[Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

29 Mar 2018, 02:56

@burque: Please use AHK V1.1.28.0, H008. You should find no issues with AddScript function. Please let me know.

Capture2Text [see help files], is an external application that needs a precise configuration to work with KeyPress. Ignore that...

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

29 Mar 2018, 16:37

Hello!

I just released v4. 27.9.

Bug fixes regarding the typing mode and foreign languages.

@Burque505. Please let me know how this version works for you.

Please, people. Give me feedback.... any kind of feedback is welcome, even if it's negative. I want to make sure it's good :-).

The script can work even with ahkL if you remove the call to the AddScript function.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
User avatar
SpeedMaster
Posts: 150
Joined: 12 Nov 2016, 16:09

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

30 Mar 2018, 04:14

robodesign wrote:I just released v4. 27.9.
Please, people. Give me feedback.... any kind of feedback is welcome, even if it's negative.

KeyPress-OSD (robodesign's edition)
Test on windows 7 64bit Home Edition
AHK L version 1.1.24.03 Unicode 32bit --> script is working but after removing line with addScript("ahkThread_Free(deleteME)",0)
AHK L version 1.1.24.03 ANSI 32bit --> Not working ! Space and backspace not detected !

To enable compatibility with AHK_L, please comment or remove line with addScript("ahkThread_Free(deleteME)",0)
:( :? --> Not obvious. Maybe someone can find a workaround trick to detect AHK version.
:| --> I suggest at least adding this warning next to the download link
:idea: --> or you can include AHK H with your script. for example : https://github.com/bichlepa/PABI-Logical/releases

Cheers
Last edited by SpeedMaster on 30 Mar 2018, 04:22, edited 1 time in total.
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

30 Mar 2018, 04:21

Hey, thank you very much for your feedback!

Yes, a trick for AHK_L, is what I would like as well, but I found no way to implement one, so far...

Unfortunately, AHK ANSI versions are not supported.

If you download the compiled edition, it includes AHK_H and the source files.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
User avatar
SpeedMaster
Posts: 150
Joined: 12 Nov 2016, 16:09

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

30 Mar 2018, 05:44

Maybe function reference trick would work
https://autohotkey.com//boards/viewtopi ... 598#p36598

Code: [Select all] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

  If (SafeModeExec!=1)
{
Sleep, 1
MyObj := {key: Func("addScript")}
MyObj.key.Call("ahkThread_Free(deleteME)",0)
}
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

30 Mar 2018, 05:50

Hey, thanks!

But that does not work because AHK_H wont initialize the threads in this way. Please test it with AHK_H as well, and you will see it does not work. The sound beeps, mouse features and others depend on these additional threads.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

02 Apr 2018, 17:21

Hello, guys!

A new version that comes with more polished edges. :-). All files updated.

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32], includes AHK_H and sources:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

by Marius Sucan (robodesign.ro)

v4.28.6 (2018-04-07)
- dead keys related fixes
- made the dead keys specific code for hotkey bindings more simple and straigth-forward
- improvements related to the dynamic add/remove entries for auto-replace
- and other fixes

v4.28.4 (2018-04-03)
- [new] ability to dynamically learn / unlearn expandable/auto-replace words on Enter by writing: +//+ word2match // words to replace with;
- to remove an entry use: -//- word2match // [anything];
- code readjustments; thanks to Drugwash, very long lines are now split into multiple lines;
- bug fixes

v4.28.3 (2018-04-02)
- [new] option to have the mouse halos hide whenever the mouse cursor hides
- [new] option to offer audio-visual feedback on mouse cursor changes
- [improvement] text caret halo is now adjusting to the real caret height
- various bug fixes and code improvements related to different parts of the script thanks to Drugwash

v4.28.1 (2018-03-31)
- improvements regarding edit fields at any settings window
- improvements and changes regarding beepers

v4.28.0 (2018-03-30)
- improvements regarding beeps on modifiers presses

v4.27.9 (2018-03-29)
- bug fixes regarding typing mode, affecting foreign languages and caret jumps, dead keys

v4.27.7 (2018-03-26)
- bug fixes regarding keys detection and others...

Post edited: Updated it with latest changes.

Best regards, Marius.
Last edited by robodesign on 13 Apr 2018, 12:29, edited 1 time in total.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

13 Apr 2018, 11:34

Hello, guys!

New version here:

CHANGE LOG:

v4.30.0 (2018-04-13)
- [new] Mouse Keys. Control the mouse cursor with the numpad keys.
- ability to move in 16 directions
- toggle Capslock to move at an alternate speed
- support for wheel movements
- wrap / warp mouse cursor movements at screen edges
- [new] option to allow other apps to use the same keyboard shortcuts as KeyPress OSD. [feature requested on GitHub]
- minor bug fixes

All files updated.

Best regards, Marius.
Last edited by robodesign on 13 Apr 2018, 12:27, edited 1 time in total.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
tmplinshi
Posts: 1118
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 14:57

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

13 Apr 2018, 11:40

Some recent changes:

Code: [Select all] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

v2.50 (2018-04-13) - Added offset/fixed coordinates and window width settings
- Added 'Suspend' item to tray menu
v2.43 (2018-04-11) - Fixed holding keys causes blinking.
v2.42 (2018-04-08) - Fixed throwing error sometimes when settings GUI opened
v2.41 (2018-04-07) - Fixed a bug that making the script not working properly (brought from v2.40)
v2.40 (2018-03-19) ...

https://github.com/tmplinshi/KeypressOSD
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 512
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

13 Apr 2018, 12:00

Wow, two different versions almost at the same time!
Ah, today is Friday 13th - that explains it. :P :lol:
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

16 Apr 2018, 06:46

Hello!

Recent change log:

v4.30.2 (2018-04-16)
- bug fixes regarding mouse keys
- other minor bug fixes

v4.30.1 (2018-04-14)
- [new] option at Keyboard > Clipboard Manager, to keep store clipboards even when the OSD is hidden [private mode]. This enable users to still be able to use the clipboard manager when they do not want the OSD.
- minor bug fixes

-------------

The recent fixes re-enable compatibility on 32 bits systems of the uncompiled script with AHK-H.

And... mouse keys works now better with different screen DPIs.

All files updated.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 12:22

Hello, guys!

I am proud to announce.... KeyPress OSD no longer needs to restart on keyboard layout changes.

Change log:

v4.30.5 (2018-04-17)
- [new] eliminated the need for restarts on keyboard layout changes; at Keyboard preferences you can enable/disable this; enabled by default
- bug fixes regarding mouse keys, and others

Please, people [burque505 and others]... test this version and let me know if it works or not.

I maintained compatibility with AHK_L, but it will restart on layout changes. [reminder: remove this line for AHK_L: ahkThread_Free(deleteME) ].


On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

PS. The binary files were not yet updated. I need more feedback.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 344
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 15:25

Hi Marius, works fine with AHK_H 1.1.28.00 (Win7 64-bit), but when I switched back to AHK_L and tried to edit it (per your tip) with Scite4AutoHokey, it crashes Scite.
Scite's still working fine with all the rest of my scripts.
Here's a screenshot:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (83.14 KiB) Viewed 78 times

Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 15:46

Hey, burque!

Many thanks for your feedback.

The script, maybe, is too large. I have no idea. I never used that.

You can open the file with something like Notepad++ or Sublime Editor [this is what I use], go to the end of the file, and you can see the lines with 'deleteME' and that is all. Should be easy.

No issues at all with AHK_H? Layout switching works without restarts? Dead keys as well?

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 344
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 17:18

Hi Marius,
I'll try using Sublime Text, see if that works (I'm sure it will).
Zero issues with AHK_H, as far as I can tell. Everything just worked. Bravo!
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 327
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 17:54

Oh, that's lovely to hear! Thanks for the feedback.

Edit: I released v4.30.6 with various bug fixes. All files updated, including the ZIP files, binaries and Github.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.

Return to “Scripts and Functions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: arcticir, DJ__Shiva and 18 guests