[Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

29 Mar 2018, 02:56

@burque: Please use AHK V1.1.28.0, H008. You should find no issues with AddScript function. Please let me know.

Capture2Text [see help files], is an external application that needs a precise configuration to work with KeyPress. Ignore that...

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

29 Mar 2018, 16:37

Hello!

I just released v4. 27.9.

Bug fixes regarding the typing mode and foreign languages.

@Burque505. Please let me know how this version works for you.

Please, people. Give me feedback.... any kind of feedback is welcome, even if it's negative. I want to make sure it's good :-).

The script can work even with ahkL if you remove the call to the AddScript function.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
User avatar
SpeedMaster
Posts: 235
Joined: 12 Nov 2016, 16:09

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

30 Mar 2018, 04:14

robodesign wrote:I just released v4. 27.9.
Please, people. Give me feedback.... any kind of feedback is welcome, even if it's negative.
KeyPress-OSD (robodesign's edition)
Test on windows 7 64bit Home Edition
AHK L version 1.1.24.03 Unicode 32bit --> script is working but after removing line with addScript("ahkThread_Free(deleteME)",0)
AHK L version 1.1.24.03 ANSI 32bit --> Not working ! Space and backspace not detected !

To enable compatibility with AHK_L, please comment or remove line with addScript("ahkThread_Free(deleteME)",0)
:( :? --> Not obvious. Maybe someone can find a workaround trick to detect AHK version.
:| --> I suggest at least adding this warning next to the download link
:idea: --> or you can include AHK H with your script. for example : https://github.com/bichlepa/PABI-Logical/releases

Cheers
Last edited by SpeedMaster on 30 Mar 2018, 04:22, edited 1 time in total.
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

30 Mar 2018, 04:21

Hey, thank you very much for your feedback!

Yes, a trick for AHK_L, is what I would like as well, but I found no way to implement one, so far...

Unfortunately, AHK ANSI versions are not supported.

If you download the compiled edition, it includes AHK_H and the source files.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
User avatar
SpeedMaster
Posts: 235
Joined: 12 Nov 2016, 16:09

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

30 Mar 2018, 05:44

Maybe function reference trick would work
https://autohotkey.com//boards/viewtopi ... 598#p36598

Code: Select all

  If (SafeModeExec!=1)
  {
     Sleep, 1
     MyObj := {key: Func("addScript")}
     MyObj.key.Call("ahkThread_Free(deleteME)",0)
  }
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

30 Mar 2018, 05:50

Hey, thanks!

But that does not work because AHK_H wont initialize the threads in this way. Please test it with AHK_H as well, and you will see it does not work. The sound beeps, mouse features and others depend on these additional threads.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

02 Apr 2018, 17:21

Hello, guys!

A new version that comes with more polished edges. :-). All files updated.

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32], includes AHK_H and sources:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

by Marius Sucan (robodesign.ro)

v4.28.6 (2018-04-07)
- dead keys related fixes
- made the dead keys specific code for hotkey bindings more simple and straigth-forward
- improvements related to the dynamic add/remove entries for auto-replace
- and other fixes

v4.28.4 (2018-04-03)
- [new] ability to dynamically learn / unlearn expandable/auto-replace words on Enter by writing: +//+ word2match // words to replace with;
- to remove an entry use: -//- word2match // [anything];
- code readjustments; thanks to Drugwash, very long lines are now split into multiple lines;
- bug fixes

v4.28.3 (2018-04-02)
- [new] option to have the mouse halos hide whenever the mouse cursor hides
- [new] option to offer audio-visual feedback on mouse cursor changes
- [improvement] text caret halo is now adjusting to the real caret height
- various bug fixes and code improvements related to different parts of the script thanks to Drugwash

v4.28.1 (2018-03-31)
- improvements regarding edit fields at any settings window
- improvements and changes regarding beepers

v4.28.0 (2018-03-30)
- improvements regarding beeps on modifiers presses

v4.27.9 (2018-03-29)
- bug fixes regarding typing mode, affecting foreign languages and caret jumps, dead keys

v4.27.7 (2018-03-26)
- bug fixes regarding keys detection and others...

Post edited: Updated it with latest changes.

Best regards, Marius.
Last edited by robodesign on 13 Apr 2018, 12:29, edited 1 time in total.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

13 Apr 2018, 11:34

Hello, guys!

New version here:

CHANGE LOG:

v4.30.0 (2018-04-13)
- [new] Mouse Keys. Control the mouse cursor with the numpad keys.
- ability to move in 16 directions
- toggle Capslock to move at an alternate speed
- support for wheel movements
- wrap / warp mouse cursor movements at screen edges
- [new] option to allow other apps to use the same keyboard shortcuts as KeyPress OSD. [feature requested on GitHub]
- minor bug fixes

All files updated.

Best regards, Marius.
Last edited by robodesign on 13 Apr 2018, 12:27, edited 1 time in total.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
tmplinshi
Posts: 1281
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 14:57

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

13 Apr 2018, 11:40

Some recent changes:

Code: Select all

v2.50 (2018-04-13) - Added offset/fixed coordinates and window width settings
                   - Added 'Suspend' item to tray menu
v2.43 (2018-04-11) - Fixed holding keys causes blinking.
v2.42 (2018-04-08) - Fixed throwing error sometimes when settings GUI opened
v2.41 (2018-04-07) - Fixed a bug that making the script not working properly (brought from v2.40)
v2.40 (2018-03-19) ...
https://github.com/tmplinshi/KeypressOSD
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 642
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

13 Apr 2018, 12:00

Wow, two different versions almost at the same time!
Ah, today is Friday 13th - that explains it. :P :lol:
I've deleted my CloudMe account because of GDPR - the now legal base for privacy invasion and data theft.
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

16 Apr 2018, 06:46

Hello!

