[SOLVED] Can't target ipython3.exe console Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
freespacing
Posts: 150
Joined: 28 Sep 2016, 11:14
Contact:

[SOLVED] Can't target ipython3.exe console

31 Dec 2016, 08:54

For some reason, I'm not able to target the ipython console window, which runs inside of a Windows console.

I have hotkeys for a lot of applications, but none of the usual works.
Maybe a clue: The reason I'm trying to do this in the first place is that Alt+F4 doesn't work on the console window. Neither does Ctrl + W

Here is an example with garbage text.

Code: Select all

; -------------- Hotkeys for ipython3 -----------------
#IfWinActive ahk_exe ipython3.exe 
; nothing I tried works
    !e::  ; at first I tried !F4, then just F4, then just e
        SendInput {Raw}12
        ; Send 23 ; something else I tried
        Return
#IfWinActive
; -------------- End hotkeys for ipython3 -----------------
Here is a WindowsSpy screenshot.
Image

Would anyone be able to offer some insights?
Last edited by freespacing on 25 Dec 2020, 12:35, edited 1 time in total.
freespacing
Posts: 150
Joined: 28 Sep 2016, 11:14
Contact:

Re: Can't target ipython3.exe console

25 Dec 2020, 11:32

Also tried:

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive ahk_exe ipython3.exe 
^w::
   WinClose
Return
#IfWinActive
Nothing happens.
Would anyone happen to have a clue as to why hotkeys don't seem to work in that window?
AHKStudent
Posts: 1472
Joined: 05 May 2018, 12:23

Re: Can't target ipython3.exe console  Topic is solved

25 Dec 2020, 11:51

try running the script as administrator
freespacing
Posts: 150
Joined: 28 Sep 2016, 11:14
Contact:

Re: Can't target ipython3.exe console

25 Dec 2020, 12:35

AHKStudent wrote:
25 Dec 2020, 11:51
try running the script as administrator
That worked!!!
Thank you so much. :-)

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: doodles333, Frogrammer, Google [Bot] and 271 guests