mouse hotkeys stop working after some time and memory usage

Report problems with documented functionality
Owyn
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Jan 2015, 11:52

mouse hotkeys stop working after some time and memory usage

22 Jan 2015, 08:44

ahk hotkeys stopped working at all after some heavy RAM & paging file usage

this bug was in 1.13 and still present in 1.19

F1 hotkey still works and sends F11

058: Send,{F11} (0.01)
059: Return (205.16)


but there is just no sigh of mouse hotkeys in the log (neither in recently executed or in key history)

Keybd hook: yes
Mouse hook: yes
Enabled Timers: 0 of 0 ()
Interrupted threads: 0
Paused threads: 0 of 0 (0 layers)
Modifiers (GetKeyState() now) =
Modifiers (Hook's Logical) =
Modifiers (Hook's Physical) =
Prefix key is down: no
70 03B h d 0.94 F1
7A 057 i d 0.00 F11
7A 057 i u 0.00 F11
70 03B s u 0.11 F1

and no sight of mouse being clicked, no mouse1, no mouse2 or mouse4 & 5, no even in windows hotkey should not be used at all - it just doesn't log mouse clicks anymore.

Type Off? Level Running Name
-------------------------------------------------------------------
m-hook XButton1 & WheelUp
m-hook XButton1 & WheelDown
m-hook XButton1 UP
m-hook XButton1
m-hook XButton2 UP
m-hook XButton1 & LButton
m-hook XButton1 & RButton
k-hook F1
k-hook Backspace
k-hook w
k-hook s
k-hook a
k-hook Left
m-hook XButton2
k-hook d
k-hook Right


full script:

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] (Script.ahk)GeSHi © Codebox Plus



made a dump with both task manager and windbg using .dump /ma, not sure if it contains personal information, gonna upload it here or send you to an address you'd write if it could help.
Owyn
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Jan 2015, 11:52

Re: mouse hotkeys stop working after some time and memory usage

23 Dec 2016, 19:32

ok, bug is still there and seems to be well known among AHK users cuz I've found a fix "launch AHK script as admin" in the internet, can't this be fixed so it'd work without admin rights fine?...
lexikos
Posts: 6128
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: mouse hotkeys stop working after some time and memory usage

23 Dec 2016, 21:06

I don't believe what you've found is a bug.

Unless some other application which runs as admin is interfering, I see no reason for running as admin to have any effect on this sort of issue.

AutoHotkey registers keyboard and mouse hooks to be notified of keyboard and mouse input by the OS. If the OS - or some other application's hook - chooses not to call the hooks, it will appear to AutoHotkey that the keyboard/mouse input never happened in the first place.

You can try to avoid "heavy RAM & paging file usage" or other conditions that might cause AutoHotkey to become unresponsive. You can also try increasing LowLevelHooksTimeout.
The hook procedure should process a message in less time than the data entry specified in the LowLevelHooksTimeout value in the following registry key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop

The value is in milliseconds. If the hook procedure times out, the system passes the message to the next hook. However, on Windows 7 and later, the hook is silently removed without being called. There is no way for the application to know whether the hook is removed.
Source: LowLevelMouseProc callback function (Windows)
Owyn
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Jan 2015, 11:52

Re: mouse hotkeys stop working after some time and memory usage

24 Dec 2016, 07:31

I've upgraded my PC since the 1st post of this thread to have 16 gb ram and no paging file...
guest3456
Posts: 2392
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 10:31

Re: mouse hotkeys stop working after some time and memory usage

24 Dec 2016, 09:54

Owyn wrote:I've upgraded my PC since the 1st post of this thread to have 16 gb ram and no paging file...


maybe try using something as a paging file/virtual memory. having none at all doesn't seem like a good idea

Guest

Re: mouse hotkeys stop working after some time and memory usage

20 Mar 2018, 09:40

I've had this issue with a script that disables mouse buttons and redirects input elsewhere using AHKHID. It happens intermittently. The script also has BlockInput, MouseMove but that keeps blocked even after mouse buttons fail. The script runs as admin.
Owyn
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Jan 2015, 11:52

Re: mouse hotkeys stop working after some time and memory usage

20 Mar 2018, 12:57

hmm, launching script as admin seem to have fixed this for me

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests