Grabbing scrollbar control or location

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
illuzioner

Grabbing scrollbar control or location

07 Jun 2017, 14:06

I'm new to AHK, but I've searched through the forums, help and StackOverflow, but couldn't find the solution.

I'm trying to write a script that will locate the scrollbar of the topmost window's control under the mouse.

I have some applications, like PyCharm, that have really, really narrow scrollbars that take forever to grab because I keep overshooting. I would like to press a hotkey and have AHK move the cursor precisely on top of the scrollbar and hold it there until a mouse down event is triggered, in which case control is handed back to the application and I am on the scrollbar.

I'm mostly concerned with the application scrollbar, as in Chrome, but many apps (like PyCharm) have multiple layouts with multiple scrollbars. It seems I need to grab the nearest scrollbar control to the right of the mouse.

I used AHK spy to view the controls for both Chrome and PyCharm. For Chrome, hovering over the window scrollbar yields:
ClassNN: Chrome_RenderWidgetHostHWND1
Text: Chrome Legacy Window

and hovering over any window in PyCharm yields nothing.

Is this possible? Is there a better way?
jeeswg

Re: Grabbing scrollbar control or location

07 Jun 2017, 14:52

I would recommend using AccViewer to investigate the window:
Acc library (MSAA) and AccViewer download links - AutoHotkey Community
https://autohotkey.com/boards/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=26201

Unfortunately I couldn't identify the scrollbar in Google Chrome, using this method.

If that fails other ideas are to use PixelSearch/ImageSearch, or if the scrollbar coordinates tend to be consistent relative to the top-left corner of the window/a control, use that information, and the window XYWH coordinates (use WinGetPos or ControlGetPos).

Btw sometimes scrollbars are separate controls, sometimes they are part of windows/controls.