Hot key runs on one computer but not another computer Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
butchalline
Posts: 6
Joined: 13 Sep 2017, 15:06

Hot key runs on one computer but not another computer

09 Feb 2018, 16:56

I have two computers running Win 10.
Working ver. of AHK is Ver. 1.1.26.1 is on one computer, let's call it W
Non working ver. of AHK is ver. 1.1.27.07 is on another computer, let's call it N

Both computers use the same script:

Code: Select all

#NoEnv  ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
;#SingleInstance force ; needed for testing repeatedly
; #Warn  ; Enable warnings to assist with detecting common errors.
SendMode Input  ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir%  ; Ensures a consistent starting directory.

^j:: ; control 'j' launches the app and applies lat & lon 
Run, C:\Program Files (x86)\SatPC32\SatPC32.exe 
Sleep, 1000 ; weirdness without delays
Send  {-}{8}{4}{.}{2}{TAB} 
Sleep, 1000
Send {3}{6}{.}{0}{TAB}
Sleep,1000
Send {ENTER}
Return ; required to terminate
Same file locations:
C:\Program Files\AutoHotkey

Same start:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/73962443@ ... dateposted

Reboots, cold starts make no difference on either machine

Other than the different versions, what could be the problem?

Any and all help appreciated.
User avatar
Nextron
Posts: 1274
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 08:23
Location: Netherlands OS: Win7 x64 AHK: Unicode x32

Re: Hot key runs on one computer but not another computer  Topic is solved

09 Feb 2018, 18:01

Perhaps the non-working computer already has that hotkey registered by a different application. Try changing the hotkey to $^j:: and try again. Also, try running the script as admin.
butchalline
Posts: 6
Joined: 13 Sep 2017, 15:06

Re: Hot key runs on one computer but not another computer

10 Feb 2018, 11:51

Thank you Nextron!
$^j:: worked (not on first attempt, but on second and subsequent attempts)
Go figure...
butchalline
Posts: 6
Joined: 13 Sep 2017, 15:06

Re: Hot key runs on one computer but not another computer

15 Feb 2018, 10:57

New day, new problems.
Same two machines, same set up as yesterday.
Today, no scripts are working on any machine.

Should I just convert the script to an .exe ?
User avatar
Nextron
Posts: 1274
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 08:23
Location: Netherlands OS: Win7 x64 AHK: Unicode x32

Re: Hot key runs on one computer but not another computer

15 Feb 2018, 11:39

Converting it isn't likely going to make a difference.

Try restarting your script, or running it as admin. Are you running any other scripts?
butchalline
Posts: 6
Joined: 13 Sep 2017, 15:06

Re: Hot key runs on one computer but not another computer

17 Feb 2018, 15:35

Thanks again Nextron.

Only this one script running.
Start up running as admin.
No joy yet.

Here is screen shot ...I hope...image not showing in preview...
Image
The hi-lighted line is what I am using.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Scr1pter, TAC109 and 126 guests