Newbie question: WASD keys, need a bit of help and pointers

Ask gaming related questions (AHK v1.1 and older)
Shadrach

Newbie question: WASD keys, need a bit of help and pointers

18 Nov 2017, 08:19

Hey,
pretty much a total newbie to AHK - I know basic programming and had a look at the documentation, and although a bit obtuse, I think I can manage.
However, my first project is a basic WASD key script for a game that uses only the arrow-keys for movement. Should be simple enough, but I've run into some issues and not sure if I've solved them the best way.

I am doing a simple map of WASD to the arrow keys. First I started with a simple Send, {Down} but apparently it didn't take, there seemed to be movement but it seemed to be slow, like only one keypress. I tested in another application (notepad) and pressing S did send downarrow commands while being held down. If I changed to Send,{Up down} it just held the key down (makes sense though).

So what finally worked was this:

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive The Operational Art of War
w::
   Send,{Up down}
   KeyWait, w
   Send,{Up up}
Return
a::
   Send,{Left down}
   KeyWait, a
   Send,{Left up}
Return
s::
   Send,{Down down}
   KeyWait, s
   Send,{Down up}
Return
d::
   Send,{Right down}
   KeyWait, d
   Send,{Right up}
Return
#IfWinActive
It works, but not sure if that's the recommended way to do it? I've found several examples but they seem even more complicated than what I'm trying to achieve.

I think (a theory) is that the game has some sort of keyboard code that interferes with AHK in some way.

Generally it's a bit weird, for instance after I remapped 'A' I thought I needed to remap the original A to Ctrl+A and then send A. But for some reason I didn't need to, Ctrl+A did what A originally did, some sort of 'fallback', I dunno.
Nextron

Re: Newbie question: WASD keys, need a bit of help and pointers

18 Nov 2017, 09:24

You're better off to use remappings: w::Up, etc..
Shadrach

18 Nov 2017, 09:52