Recent change log:

v4.30.2 (2018-04-16)
- bug fixes regarding mouse keys
- other minor bug fixes

v4.30.1 (2018-04-14)
- [new] option at Keyboard > Clipboard Manager, to keep store clipboards even when the OSD is hidden [private mode]. This enable users to still be able to use the clipboard manager when they do not want the OSD.
- minor bug fixes

-------------

The recent fixes re-enable compatibility on 32 bits systems of the uncompiled script with AHK-H.

And... mouse keys works now better with different screen DPIs.

All files updated.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 12:22

Hello, guys!

I am proud to announce.... KeyPress OSD no longer needs to restart on keyboard layout changes.

Change log:

v4.30.5 (2018-04-17)
- [new] eliminated the need for restarts on keyboard layout changes; at Keyboard preferences you can enable/disable this; enabled by default
- bug fixes regarding mouse keys, and others

Please, people [burque505 and others]... test this version and let me know if it works or not.

I maintained compatibility with AHK_L, but it will restart on layout changes. [reminder: remove this line for AHK_L: ahkThread_Free(deleteME) ].


On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

PS. The binary files were not yet updated. I need more feedback.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 679
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 15:25

Hi Marius, works fine with AHK_H 1.1.28.00 (Win7 64-bit), but when I switched back to AHK_L and tried to edit it (per your tip) with Scite4AutoHokey, it crashes Scite.
Scite's still working fine with all the rest of my scripts.
Here's a screenshot:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (83.14 KiB) Viewed 850 times
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 15:46

Hey, burque!

Many thanks for your feedback.

The script, maybe, is too large. I have no idea. I never used that.

You can open the file with something like Notepad++ or Sublime Editor [this is what I use], go to the end of the file, and you can see the lines with 'deleteME' and that is all. Should be easy.

No issues at all with AHK_H? Layout switching works without restarts? Dead keys as well?

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 679
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 17:18

Hi Marius,
I'll try using Sublime Text, see if that works (I'm sure it will).
Zero issues with AHK_H, as far as I can tell. Everything just worked. Bravo!
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

17 Apr 2018, 17:54

Oh, that's lovely to hear! Thanks for the feedback.

Edit: I released v4.30.6 with various bug fixes. All files updated, including the ZIP files, binaries and Github.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

24 Apr 2018, 14:28

Hello!

The script is now feature complete. I personally no longer have any new features planned, But, I am open to feature requests and bug reports.

Recent change log:

v4.31 (2018-04-24)
- removed integration of the ACC viewer and UIA Interface libraries [the feature was introduced in v4.18.1]
- removed integration with Capture2Text, because it was unreliably functioning; this feature was introduced in v3.01;
- changes to the main menu [the tray menu]
- underlying changes to dead keys related thread; it no longer uses SendMessage to communicate with the main thread, but ahkAssign variable [from AHK_H]
- various bug fixes

v4.30.8 (2018-04-22)
- more bug fixes; important bug fixes as well
- removed option to offer audio-visual feedback on mouse cursor changes [it was introduced in v4.28.3], because it was not reliably working

v4.30.7 (2018-04-19)
- more bug fixes
- more changes to the mouse keys script; drag 'n drop is now possible with 'locked' click... and hopefully, now, mouse movements do not get stuck anymore

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32], includes AHK_H and sources:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip


All files updated. Github and compiled editions.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

24 Apr 2018, 17:12

@Burque505. Please test the dead keys support. I simplified the code and I hope it's still working. In particular, see if you get the resulted chars (those with accents).

Thank you. All the best.

....... Edit.......

Recent change log:

v4.31.2.1 (2018-04-27)
- fixed a bug that prevented it sometimes from working on slow PCs when the option to not restart on keyboard layout changes was activated;
- other bug fixes;

v4.31.1 (2018-04-25)
- [new] on newer versions of Windows [7, 8 or 10], KeyPress OSD sets itself at start-up in admin mode, using the Task Scheduler; the user should not get any prompts from UAC at every system boot;
- bug fixes related to Windows XP and the mouse features;
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
rommmcek
Posts: 391
Joined: 15 Aug 2014, 15:18

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

29 Apr 2018, 03:25

- Very good work, appealing design, awesome presentation clip, all main features seem to work fine.

- The caret is a bit clumsy. There was an attempt by Drugwash. Too bad it wasn't developed further. My suggestion: Why not create new font for caret having zero width? Here is my attempt (just edited apostrophe, since it is the first time doing this). Altogether not very useful for Edit Control - it's not imaginable to alter all fonts user can choose. But if you'd use RichEdit Control, you could make caret even blink...
Attachments
iCaret.zip
(1.05 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
robodesign
Posts: 395
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

29 Apr 2018, 04:30

Hey, thanks for the feedback!

Yes, a rich-edit would be the optimal solution, indeed. I could then implement support for bold, italic and underline as well. However, it would get utterly complicated, and beyond my skills...

You said 'all main features seem to work fine'. Have you found any bugs? Please let me know, thank you .

PS. Today I released a new version with minor bug fixes.... v4.31.3. However, it also includes a major bug fix for those using this script on AHK_L.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.

Return to “Scripts and Functions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 61 guests