Can AHK be considered a bonafide programming language?

Discussion about the AutoHotkey Foundation and this website
skribb

Can AHK be considered a bonafide programming language?

25 Jan 2016, 19:44

I was thinking the other day about AHK as a script and lingo. Since it is based on AutoIt wchich is more like a macro scripting tool, AHK in my opinion is very much a fully fledged lingo, since from experience I have downloaded certain apps of the net, only to discover in teh readme or something that it was written purely in AHK.

I always say if I became a programming tutor I'd always start teaching using AHK because it really does most everyhing an actual lingo can do, albeit much more straightforward and easy-to-grok syntax, no to mention the incredibly detailed FAQ with clear examples of every type of command. I mean, I started studying VB.net in high school, which is also very straigth forward in its ways and quite easy to get started with, but not as much "fun" as learning AHK is.

So IMO, AHK is a language, which I htink should be touted more and more.

And to the question, is it legtimate, according to you, to call aHK a language?
victorel

Re: Can AHK be considered a bonafide programming language?

10 Jun 2016, 08:17

In other languages, if something is easy to do for beginners, then it has no value (think of "Hello World" program...or a loop that does nothing but add 1+1 a 1000 times), while to get something of value to you, you need to learn a lot first.

And in AHK, you can get value/usefulness, for your present needs, with very little studying:
- make your life easier with hotkeys for repetitive actions
- make scripts that tweak the behavior of your apps and OS, that you use on a daily basis
- much more

So, yes, AHK is very rewarding to the novice, and therefore suitable as a first language.
tank

10 Jul 2016, 15:11

http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/P/program ... guage.html
I cant see anything that is defined here that does not apply to ahk