How to sendinput to a password field?

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
omar
Posts: 540
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 17:56

How to sendinput to a password field?

16 Jul 2017, 18:14

Password fields dont seem to be possible to SendInput to

How do I do this?

I want to enter only half of a password - the other half I want to enter myself

I use another Clipboard manager - but would like to do everything with AHK

Thanks
User avatar
boiler
Posts: 16925
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: How to sendinput to a password field?

16 Jul 2017, 19:33

I send passwords to password fields in many web sites and programs. Perhaps that one is different. Maybe it is sending the characters incorrectly because the password contains special characters that are the same as AHK's modifier keys (+^!#). If so, use SendRaw.
Rohwedder
Posts: 7626
Joined: 04 Jun 2014, 08:33
Location: Germany

Re: How to sendinput to a password field?

17 Jul 2017, 08:31

Hallo,
some websites allow only slow writing of passwords. I always use Send with SetKeyDelay, 333,50
omar
Posts: 540
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 17:56

Re: How to sendinput to a password field?

17 Jul 2017, 09:07

i was making my shortcut like this:

Code: Select all

::mystoredtext::hello world
that doesn't work

if i do it like this:

Code: Select all

::mystoredtext::

sendinput hello world

Return
it works ok

do u know how i can make the one line version work?
Rohwedder
Posts: 7626
Joined: 04 Jun 2014, 08:33
Location: Germany

Re: How to sendinput to a password field?

17 Jul 2017, 12:09

Hallo,
try:

Code: Select all

#Hotstring SE K333
::mystoredtext::hello world
omar
Posts: 540
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 17:56

Re: How to sendinput to a password field?

23 Jul 2017, 19:00

@Rohwedder

that doesnt work.
now, on another laptop, neither work :(
on one laptop it works. but then doesnt work on other websites

really frustrating
i can use another program like phrasexpress and it works ok
i was trying to get away from phrasexpress. it's great. but i can now do everything it does with AHK - apart from pasting into password fields.

on the laptop where it doesnt work, AHK doesnt work at all on any form :(

any suggestions?
thanks
omar
Posts: 540
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 17:56

Re: How to sendinput to a password field?

24 Jul 2017, 06:56

running as admin?
you mean run the ahk file as admin?
i could do. doesnt make sense why it works for some laptops and others it doesnt - i'm logged in as admin for all of them

ahk is running.
a keyboard shortcut works.
i can assign #n for example and that works.

really frustrating. :(
User avatar
boiler
Posts: 16925
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: How to sendinput to a password field?

25 Jul 2017, 06:10

Did you try it? Being logged in as admin isn't necessarily the same as running the script as admin.

It might be because the browser or whatever it's interacting with is running as an elevated process on one machine but not another. Or it could be the difference in Windows UAC settings between the machines.
omar
Posts: 540
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 17:56

Re: How to sendinput to a password field?

25 Jul 2017, 11:51

i'll give it a go and will let u know

>> Or it could be the difference in Windows UAC settings between the machines.
UAC settings?
please tell me more

i have one laptop where AHK behaves differently. i will have scripts that run perfectly on 10 other machines, but this one, always fails and runs different and doesn't follow expected behaviour. :(
maybe UAC setting - whatever it is - could help explain

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Descolada and 294 guests