How to append CSV file on password protected location

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
Yatendra3192

How to append CSV file on password protected location

10 Dec 2017, 07:23

Hi All,

This is my first time post and forgive me if i do something wrong here. So here's the problem-

I'm making a time tracker script for my office and we have 100s computer linked to one server script i made will be installed in every computer and going to generate a CSV file with all the data i want to capture all is working fine but the problem is that when i define the location for CSV file to save and some how any employee got to know the location they might change it anyway they want so stop them from doing that we are setting up a password protected folder but then AHK will not be able to append a file on that location.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also let me know if you need any more information to solve this problem.
BoBo

Re: How to append CSV file on password protected location

10 Dec 2017, 07:56

If your script (and its output) is hosted at C: it shouldn't be accessible for the user AFAIK (?)
Yatendra3192

10 Dec 2017, 08:24

Hi BoBo, Thank you so much for your reply. But my script (and its output) is hosted at server address \\172.19.2.55 all of our local machine is linked to it for storing our work.
nnnik

14 Dec 2017, 01:30

Rather than saving it to a file on the server, it might be better to send the data to a HTTP server running on your server and let it handle the data once it arrives.
Another would be to make the server execute an AHK file after a user is done writing to a specific file.

Edit: on second thought you won't really need a HTTP server specifically, you can use whatever protocol you want.
Recommends AHK Studio
Yatendra3192

14 Dec 2017, 01:52

Hi nnnik thank you so much for your reply can you point me in the right direction on how to do that
divanebaba

14 Dec 2017, 03:19