found, were more often a hindrance and an annoyance, than a useful feature.

But I also admit I may not be typical, there.

Also the hotstring for November is typoed.


And yeah - I failed miserably to maintain it, and I apologize :( I retract my volunteeration, since I'm clearly too crap to do it.
Yet another hotkeyer.