Help file crashing on windows 10?

Report problems with documented functionality
incubescence

Help file crashing on windows 10?

18 Feb 2016, 22:18

Hi everyone... I've been using AHK for several years now, and I recently got a laptop with windows 10 on it. It works just fine... but when I have it launch the help file... it hiccups badly. Sometimes it will lock up right away, sometimes it waits until I start typing in the search box, sometimes I actually get to the article I'm looking for. Eventually though, it always locks up and I have to kill the process. When I'm just editing scripts it works fine.
lexikos

Re: Help file crashing on windows 10?

19 Feb 2016, 00:03

The help file is not a program, and therefore cannot crash. It is just a collection of HTML and related files in a compressed archive.

HTML Help Viewer can crash. If someone can come up with a specific change to AutoHotkey.chm that prevents the viewer from crashing, I'd be happy to consider it. Otherwise, there's nothing I can do about a bug in Microsoft's program (except suggest that you use the online documentation).

Btw, I have never personally seen HTML Help Viewer crash on Windows 10. As far as I can recall, I have not seen it crash on 8.1, 7, Vista or XP either.
Helpy

19 Feb 2016, 16:41

You can try another viewer, if you google KchmViewer Portable you will find it on portableapps - one advantage it has over the windows standard viewer is that is has tabs.
nnnik

20 Feb 2016, 06:29

I'm having troubles when Scite calls it sometimes in Win 8.1.
Seems like that always happens when I have a Keyword selected that's not actually present in the helpfile.
Recommends AHK Studio
FlaviaMichael

22 Apr 2016, 03:30

After upgrading from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10, my file explorer simply keeps crashing when navigating in folders.

Example: