Help w/ Making a Script

Ask gaming related questions (AHK v1.1 and older)
Alucxrd

Help w/ Making a Script

15 Jan 2018, 05:41

I was wondering how you created the type of script that looped an action until you finally pressed a key to stop it. Specifically one that would grind for you without you having to do anything. I'm not very good at coding though :trollface: so I wouldn't know how to create this type of script. :terms:
My idea is that the script presses the same key repeatedly and then holds down a key, then loops this process. I've tried it but it just ended up shaking my screen and closing the game I tried to do it on. :facepalm:
Please help me, AHK Community! :D
eventhorizon

Re: Help w/ Making a Script

16 Jan 2018, 02:15

here is an example of how it might be done... this uses an untitled windows notepad window as the target window. I added the comments so you could see what the thought process was behind each statement. Scripting is not a spectator sport though. You have to actually think it through, try to program it, and get your hands dirty to learn. Mistakes are not a bad thing cause they show you what works and what doesn't.

Code: Select all

tgtwin = Untitled ;<- for the notepad window
settitlematchmode,2 ;<- so you don't need the whole nopad window title
detecthiddenwindows On ;<- so the script can detect the target window even if hidden
return

; example: loop the 1 key press 1 to start looping and press again to stop looping
; this script uses an untitled windows notepad window as the target to send the 1 key
; to. if the window becomes inactive or the 1 key is pressed again the script stops
; temporarily until the 1 key is pressed again and the notepad window is active
; to stop the script entirely press the esc key
; the message box at the end and the tooltip windows are there to let you know what
; the script is doing as it does it.
$1::
	keywait, 1
	looping := !looping ;<- toggle for looping the key