Best vJoy & UCR config for Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance? Topic is solved

Ask gaming related questions (AHK v1.1 and older)
Atsix

Best vJoy & UCR config for Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance?

27 Jun 2017, 23:07

Hi everyone,
I have installed Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance, and since the game requires a joystick, I'm using vJoy and UCR to play it with mouse and keyboard, but I'm having some problems. At first, I was able to correctly map the mouse's X and Y axis to the virtual joystick, but the ship kept "rotating" even when I wasn't touching the mouse. I was able to fix this issue by disabling rudders on the option menu, but then I felt that the ship was moving a bit too slowly. I don't know if it's supposed to move this way or if the rudders should be enabled (it's my first time playing a Star Wars flight sim), so I was wondering if anybody here is also using vJoy and UCR to play the game with a mouse, and what is the best configuration to play it correctly.

If someone could help me, I would be really thankful.
Noesis

Re: Best vJoy & UCR config for Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance?  Topic is solved

28 Jun 2017, 08:12

Nothing to do with UCR, but something that may be causing you to feel like the ship is moving slowly, and by this, I take this moving to mean turning slowly, the ships velocity in the X-Wing/Tie Fighter series of games does seem slow in many respects, at least that's my perception.

Anyway, in Alliance, the throttle setting is important, you turn fastest when throttle is set to 1/3 i.e. 33%, and it's severely noticeable compared to any other throttle setting (FYI speed isn't important in this, just the actual % throttle setting so you don't have to wait for speed to reach what it should be at 33%, if you were previously traveling at say 100% throttle for example).