Inserting a hard return within a macro?

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
compumom

Inserting a hard return within a macro?

01 Jul 2015, 03:31

I'm very new to this, using AHK for macros and autocorrection and loving it.

There are instances when I need to insert something including key combinations, odd characters at the line beginnings, and a hard return inside it. For example:

#0:04:12 (A time stamp, which is produced with Ctrl-G within the player and Ctrl-V, and already includes the # character)
~Interviewer:
^

just like that, on lines 1, 2, 3.

If anyone can educate me on how that would be done, I will be most grateful. Thanks!

Re: Inserting a hard return within a macro?

01 Jul 2015, 03:50

Study the various examples in the docs here http://ahkscript.org/docs/Hotstrings.htm#continuation
If you want to position your caret you can add Send, {left X} where X is the number of times you have to press left to place your caret on the desired location.
compumom

01 Jul 2015, 04:14

Thanks - but way over my head. :P
lexikos

03 Jul 2015, 01:38

If that's over your head, your head must be buried. :?

In all seriousness, just look at the first example under "Long Replacements" (which the link points to). It's very simple: a hotstring with a simple abbreviation, followed by multi-line replacement text.
T_Lube

03 Jul 2015, 02:45

:terms: Basically you need to read the docs
lexikos

03 Jul 2015, 19:59

Actually, you'll also need the r0 option to disable raw mode as described below the example, in order to send Ctrl-G (^g) and Ctrl-V (^v).

T_Lube, you're not helping. If everyone could and would get the right answers by reading documentation, the forums would be much less active.
T_Lube

03 Jul 2015, 23:05