Ask The Experts: Tab Stop Size

Talk about anything
jballi

Ask The Experts: Tab Stop Size

29 Aug 2017, 18:29

Preface
This is problem that I've been working on for several years now. It goes in cycles. I come across a need to figure it out. I search on Google. I find nothing. I search on Bing. I find nothing. I update my search and try again. Nothing. I give up in frustration. Repeat a few weeks or few months later.

The Requirement/Problem
I need to figure out how to calculate the size of a tab stop for a particular GUI control.

For a few GUI controls like the Edit and ListBox controls, the default tab stop size is known. It's the width of 8 average characters. In this instance, "average characters" is also known as "dialog base units". 8 dialog base units is equal to 32 dialog template units. These units are known and can be calculated.

For other GUI controls like the Text control, the default (and only) tab stop size appears to be dynamic, depending on the font. For some fonts, the tab stop size is ~32 dialog template units, for other fonts, it's 24, or 20, or... it can be anything. I'm not even sure the tab stop size for these controls is measured in dialog template units.

Obviously, Microsoft knows how to calculate this information, but I haven't been able to find any documentation on how the tab stop size is calculated for these GUI controls. I recently figured out how to get this information by measuring it but it would be nice to be able to calculate it.

Any help would be appreciated.
jeeswg

Re: Ask The Experts: Tab Stop Size

29 Aug 2017, 20:16

One possibility would be to calculate the text size for strings experimenting with different flags for DrawText/DrawTextEx.

Code: Select all

;DT_EDITCONTROL := 0x2000
;DT_NOPREFIX := 0x800 ;ampersands
;DT_CALCRECT := 0x400
;DT_NOCLIP := 0x100
;DT_TABSTOP := 0x80
;DT_EXPANDTABS := 0x40
;DT_SINGLELINE := 0x20
;DT_WORDBREAK := 0x10