RegExMatch Help Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
Monoxide3009

RegExMatch Help

19 Jun 2018, 12:26

Hello All,

I have been struggling with regexmatch for a few days; trying to research on the community sites, but I am still just as stuck as ever.

I am self taught, so if you could please explain with as much detail as you can, it will help me out a lot.

Goal:
I am trying to pull from a webpage using regexmatch (I have looked unto the HTML replaces, but that made even less sense to me). As it is right now, I have a script pulling all text from a webpage into a variable, then trying to use regex patterns to pull the data I want. I have one working replace, but someone else had provided it. I am trying to reverse it, and I get the concept, but I cant build a line on my own that works.

Example:
I am trying to pull flight details from an entire body of text. The text has a segment of "Flight/Vessel (text needed) Place of Loading" - I am trying to grab everything between these to text points. My biggest issue is determining how to match literal text.

I have a working regexmatch on this same body of text that looks like this:
pulling from: RANDOMtext Business (B1)
RegExMatch(BODY, "(?<=\()(.{2,2})(?=\))", SVC)

SVC = B1

This pulls B1 - the required text. I was given this line by someone else here in the community, but I have yet to be able to fully understand AHK regex. I am somewhat familiar with patterns, as I have used PERL regex before, I just cant quite grasp AHK.

If anyone is up to the challenge, could you please explain where I am going wrong, or what I need to do? The more "pieces" you explain, the better, as I will be adapting any answers provided to other pieces of my script.

Thanks in advance!
swagfag

Re: RegExMatch Help

19 Jun 2018, 13:32

for matching stuff between parens, your result is store in capture group 1:

Code: Select all

needle := "\(([^\)]+)"

\( ; match literal open-paren