Copy issue with code boxes.

Discuss issues and requests related with the forum software
Helgef
Posts: 3027
Joined: 17 Jul 2016, 01:02
Contact:

Copy issue with code boxes.

05 Sep 2017, 16:21

Hello.
I cannot copy the contents of a Codebox by pressing ^c, not physically pressing, and not sending via send command. Right-click and select copy from menu works. I can copy text from the post.
Try it,

My error. or forum error?

Cheers.
wolf_II
Posts: 1956
Joined: 08 Feb 2015, 20:55

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

05 Sep 2017, 16:33

I had that problem a few weeks ago too. Right now, Ctrl+C does not work with Opera on Win10. But it works with FireFox. IMHO, it's caused by browser type and version.
I did nothing in the matter, and the problem disappeared one day. At least for me using FireFox.

My past problem may have had different causes than yours, but for Right now: Ctrl+C works in FireFox, but not in Opera.
Helgef
Posts: 3027
Joined: 17 Jul 2016, 01:02
Contact:

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

06 Sep 2017, 01:29

Thanks for replying wolf_II :wave:
I'm using Opera too. :think:

Cheers.
User avatar
derz00
Posts: 489
Joined: 02 Feb 2016, 17:54
GitHub: derz00
Location: Middle of the round cube

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

06 Sep 2017, 09:55

Hi,

I downloaded Opera to test. On Windows 10.

Clicking [Select All] then ^c does not copy. But manually dragging over the text with the mouse to select, then ^c does copy it.

Hope you all can find a solution. :D
try it and see
...
User avatar
tank
Posts: 2295
Joined: 28 Sep 2013, 22:15
Facebook: charlie.simmons.7334
Google: ttnnkkrr
GitHub: ttnnkkrr
Location: Louisville KY
Contact:

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

06 Sep 2017, 10:34

does the text highlight?
We are troubled on every side‚ yet not distressed; we are perplexed‚
but not in despair; Persecuted‚ but not forsaken; cast down‚ but not destroyed;
https://www.facebook.com/ahkscript.org
If you have forum suggestions please submit a pull request
Helgef
Posts: 3027
Joined: 17 Jul 2016, 01:02
Contact:

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

06 Sep 2017, 12:09

Thank you derz00, indeed, with manual selection ^c works.
@ tank, yes, [Select all] highlights the text.
Helgef
Posts: 3027
Joined: 17 Jul 2016, 01:02
Contact:

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

07 Sep 2017, 02:18

Additional info. It seems that although the text is highlighted, by [Select all], it is not focused (!?). If I click [Select all] and then make a small click-drag and release the selection in the code-box, then ^c works.
User avatar
tank
Posts: 2295
Joined: 28 Sep 2013, 22:15
Facebook: charlie.simmons.7334
Google: ttnnkkrr
GitHub: ttnnkkrr
Location: Louisville KY
Contact:

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

07 Sep 2017, 07:19

@Helgef particularly helpful. I can try and implement an opera patch based on that
We are troubled on every side‚ yet not distressed; we are perplexed‚
but not in despair; Persecuted‚ but not forsaken; cast down‚ but not destroyed;
https://www.facebook.com/ahkscript.org
If you have forum suggestions please submit a pull request
User avatar
tank
Posts: 2295
Joined: 28 Sep 2013, 22:15
Facebook: charlie.simmons.7334
Google: ttnnkkrr
GitHub: ttnnkkrr
Location: Louisville KY
Contact:

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

08 Sep 2017, 11:42

I spent a couple hours on thistoday. I am not finding an Opera solution. I find a few similar complaints but the answers come in the form of only w3c supported features. I dont want to install Opera(HATE IT) do any of you hardcore Opera users know of any patches for similar problems of selected text not being copyable?
We are troubled on every side‚ yet not distressed; we are perplexed‚
but not in despair; Persecuted‚ but not forsaken; cast down‚ but not destroyed;
https://www.facebook.com/ahkscript.org
If you have forum suggestions please submit a pull request
User avatar
tank
Posts: 2295
Joined: 28 Sep 2013, 22:15
Facebook: charlie.simmons.7334
Google: ttnnkkrr
GitHub: ttnnkkrr
Location: Louisville KY
Contact:

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

10 Sep 2017, 19:00

I have applied a potential fix please let me know
We are troubled on every side‚ yet not distressed; we are perplexed‚
but not in despair; Persecuted‚ but not forsaken; cast down‚ but not destroyed;
https://www.facebook.com/ahkscript.org
If you have forum suggestions please submit a pull request
User avatar
jeeswg
Posts: 4577
Joined: 19 Dec 2016, 01:58
Location: UK

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 00:30

I'm using Internet Explorer 11 on Windows 7, and it seems that if I click 'Select all' or 'Expand', it does nothing, and navigates to the top of the page, this may have only happened in the last one or two days.
Last edited by jeeswg on 11 Sep 2017, 07:02, edited 1 time in total.
wolf_II
Posts: 1956
Joined: 08 Feb 2015, 20:55

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 02:50

@tank: Your latest change did break the selection in FF for me, means: using Win10 and FF 55.0.3 when I click on "Select all" -> I no longer get any highlighted text.

