sending a sequence of keystrokes in MS Word Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
stevewke

sending a sequence of keystrokes in MS Word

04 Oct 2017, 17:40

I am a total newbie to AHK with a very simple question. If I am editing in MS Word or Powerpoint, how can I use AHK to send a series of MS keyboard shortcuts as if I typed them. For example,
ALT (opens menu selection for all items on the ribbon)
H (opens Home Menu)
1 (selects BOLD)

Can someone point me to the syntax that does this or send me a code snippet or reference to do this?
Thanks
Exaskryz

Re: sending a sequence of keystrokes in MS Word  Topic is solved

04 Oct 2017, 17:49

Send command. For your example, it would be Send {Alt}h1 -- notice the h is uncapitalized. In the Send command, capital H counts as Shift+h which may result in a different action.

However, that may move too fast for Word to keep up with. You may need to either break the Send command into individual lines, one key per line, and put Sleep commands between the Send commands, or you can use SetKeyDelay.
FanaticGuru

Re: sending a sequence of keystrokes in MS Word

04 Oct 2017, 19:13

Exaskryz wrote:However, that may move too fast for Word to keep up with. You may need to either break the Send command into individual lines, one key per line, and put Sleep commands between the Send commands, or you can use SetKeyDelay.
On the other hand, many times, this time included MS Word can handle the keyboard commands coming very quickly.

This line at the top of your script will make the Send command send the text pretty much as fast as possible.

Code: Select all

SendMode Input  ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
FG
Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts
AHK Startup - Consolidate Multiply AHK Scripts with one Tray Icon
Hotstring Manager - Create and Manage Hotstrings
[Class] WinHook - Create Window Shell Hooks and Window Event Hooks