Interacting with specific elements in unique programs

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
speedskis777

Interacting with specific elements in unique programs

08 Dec 2017, 19:53

Hi guys,

I write a lot of code simplifying repetitive tasks on a music notation software called Finale. For a long time, I've been using pix search and specific coordinates for interacting with items on the program, but as you know, all of the circumstances need to be perfect for correct code execution, and with new product updates every year or so, this has outdated a lot of my work.

I'd really like to programatically interact with this software, but at most I can only grab menu buttons listed with classNN in windows Spy. I'm pretty sure the program doesn't have COM built into it, although I'm new to this approach so I'm not completely sure.

Of course, unlike many programs where you scan for words on a page, the medium is notes:

I'm stuck on how to pull data out of this, such as where notes lie on a music stave, or what type they are. Is pixsearch for particular notes images and particular coordinates really my only option?

Any thoughts? How about for other programs which also don't support COM? Or should I look at this as a case-by-case basis? Are there any other interfaces I could look into which may help (I've heard about Selenium but from what I know it's only for browsers)?

Thanks in advance!
speedskis777

Re: Interacting with specific elements in unique programs

12 Dec 2017, 17:13

Anyone have any ideas for the above post?? I'm super curious. There's gotta be a faster and more reliable way to control elements in a program without having to use mouse coordinates, pixel searches, image searches, etc. etc.
jeeswg

12 Dec 2017, 18:46

- I tried experimenting with some music software once, MuseScore. I wrote the music in a custom shorthand and used key presses to input the data.