P.S. on Win 10 plus Opera: no highlighted text either (as reported by jeeswg, now confirmed on Win 10).
User avatar
gregster
Posts: 1242
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 05:08

Selecting seems to work again in FF. But unfortunately, the color scheme of the code box/syntax highlighting changed... with the dark forum skin, some of the contents of the codebox are now hard to read (too dark).i didnt edit styles only the JS around selecting
User avatar
tank
Posts: 2295
Joined: 28 Sep 2013, 22:15
Facebook: charlie.simmons.7334
Google: ttnnkkrr
GitHub: ttnnkkrr
Location: Louisville KY
Contact:

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 06:48

wolf_II wrote: FF 55.0.3 when I click on "Select all" -> I no longer get any highlighted text.
bummer i guess i better roll back the change
gregster wrote:Selecting seems to work again in FF
conflicting reports can we get more feedback from other users?
Firefox and Opera do indeed use the same JS block

jeeswg wrote:I'm using Internet Explorer 11 on Windows 7, and it seems that if I click 'Select all' or 'Expand',
I cannot duplicate this problem using the same. further more my change would not have affected IE
gregster wrote:. with the dark forum skin
no style edited it had always been that way and you didnt notice.
We are troubled on every side‚ yet not distressed; we are perplexed‚
but not in despair; Persecuted‚ but not forsaken; cast down‚ but not destroyed;
https://www.facebook.com/ahkscript.org
If you have forum suggestions please submit a pull request
wolf_II
Posts: 1956
Joined: 08 Feb 2015, 20:55

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 06:52

no style edited it had always been that way and you didnt notice.

I can confirm: the most recent version changes the highlight color in both the codebox and the editors (quick reply and full editor) for as well with FF.
User avatar
jeeswg
Posts: 4577
Joined: 19 Dec 2016, 01:58
Location: UK

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 07:02

'Select all' and 'Expand' are working normally for me again (Internet Explorer 11 on Windows 7).
wolf_II
Posts: 1956
Joined: 08 Feb 2015, 20:55

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 07:17

@tank: re. conflicting feedback from myself and gregster: At the time of my post, I did not get highlights in FF. About 2.5 hours later (at the time of gregster's post) I also no longer had that problem.

re. style changes: I can no longer see the color of comments in code boxes, it used to be a shade of green, now it shows plain black.

I have no problem with the color changes, highlighted text is just a different shade of blue for me (FF), but I can still easily read it.
Also, color of comments is just an unexpected change, having it back to "greenish" would be nice.
User avatar
gregster
Posts: 1242
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 07:37

no style edited it had always been that way and you didnt notice.

No, sorry, that is simply not true. Everything except commands (which are in light blue) is now in black. And black text on dark blue background is a bit hard to read (it is not totally unreadable, but much worse than before). Before it was lighter colors. I am 200 % sure.

p.s.: I can confirm waht wolf_II describes. At the time of his post, 'select all' was broken... not anymore.
Last edited by gregster on 11 Sep 2017, 07:45, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
gregster
Posts: 1242
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 07:41

wolf_II wrote:I can confirm: the most recent version changes the highlight color in both the codebox and the editors (quick reply and full editor) for as well with FF.

Editors are still ok for me: Unchanged. Whitish/light grey color on dark background is what I am looking for; and that is still working
User avatar
tank
Posts: 2295
Joined: 28 Sep 2013, 22:15
Facebook: charlie.simmons.7334
Google: ttnnkkrr
GitHub: ttnnkkrr
Location: Louisville KY
Contact:

Re: Copy issue with code boxes.

11 Sep 2017, 07:46

We are troubled on every side‚ yet not distressed; we are perplexed‚
but not in despair; Persecuted‚ but not forsaken; cast down‚ but not destroyed;
https://www.facebook.com/ahkscript.org
If you have forum suggestions please submit a pull request

Return to “Forum Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests