Screen clipping

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools
Gillyns

Re: Screen clipping

23 Apr 2017, 05:44

Hi,
I found this tool very useful, i use it everyday thanks a lot. However i found a little bug : if windows resizing is set to anything but 100%, the yellow rectangle would not match the mouse positionning, if someone wants to correct that, it would be awesome as i'm not capable of doing it.

Thanks a lot
Username745

Re: Screen clipping

11 Jul 2017, 08:33

please add an option to show a tooltip after saving successfuly to the Desktop.
cheers. nice tool btw...
Username745

Re: Screen clipping

12 Jul 2017, 03:53

you may use the following code (credits for code go to someone else).

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

CAH9t
Posts: 29
Joined: 15 Jul 2017, 11:12
Location: Land

Re: Screen clipping

13 Aug 2017, 10:35

Hi, Joe. Interesting app you have there.
I don't know how to tell it to make myself clear. Let's just say, Is there any option to make a clip including several other clips that are affected by the selection or should I say clip on clip ? I hope it's not too perverted of a want :) .

I know a workaround of course using PS. But that sort application rises up threateningly often.
Last edited by CAH9t on 13 Aug 2017, 13:10, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Joe Glines
Posts: 481
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 20:49
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/theAutomatorGuru/
Google: https://plus.google.com/105328929654286634910
GitHub: joetazz
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: Screen clipping

13 Aug 2017, 11:07

@CAH9t
Every once in a while I have a similar need however It is very rare for me (and I'm guessing most other users). I'm not good enought with the GDIP library to figure out how hard it would be so, from my perspective, it is just easier to dump it into your favorite image editing software and do it there.
neogna2
Posts: 10
Joined: 15 Sep 2016, 15:44

Re: Screen clipping

13 Aug 2017, 11:46

CAH9t wrote:Is there any option to make a clip including several other clips that are affected by the selection or should I say clip on clip ?

Why not simply keep those several clips open, move them in the pattern you want and then make a new clip that contains all of them?
Example with the Google start page logo http://i.imgur.com/TjqDqci.png
User avatar
Joe Glines
Posts: 481
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 20:49
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/theAutomatorGuru/
Google: https://plus.google.com/105328929654286634910
GitHub: joetazz
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: Screen clipping

13 Aug 2017, 11:51

To me this seems a bit "hoakie" but if it is decent enough to suit the needs then it works! There is a an easy way to turn off the blue border which might be preferred in this case...
CAH9t
Posts: 29
Joined: 15 Jul 2017, 11:12
Location: Land

Re: Screen clipping

13 Aug 2017, 12:04

neogna2 wrote:Why not simply keep those several clips open, move them in the pattern you want and then make a new clip that contains all of them?
Example with the Google start page logo http://i.imgur.com/TjqDqci.png


Wow, sorta captain-evidently. It's so simple a solution and more so logical that I've tried it at first. But, the thing is all it captures is the screen under the clips, kind of ignoring the existing clips. My guess is Joe has the same, CMIIW . ( but IIW, I have one dim idea what's the perp)
All I want for Xmas is what you're proposing to work with me :D . So we're back to square one.
CAH9t
Posts: 29
Joined: 15 Jul 2017, 11:12
Location: Land

Re: Screen clipping

13 Aug 2017, 21:47

So it's clear as a day, I'm having a unique situation, I have one or two theories on why that's happened and thanx for the feedback anyway.
User avatar
Cerberus
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Jan 2016, 15:46

Re: Screen clipping

16 Aug 2017, 22:08

Great script! I saw you using it in one of your videos and immediately saw how useful it could be, but I had no idea what it was at the time. Later I found it here.

I've integrated the Imgur bit into the version from the first(ish?) post in this thread.

In addition, I've replaced the WIA bit in the Imgur function with some other bit of code, because otherwise it wouldn't work in XP. Maybe the replacement is slow, but it's super fast for me, so it probably won't matter. The old code is still there for whoever wants to go back to the old (non-XP) code.

Further, I've added clear steps to get a Client ID from Imgur in comments.

I've also changed the configuration of the hotkeys at the beginning a bit (because I don't use Outlook). Anyone can easily change the configuration back as intended by Joe.

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

mankvl
Posts: 8
Joined: 23 Sep 2016, 03:58

Re: Screen clipping

01 Sep 2017, 03:38

Anyway to add a highlight tool?
User avatar
Joe Glines
Posts: 481
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 20:49
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/theAutomatorGuru/
Google: https://plus.google.com/105328929654286634910
GitHub: joetazz
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: Screen clipping

01 Sep 2017, 06:25

@makvl- Personally that is outside the scope of what the tool does. Once you're into editing/changing the image I think it is best to just do that in another program built for that.
User avatar
SpeedMaster
Posts: 99
Joined: 12 Nov 2016, 16:09

Re: Screen clipping

02 Sep 2017, 06:34

Hello,
thanks for this nice script :thumbup:

Here is a small modification of Tervon's function for those who wants to set the default folder where to save the images:
example:

^s:: SCW_Win2File(0, "c:\ScreenClip")

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

Last edited by SpeedMaster on 02 Sep 2017, 10:33, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Joe Glines
Posts: 481
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 20:49
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/theAutomatorGuru/
Google: https://plus.google.com/105328929654286634910
GitHub: joetazz
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: Screen clipping

02 Sep 2017, 07:50

Thanks SpeedMaster. I'd just say to add it to your own and share it. My guess is the majority of people that would be using this would just hard-code the path inside the script...
User avatar
SpeedMaster
Posts: 99
Joined: 12 Nov 2016, 16:09

Re: Screen clipping

02 Sep 2017, 10:39

I guess you're right. :)
I modified my previous post for those who need it. ;)
neogna2
Posts: 10
Joined: 15 Sep 2016, 15:44

Re: Screen clipping

02 Sep 2017, 17:29

Joe Glines wrote:@makvl- Personally that is outside the scope of what the tool does. Once you're into editing/changing the image I think it is best to just do that in another program built for that.

Agreed, for most cases. But a minimal highlighting feature could be handy, for speed. Hear me out. If we add

Code: [Select all] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

      if GetKeyState("RButton", "p")
{
rightbutton = 1
break
}

to the While loop and change the SCW_CreateLayeredWinMod() call to a conditional:
If the used ended the rectangle drawing by pressing right mouse button (instead of releasing left button) then run a function that creates a clippings window with no border and with yellow highlight applied to the whole window.
If the user ended the rectangle drawing by releasing left mouse then make a regular screen clipping gui.

With that we could 1 first make a regular clipping by drawing a window, 2 make a highlight of some part of it by drawing a window and ending with rbutton and 3 make a new regular clipping of the two together. Quicker than opening a image editor! I'm not sure what in gdip to use to apply a highlight effect (transparent color overlay) to the bitmap though.

Return to “Scripts and Functions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests