WASD key combo to numpad movement? Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
Shadrach

WASD key combo to numpad movement?

08 May 2018, 08:40

Hi,
I've been using a relatively simple script to remap WASD to the arrow keys for a game. However, the game also supports six-directional movement with the numpad, so I'd like to add Numpad7,9,1,3 to the script for completeness.

Code: Select all

;WASD keys
w::Up
s::Down
a::Left
d::Right
So I tried to add this first just for testing:

w & a::Numpad7
As per the documentation on combinations:
https://autohotkey.com/docs/Hotkeys.htm#combo

However this only triggers with holding down w *first* and pressing a. And it makes my w::Up remap not work as expected, as it only triggers on release.

I've also tried:

w & a::
  Send {Numpad7}
  Return
This doesn't appear to work at all.

I'm pretty new to AHK, I've browsed the documentation, but there might be some modifiers I have to use to make the combination of two keys simultaneously map to a single key?

Or isn't this what AHK is really meant for, and it can't be done like this? I really don't want to map all the keys around WASD (i.e QEZC) for the same result...
Exaskryz

Re: WASD key combo to numpad movement?

08 May 2018, 08:55

I may be shortsighted, and this issue has come up before on the forums (check out the gaming section), but try something like this:

w::Up ; Numpad8?
a::Left ; Numpad4?
~w & a::Numpad7
~a & w::Numpad7
; starts a comment on the line. This uses the ~ modifier to permit the native action of w and a, in this case, being remapped to up and left. Including both the w then a and a then w combination hotkeys should resolve the issue of needing one key down first by making both options.