Copy file name and file type Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
JMD1

Copy file name and file type

26 Feb 2018, 16:04

I would like to copy a file name and the file type to the clipboard. When I click on Job22.txt, only Job22 is highlighted, I would like the entire Job22.txt to be highlighted and copied to the clipboard. I am new to this and tried the script below, it doesnt work very well. Thanks.

F2::Send {F2}^a::^c
gregster

Re: Copy file name and file type

26 Feb 2018, 16:31

Try this - just highlight the file (single click, not doubleclick) and press F2:

Code: Select all

F2::
Clipboard := 					; empty clipboard
Send ^c							; copy via Ctrl+c
Clipwait						; Wait until Clipboard holds contents
SplitPath, Clipboard, name		; get filename - clipboard holds complete file path
msgbox % name					; just for testing
clipboard := name				; assign filename to clipboard for pasting
return
JMD

27 Feb 2018, 14:32

gregster wrote:Try this - just highlight the file (single click, not doubleclick) and press F2:

return

This works great, just what I wanted. Thanks.
JMD

28 Feb 2018, 16:22

gregster wrote:Try this - just highlight the file (single click, not doubleclick) and press F2:

return

Hmmm, this worked yesterday but not today. I have reloaded the script several times and even when back and copied the original script again.
When I single click the file name, today, I get a pop-up and the file is not on the clipboard. When I click and highlight the name I get the same pop-up. Please advise. Thanks.
gregster

28 Feb 2018, 16:35

It still works for me - and I don't see why it wouldn't. We are talking about windows' file explorer, right?
Do you have other scripts running? Or several instances? That might cause problems... Then you could add #SingleInstance force at the top of your script (above F2::)

If you are not sure, look at the task manager and count how much Autohotkey.exe processes you are seeing...