Import data from Excel into another program.

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
FFVIIVince10

Import data from Excel into another program.

19 Jun 2017, 09:22

I am fairly new to AutoHotKey and I want to create a script to import data from an excel spreadsheet into a program to automatically add device serials into a database.

I have two programs the script will be interacting with, Mixcrosoft Excel and another private program. The private program has to have each device entered in one at a time in a certain input field and then processed with Ctrl+p and then click Yes to enter in the next serial. Alternatively it has the option to enter in sequential serials if I have a batch that the serials are sequential.

I attached an image of the program I need to import data into. Again, it has to be one at a time from an excel file that has data in the A column.

Any help would be appreciated. Not quite sure on where to start. Let me know if more information is required.
Attachments
equip.jpg
equip.jpg (31 KiB) Viewed 5316 times

Re: Import data from Excel into another program.

19 Jun 2017, 09:38

If you right click on the AutoHotkey tray icon you can start the Window spy, or if you don't have AutoHotkey running look for the Spy in the AutoHotkey folder. What does the Spy say when you hover your mouse of the controls of your target program?

Perhaps you can use https://autohotkey.com/docs/commands/ControlSetText.htm or ControlSend ^v to paste if the program accepts it. Otherwise just a regular paste (send ^v) and Send {tab} to move the next control might work. Reading Excel can either be done via copy/paste (crude manner) or via COM (should be very reliable).

So try to figure out if your target application can accept ControlSetText and/or ControlSend, if so you're half way there.

Tutorial reading Excel + COM https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/6903 ... for-excel/
Nightwolf85

19 Jun 2017, 10:04