A wishlist 15 years in the making.

Propose new features and changes
MC256

A wishlist 15 years in the making.

28 Mar 2024, 01:49

I've been using AutoHotkey in-depth for 15 years. Love it. This isn't a complaint!
I wanted to share my personal wishlist that I've collected over this time.
This is my first post. Sorry for the wall of text. It is what it is, I guess.

1. Add an option to send OutputDebug messages to the AutoHotkey GUI

(The GUI is the Window that's accessible via right-click on the tray icon, or if you run ListLines
(etc). The output should update automatically and not require manually refreshing. In my experience,
the primary tool people use for quickly experimenting, troubleshooting, and learning new AHK
features is MsgBox. However, because AutoHotkey has such a focus on interacting with GUI
applications, popping a MsgBox often breaks the flow of the script, confounding troubleshooting by
breaking application focus (for example). Yes, I know about all the available IDEs, fancy editors,
and DbgView. The new AHK LSP extenensions for VSCode are amazing, too (if you haven't tried them, be
sure to!). Although I have so much software development experience, I still often find it a hassle
to break out the debugger-capable software just to troubleshoot or experiment with a few simple
things. Another limitation of MsgBox is that, once you have left two or three "Debug MsgBoxes" in
your script, dismissing them gets annoying while testing (not to mention potentially breaking the
logic due to window focus switching.) So you comment them out. Then you realize you actually wanted
to see what was in one of them, so you comment it back in, and dance around it. And now that we have
refactor->rename in VSCode (which will not rename variables in commented-out code), it exascerbates
this, as your commented-out msgbox debugging statements get out of date with your renames.

I seriously think that the lack of an integrated realtime "print statement viewer" is a major