KeyboardHook installing itself without apparent reason

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
pneumatic
Posts: 112
Joined: 05 Dec 2016, 01:51

KeyboardHook installing itself without apparent reason

26 Sep 2017, 01:12

The first instance of the below script has no keyboard hook, however any more instances have their keyboard hook installed.

just me
Posts: 4865
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 08:51
Location: Germany

Re: KeyboardHook installing itself without apparent reason

26 Sep 2017, 08:42

I guess that AHK uses the hook because the hotkey has been registered already by the first instance.
Remaining with AHK 1.1.25.02 until v2 will become beta.
lexikos
Posts: 5457
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: KeyboardHook installing itself without apparent reason

26 Nov 2017, 22:45

just me is correct; you can't register the same hotkey multiple times.

Even if the reason is not apparent, AutoHotkey using the keyboard hook to implement a hotkey is not a bug. If the system denies hotkey registration for any reason, or the hotkey is of a type which can't be registered, the hook is used. AutoHotkey inherently has no control over whether registration succeeds.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blad4, holahapi, SkrillexAkaCraft, Yahoo [Bot], ZeroProxy and 23 guests