Automating a printing process Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
OrangeView

Automating a printing process

20 Apr 2017, 10:32

Hello, I am a laser operator that programs multiple PNGs with various print settings to send to a Co2 laser engraver. I am looking to automate the programming aspect of my job to save time, plus allowing me to do other tasks such as gather the materials for engraving. I have already sped up the process quite a bit by getting an X-keys keyboard to record macros. I have managed to cut all the mouse clicks & keystrokes of the process down to three buttons for printing each size! It is a major time saver.

I would like to share some of what I do and walk you through the process, and what I have also assigned to the keyboard keys so you may understand my goal better. I am not asking for others to completely do this for me, but for guidance on where to start and how I would go about accomplishing tasks involved in writing scripts, dialog boxes, etc. Though I have no prior coding knowledge, I am green as it gets. So, I will say I am sorry in advance for all the questions I will be asking here in the forums.

So, let’s get started! I have 8 batches of images a day that get exported to 8 separate directories. In each of the 8 batches there are two sub batches (Handle & Non-Handle). In each sub batch folder (Handle & Non-Handle), there are 75 different folders that contain each size I print. Here is an example of the process and what I have assigned to my X-keys Keyboard. There are some steps that I will be wanting to add to the process after I get the basic printing function such as some safety nets to make sure things run as smooth as possible.

Step 1:
I open up the first directory on the network. From there the 3 button presses do all of the clicks and keystrokes I use to have to manually do.

Step2: Button 1