Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

[Solved] Intermittant VBA Code Issue

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic
Carcophan
  • Members
  • 1578 posts
  • Last active: Nov 27 2013 06:46 PM
Posted this on AccessForums.com already, figured I'd try here too since many of you have experience in this field. And I like ya'll better :)

Hello all.

This is my first post and my first real issue that I’ve been unable to resolve without a simple search.

I am new to VBA, SQL and this stuff in general. I have a little experience, but am still learning as I go.

I tend to be long-winded, so I apologize in advance. I try to be clear and descriptive. Sorry if I did not word my issue correctly, or if I am confusing. I would be happy to clarify anything further. 

[u][b]The background:[/b][/u]
I inherited a legacy MS Access database. It was originally a single file that was later split to a BE/FE on a shared network drive. We can have between three and thirty people online at a time. 

We kept having issues (as you can imagine) and we transitioned to using SQL 2008 R2 and a MS Access Front End. I am trying to clean up and improve the entire thing, but in steps. 

[u][b]The Front End:[/b][/u]
The main form is a basic ‘Search Form’, which we use to find and load job information. Depending on job status itself, a ‘pre’ or a ‘post’ form will load with the jobs information.

You can use the Search Form and search by an account number, project name, site address etc. Each search type has a corresponding button, each button searches only within the desired column (address, account number etc) and only within either the “pre” or “post”. I can use the same account number, and load the ‘pre’ form and modify data, and also load the same account in the sold form, and modify data.