Page 1 of 1

exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 11 Aug 2014, 08:12
by IRBaboon
hey there,

the same question as every year. is there existing an automatic way to decompress and decompile mpress'ed ahk Unicode32 PE files since version 1.1.15.00? Or do I have to disassemble it by hand? And no, I don't have the uncompiled script file that I could easy compile again, cause I made changes to it and don't have a backup but I want to compare my code to find the problem. And yes, you could PM me a link to decompiler since there may be people who think their code is protected by compressing it. :roll:

thank you!

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 00:06
by joedf
AHK Decompiler by IsNull using the "payload" method. I modified it a little bit since the GUI was broken.
It works perfectly. Here you go! :thumbup:
AHK_decompiler.zip
(14.47 KiB) Downloaded 8760 times
or http://ge.tt/8zMaRUW1/v/6

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 00:37
by empardopo
Any file is possible to decompile? Is it possible to compile a protected exe?
I think in older versions of ahk2exe was an option to add a password to compile.
Thanks!

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 00:43
by joedf
Well "basically" the /nodecompile and /password options were "placebos".
AutoHotkey isn't technically "compiled" since it is an interpreted language. Scripts are essentially packed with AutoHotkey, and that's it.
The only "real" form of protection is code obfuscation. The simple answer is yes, all AutoHotkey executables can be decompiled.

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 06:51
by empardopo
:D
But those options are active, at this moment?

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 07:25
by fincs
For reference: myAutToExe - decompiler for old AHK 1.0 scripts (just drop the executable to the program window). Bypasses passwords and /NoDecompile (and even HotkeyCamo IIRC). Those options have always been useless.

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 07:29
by guest3456
i don't think its good practice to openly reference or link to that

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 08:15
by nnnik
I tend to disagree.

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 08:55
by fincs
I also disagree (and replied to your PM).

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 09:14
by Blackholyman
I have known and used the payload method more then ones and I think that everyone needs to know with as little searching as possible becouse it needs to be known so peeple don't belive something thats just not true... Thats the only way peeple will know not to store/share compiled scripts with privat Info in them.

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 12 Aug 2014, 12:26
by joedf
How i see it. If you choose AutoHotkey, you're basically choosing open source. ;)

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 16 Aug 2014, 10:33
by IRBaboon
Thank you very much joedf!
Meanwhile I disassambled it by hand since it is no big deal, but it is still good to have an actual unpacker.
As I said "And yes, you could PM me a link to decompiler since there may be people who think their code is protected by compressing it.",
I tried to prevent this security discussion.. ;) However, thanks for the file and fincs for the reference!

Greetings

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 16 Aug 2014, 10:43
by joedf
No problem.
Cheers!

PS: I respect people's opinion's about FOSS/Closed Source, but I am not going to censor information that has already been said. Again, If you want to protect your code, obfuscation is your best bet... for now.. i think... :P

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 04 Sep 2014, 03:11
by MyDream
joedf wrote:No problem.
Cheers!

PS: I respect people's opinion's about FOSS/Closed Source, but I am not going to censor information that has already been said. Again, If you want to protect your code, obfuscation is your best bet... for now.. i think... :P
To me, I only wanted a little protection over the script, so I take/find whatever available and addded some extra ingredient into it too. ;)

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 10 Sep 2014, 03:17
by empardopo

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 10 Sep 2014, 11:50
by guest3456
empardopo wrote:I thought it was mandatory to provide the source code ...
You are misunderstanding

AHK itself is licensed under the GPL, so if you sell AHK, then you would need to provide the source code to your new version.
https://github.com/Lexikos/AutoHotkey_L

Your own source code that you write (whatever the language) can be licensed however you see fit
http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-faq.html#IfInterpreterIsGPL wrote: If a programming language interpreter is released under the GPL, does that mean programs written to be interpreted by it must be under GPL-compatible licenses? (#IfInterpreterIsGPL)

When the interpreter just interprets a language, the answer is no. The interpreted program, to the interpreter, is just data; a free software license like the GPL, based on copyright law, cannot limit what data you use the interpreter on. You can run it on any data (interpreted program), any way you like, and there are no requirements about licensing that data to anyone.

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 11 Sep 2014, 06:23
by empardopo
I'm sorry I was wrong.
Thanks!

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 30 Aug 2017, 09:36
by dcruisu
joedf wrote:AHK Decompiler by IsNull using the "payload" method. I modified it a little bit since the GUI was broken.
It works perfectly. Here you go! :thumbup:
AHK_decompiler.zip
or http://ge.tt/8zMaRUW1/v/6
Hi, I got an error at line 4, global debug:=false, there are some fix for that?

Re: exe2ahk since 1.1.15.00

Posted: 09 Sep 2017, 14:06
by joedf
What is the executable?