AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

Discuss the AutoGUI IDE with a GUI designer and a script editor.
User avatar
Alguimist
Posts: 134
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 16:41

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

26 Dec 2015, 17:30

Version 1.1.2 released.
  • Fixed some errors
  • Added a new tool: Expressive, a regular expression utility
  • Redesigned Window Cloning Tool
Image
Download
User avatar
Alguimist
Posts: 134
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 16:41

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

26 Dec 2015, 17:33

@kunkel321: The error was fixed.

@huyaowen: Use the Window Cloning Tool to import the GUI.
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 5758
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

26 Dec 2015, 21:52

Nice work on "Expressive"! :D
it's... impressive. 8-)
User avatar
Soft
Posts: 174
Joined: 07 Jan 2015, 13:18
GitHub: visionary1
Location: Seoul
Contact:

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

27 Dec 2015, 07:52

expressive is super awesome!!
AutoHotkey & AutoHotkey_H v1.1.22.07
User avatar
RazorHalo
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2015, 21:23

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

28 Dec 2015, 00:41

First I would just like to say this is an awesome script and I truly appreciate all the work that must have gone into it. I have only been using AHK for a couple of months now, so I am still learning.

I'm not sure if it's just me missing something, but if I save a GUI that I have been working on, and then Reload that GUI using the OPEN GUI file option to work on again, as soon as I do any action with the window, it refreshes the code window and ends up resetting the script options to their defaults, and removes all the options, v-Var, and g-Labels associated with all the controls. I do notice that if I open the GUI, and then open the properties window right away it looks to me as if it doesn't reload the control properties, except for their Text Labels, and none of the window properties either.

Also, I understand that it reloads all the GUI commands up until the "; End of the GUI section" delimiter, but that erases anything I want to do in the auto execute section before I load the GUI. I realize it was stated that it will eventually just update the lines that are affected, but I am finding it difficult to not have any non GUI building code in the auto execute section. Unless I'm doing things in the wrong order, any pointers would be appreciated.

RH
User avatar
oldbrother
Posts: 134
Joined: 23 Oct 2013, 05:08

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

29 Dec 2015, 09:39

Found some errors:

1. Undo and Redo in the Edit menu do not work for me.
2. The icons of horizontally space and vertical space in the selection menu are reversed.
111.jpg
111.jpg (18.49 KiB) Viewed 3912 times

3. when drag a control, the fields on the Properties window will be updated, except the control name.
I suggest that all the fields on the Properties window should be updated when left click on a control.
2222.jpg

4. I don't know what I did, I got duplicated codes:
3333.jpg




Windows XP SP3 (my company doesn't have money to upgrade all the computers to windows 10 :cry: ).

Thanks!
Last edited by oldbrother on 29 Dec 2015, 13:26, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
Joe Glines
Posts: 439
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 20:49
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/theAutomatorGuru/
Google: https://plus.google.com/105328929654286634910
GitHub: joetazz
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

29 Dec 2015, 10:05

:bravo: While I'm overall liking "Expressive" (especially the highlighting aspect) I was wondering if there was a way to have it dump-out the AutoHotKey syntax that would be needed to run the expression in a script.

Thanks for all your work on this! It's got some awesome stuff!
User avatar
fischgeek
Posts: 405
Joined: 29 Jan 2014, 21:39

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

29 Dec 2015, 10:42

oldbrother wrote:Windows XP SP3.

:shock:
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 5758
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

29 Dec 2015, 19:08

fischgeek wrote:
oldbrother wrote:Windows XP SP3.

:shock:

awwwwyeaaahhh hahaha :lol:
PumpkinShortie
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Nov 2015, 13:17

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

30 Dec 2015, 14:55

This looks great. I gave it a try. I encountered a few issues.

Recreating the window from source will cause the text in text labels to be lost the first time. This can be reproduced.
The snapping to grid behavior for default size text labels v.s. edit box, hotkey boxes, drop down lists (and probably other things too) makes them misaligned. Their default snapping behavior should be so the text for everything is at the same height by moving the text labels down a few pixels.
The snapping to grid behavior for group boxes is odd. It doesn't really align to the grid. The line around the box should align with the grid.
The default height for edit boxes and hotkey boxes should be 21 pixels.
It is impossible to drag the mouse to select controls inside a group box.
It doesn't seem possible to numerically edit the size of controls other than by the code itself, which requires redrawing the preview window every time.
Coco
Posts: 771
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 20:37
GitHub: cocobelgica

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

30 Dec 2015, 16:34

PumpkinShortie wrote:The default height for edit boxes and hotkey boxes should be 21 pixels.
I think it should be R1(Gui, Add, Edit, w%DefaultWidth% r1) and let Windows(or AutoHotkey) calculate it internally. Using a fix height is not advisable especially if the user is using a custom Windows theme.
User avatar
Alguimist
Posts: 134
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 16:41

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

31 Dec 2015, 05:56

Version 1.1.3 fixes a few more bugs.

The Properties dialog is updated when a control is clicked, as suggested by oldbrother.

Undo and Redo in the Edit menu do not work for me.

The Edit menu is for the script editor only.

It is impossible to drag the mouse to select controls inside a group box.

