ahk_u32 zip - Could not launch file: AU3_Spy.exe Topic is solved

Report problems with documented functionality
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 6600
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

ahk_u32 zip - Could not launch file: AU3_Spy.exe

22 Aug 2017, 13:18

When launching "Window Spy" in the tray menu. It complains:
Could not launch file:
"E:\Files\sub\portableapps\AutoHotkey\AU3_Spy.exe"
Shouldn't it being using the present file "ActiveWindowInfo.ahk" instead?

Tested with v1.1.26.01 and v1.1.26.00 zip u32 versions.
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 3.00 GHz, 16GB DDR4 3200 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
User avatar
Stevoisiak
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Aug 2017, 14:19
GitHub: Stevoisiak
Contact:

Re: ahk_u32 zip - Could not launch file: AU3_Spy.exe

28 Sep 2017, 14:24

Window Spy's executable is only included in the installer version of AutoHotkey.
You can resolve this issue by extracting AU3_Spy.exe from AHK's installer and putting it in your root directory.

(See What is AU3_Spy.exe? Where can I find it?)
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 6600
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: ahk_u32 zip - Could not launch file: AU3_Spy.exe

28 Sep 2017, 20:16

I know the installer contains the AU3_Spy.exe... It's ActiveWindowInfo.ahk compiled and renamed as AU3_Spy.exe.
The source is available here: https://github.com/Lexikos/AutoHotkey-R ... owInfo.ahk

However, the zip release version only has ActiveWindowInfo.ahk, while the installer version only has AU3_Spy.exe
This is inconsistent.
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 3.00 GHz, 16GB DDR4 3200 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
User avatar
Stevoisiak
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Aug 2017, 14:19
GitHub: Stevoisiak
Contact:

Re: ahk_u32 zip - Could not launch file: AU3_Spy.exe

29 Sep 2017, 11:27

However, the zip release version only has ActiveWindowInfo.ahk, while the installer version only has AU3_Spy.exe
This is inconsistent.
Do you mean that Window Spy, AU3_Spy.exe, and ActiveWindowInfo.ahk are all the same program?

...that explains so much.
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 6600
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: ahk_u32 zip - Could not launch file: AU3_Spy.exe

29 Sep 2017, 22:00

Yes haha ;)
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 3.00 GHz, 16GB DDR4 3200 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
lexikos
Posts: 6201
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: ahk_u32 zip - Could not launch file: AU3_Spy.exe  Topic is solved

27 Dec 2017, 19:46

WindowSpy.ahk is used in v1.1.27.00.
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 6600
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: ahk_u32 zip - Could not launch file: AU3_Spy.exe

28 Dec 2017, 11:11

Awesome! :+1:
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 3.00 GHz, 16GB DDR4 3200 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests