Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

AHK_L / COM confusion

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic
edison
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Last active: May 10 2015 11:15 PM

Hi all,

I've been playing with AHK for a few months now and don't know how I lived without it prior.

That said, there's a number of things that are rather confusing to me and I'm hoping to get them cleared up so I can get back to writing scripts. I wouldn't be surprised if these questions haven't already been answered, but I have scoured the forums and have ended up even more confused.

Here's my understanding so far. Please correct any misinformation.

AutoHotKey_L *was* an improved branch/version of the orignal version of AutoHotKey, but has since been merged into the trunk. Any references to AutoHotKey_L or AHK_L should now be taken to mean the latest version of AHK (v1.1.09.03 as of this writing) and as such, the canonical documentation can be found here: http://l.autohotkey.net/docs/

I also understand that there was a crash of the forums around August of 2012 and that many of the scripts archived on the site were lost. Many of those scripts have been recovered through various mechanisms (Google cache, user/author re-ups, etc).

I'm still a bit confused about COM support.

From what I've read, COM was originally supported by a COM.ahk library script. There was also a COM_L.ahk (referenced in the same post), which was supported by AutoHotKey_L. Subsequent posts on that thread indicate that COM support was merged into AHK_L prior to the AHK/AHK_L merge, which means it should be available out-of-the-box in the current version of AHK.

Is this true? And if so, with the now-built-in COM support, do you need the original COM.ahk or COM_L.ahk scripts? If so, where can they be found?

This all stems from getting errors about a call to the noneistent function "COM_Error()".