While this issue is not fixed, individually select each control with Ctrl + click.
Last edited by Alguimist on 31 Dec 2015, 08:16, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Alguimist
Posts: 134
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 16:41

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

31 Dec 2015, 06:07

Additional usage information
Keyboard shortcuts not exposed in the menus:

GUI Designer:
- F2: Show the Change Text dialog
- F3: Highlight the active control (the last created or clicked control)
- Shift + arrow keys: Change the size of the active control

Script Editor:
- Ctrl + Numpad +: Increase font size
- Ctrl + Numpad -: Decrease font size
- Ctrl + Numpad 0: Reset font size
- Ctrl + Tab: Switch to the next tab
- Ctrl + D: Duplicate selection or current line
- Ctrl + L: Cut current line
- Ctrl + T: Switch the current line position with the previous line
- Ctrl + Backspace: Delete to the beginning of the current word
- Ctrl + Delete: Delete to the end of the current word
- Ctrl + Shift + Backspace: Delete to the beginning of the line
- Ctrl + Shift + Delete: Delete to the end of the line
- Alt + Shift + arrow keys, or Alt + left-click: Rectangular selection
User avatar
SnowFlake
Posts: 363
Joined: 28 Apr 2015, 05:41
Google: floowsnaake
GitHub: floowsnaake
Contact:

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

31 Dec 2015, 19:36

@Alguimist, will you add auto updater to AutoGUI?
User avatar
huyaowen
Posts: 100
Joined: 28 Jul 2014, 01:15

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

02 Jan 2016, 19:03

Add two buttons called a and b,then delete button b and drag mouse select from a to b.one shape will display in the form as follow.
BaiduShurufa_2016-1-3_7-57-19.png
User avatar
RazorHalo
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2015, 21:23

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

05 Jan 2016, 22:40

Ok, so this is a great design tool which will greatly speed up creating GUI's. I am in the process of creating a program to organize and keep track of our CNC machines tooling where I work, which will include all sorts of goodies, but consequently will end up having hundreds of controls, hence why this will be such a great tool for creating such a program.

The problem I have run in to is that it didn't yet have the functionality to reload a saved GUI in its entirety to continue where I left off. So I've made some modifications that now let you open a saved script and completely reload all options, variables, and controls.

Due to the way AutoGUI formats the code, scripts that have not been created with AutoGUI may need to be rearranged to fit this format to be loaded correctly (like having all GUI building done at the beginning and separated from the rest of the code with the "; End of the GUI section" delimiter for eg.)

I have used the latest version 1.1.3, and tested it as much as I can and have obtained consistent results with loading GUI's. I'm sure that my code could probably be a little tighter but I've only been using AHK for a couple of months and am still learning so any upgrades or corrections to the code I have added would be welcome.

@Alguimist
Maybe this feature could be added into a future version of AutoGUI ?



Use the "Open GUI..." command from the File Menu (I removed the MsgBox about using the Window Cloning tool - Line 2849 in original script myself)
and make the following changes to AutoGUI.ahk and Properties.ahk


********************************************
CHANGES TO AUTOGUI.AHK
********************************************
Add this to the end of the list (line 61) of Global Variables:
GuiLoaded

Replace the Function "ParseScript(Source)" with this code:

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus




**********************************************************
Changes to Properties.ahk
**********************************************************
Replace the label "ShowProperties:" with this code:

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

vasili111
Posts: 729
Joined: 21 Jan 2014, 02:04
Location: Georgia

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

20 Jan 2016, 11:52

This tool is really great!
DRAKON-AutoHotkey: Visual programming for AutoHotkey.
kunkel321
Posts: 125
Joined: 30 Nov 2015, 21:19
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kunkel321
Google: kunkel321

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

02 Feb 2016, 16:44

hI Alguimist, I'm having problems with your Expressive tool... I'm sure I remember using it a couple weeks ago. Some of the fonts were a bit off, but it was working. A couple weeks ago my OS got flashed and I just now put AutoGUI on my laptop. If I run Expressive I get this:
Image
There's no textbox to put the sample text in...
Also, the blank pane apparently has one match for the number 6. LOL. Not sure what that's about.

Addon question: Are you taking feature requests for this tool?
User avatar
Alguimist
Posts: 134
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 16:41

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

02 Feb 2016, 21:08

@kunkel321: The tool requires AHK 32-bit and has not been adjusted for a non-default DPI scale. Here's the fix:

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] (Expressive.ahk)GeSHi © Codebox Plus

kunkel321
Posts: 125
Joined: 30 Nov 2015, 21:19
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kunkel321
Google: kunkel321

Re: AutoGUI - GUI Designer and Script Editor

03 Feb 2016, 08:36

Yes Sir, That works perfectly! Many thanks. :)

EDIT: Here's your unsolicited feature request:
Of course I realize that AutoGUI is a full-on development environment, not just a regex tool, but this particular request is just for Expressive....
Folks on the forum here suggested assigning some of my long regex's into variables, then use the variable name in my RegExMatch(), which I've started doing.
Of course none of the regex tools out there can deal with this.
Here's a mockup of what such integration might look like: (the regex in the image actually doesn't work :-/ )
Image

The extra boxes could be a collapsible group like you already have for the bottom sections. (I didn't know how to add that to the mock up.)

Return to “AutoGUI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests